Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Running on E4

• 16-01-2005 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭

Hopefully hasn't been mentioned before, but i was watching a program on "Free Running" on e4 last night. Free Running is basically just like Running around cities jumping around building and off ledges etc. Now the concept is cool and E4 showed a hour of a bunch of lads doing all these cool jumps, and rolls and jumping onto ledges that look high etc. Then after this, they decided to show the making of it.....WTF, they are the biggest bunch of saps i've ever seen.After seeing these guys doing all these "dangerous" looking "spontaneous" tricks, we find out in the making, of the controlled enviroment they did it in. This is grand though, because of course, it is television, safety first and all that. It got stupid when they started to interview these Free Runners. These guys were so "urban" and hip, that normal names just don't suffice, instead they had adopted such great names as "e-z" and "twista" and "blue". We also got to learn about the difficulty they have in filming as they are such Cowboys and arn't used to the Controlled Enviroment, they prefare knowing security are only a step away blah blah blah.It was almost like "footskating" on Crazy Monkey.

So anyway, Free Running=Cool, Free Runners=Anti-Cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

think i seen this before.. were they french at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

yea, the main guy was. He had an interpreter even though he spoke English 0_o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

saw free running years ago... that it was deadly and a genuine evolution of skating where skating banned... but i dunno the guy goes on abit the philosophy behind a bit tooooo much

they did jump london a few years ago and it was mostly running around on the roof of big buildings...

i missed this one but the jump across the open roof millenium stadium in cardiff is breathtaking but at the same time you realise its just a small jump...

i think theyd be better off shooting it in places where they don't have to get permission and insurance and safety etc

when you see how they shoot it like seeing how blane does his levitation trick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmcquaid

bit off topic but how does blaine does his levitation thing btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

The site below has information about it and some videos
    free running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 t_rom/reaper

hey free running is growing quite a bit in ireland over the last few months with jams and stuff going down nall over the place
    if you do it join my site its in my sigi and we will keep you up ta date on the happenings around the pk world:D