Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate thieves

• 09-01-2005 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭

just couple of days ago, my father was selling his car and this couple came, I looked at this guy and kinda didn't like him, well they bought the car, and there was a digital camera lying on the table, I don't know if it was them who stole it but I we can't find the damn thing anymore, I we had couple of guests but I don't remember when/how it dissapeared, God bless those arabian countries where when they catch a thief they cut their hands off.

I don't know what to do now, I'm pretty sure it was him or her, maybe I should ring them and warn them, if they don't return the camera, they will get hurt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

I'd have some better evidence before I'd call them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

CyberGhost wrote:
    God bless those arabian countries where when they catch a thief they cut their hands off.

I don't know what to do now, I'm pretty sure it was him or her, maybe I should ring them and warn them, if they don't return the camera, they will get hurt?

ya and even though the hands of some inocents get cut off its worth it

sure give em a ring worst that can happen is they inform the guards about your call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

aw thats really bad maybe itll turn up tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

confused.gif
    You didnt like the look of him, so came to the conclusion that he must have stole it?

Dont know about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

TimAy wrote:
    confused.gif
    You didnt like the look of him, so came to the conclusion that he must have stole it?

Dont know about that

he had that classical tallagh cheap thief look, sports pants, short hair, you know......

my father had their telephone number, if he finds it i'll defenatelly call them, you never know maybe they will fall for it.

"Hi did you take my camera?""Yep; oh crap caught red handed."

tbh, I don't really care about the camera, it's the fact that it was stolen is that bothers me. I'd just take a hammer and smash it, if I'd find out just who the hell stole it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

yea i get ya its not really whats gone its that its been stolen..

CyberGhost wrote:
    I'd just take a hammer and smash it, if I'd find out just who the hell stole it.

huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

defamation isnt really a nice thing to do, if you have no proof forget about it

tuxy wrote:
    huh?

what I mean is that I don't care about the damn thing, just about who stole it,

Miles, no, actually something along this lines, "you've got 1 week to bring the thing bad, if after one week you don't bring it back, I'll smash your car, and it will cost you a lot more then the camera"

Huh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

but if he is the skanger you think he is, he's probably knicked a few things in the past few weeks so he might'nt know what you're referring to

CyberGhost wrote:

Miles, no, actually something along this lines, "you've got 1 week to bring the thing bad, if after one week you don't bring it back, I'll smash your car, and it will cost you a lot more then the camera"

and what if you supect the wrong person or even if you get the right person since you have no proof they could just report you to the guards for a call like that

what then?

oh u know what i hate as well
    people who download warez it is not a victimless crime
    their hands should be chopped off!

I understand it's the principle of it. But I think you would need more proof before you start accusing them. What if you're wrong?

what could happen if they report? so what?

my father couldn't find the damn number, so he and his family can just choke on it.

lessor learned - don't trust ANYONE, hide everything.

tuxy, people download warez, because, movie, music and game industry are asking a nut price for their products, if the price were fair they'd do better and there would be less piracy

CyberGhost wrote:

tuxy, people download warez, because, movie, music and game industry are asking a nut price for their products, if the price were fair they'd do better and there would be less piracy

maybe the thief could'nt afford his own camera because people who can aafford them like your brother are driving up the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭limbovski

CyberGhost wrote:

Obviously this skanger knows "where you live" and if he is a skanger he may not be a happy camper if you ring him up and threaten him down the phone (possibly also stolen)

Possible solution: Massacre his family in front of him, photograph the event with your camera and give it to him as a present! :eek:

In fairness tho he might be innocent... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭shelly04

CyberGhost wrote:
    he had that classical tallagh cheap thief look, sports pants, short hair, you know......
    yeah he sounds like hes gonna be absolutly brickin it... :rolleyes:

Careful he's not reading this forum he may come and throw yer bin through the front window.

CyberGhost wrote:

i know people from tallaght and none of them are skangers even if they have skinheads and their boyfriends are nice people as well

dont judge an area by its haircuts

do'nt judge people by their haircuts?

sure he has nothing else to go on so he might as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

CyberGhost wrote:
    he had that classical tallagh cheap thief look, sports pants, short hair, you know...... .

dear god tell me this is a joke?? you sound like Gavin from FM104.....but at least thats only a píss-take.

very very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

dear god tell me this is a joke?? you sound like Gavin from FM104.....but at least thats only a píss-take.

very very sad.
    that's what i was thinking. gavin is class though :D

ya i think he must be joking what a windup cyberghost! nice one :)

tuxy wrote:
    ya i think he must be joking what a windup cyberghost! nice one :)

no I'm absolutely serious ;)

everytime I see someone in sports clothes I think tallagh, we the clondalkiners are of higher class :cool: , but who gives a crap about class when we don't have ntl broadband :mad:

and all of them are thieves?

tuxy wrote:
    and all of them are thieves?

of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭limbovski

I dont think they're all theives, some of them probably gave that up when they were 8 or 9 in favour of rape and drug dealing... but then i suppose thats not to rule out that they wouldnt steal again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

There'll be a day when cameraz can be downloaded on BB, then all will be fine and dandy.:confused:

thats not very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

your from clondalkin and your giving tallagh people **** roflol. You must think your a right hard man its kinda cute :)

If you ring up that guy with no evidence other than he wears a tracksuit I hope he goes back to your house and gives you a few digs. With a bit of luck it might knock a bit of cop on into you.

****ing a$$hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Astro1996

Tallaght....

ChRoMe wrote:
    your from clondalkin and your giving tallagh people **** roflol. You must think your a right hard man its kinda cute :)

not at all he shouldnt blame people just on how they appear thats all i was saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

CyberGhost wrote:
    just couple of days ago, my father was selling his car and this couple came, I looked at this guy and kinda didn't like him, well they bought the car, and there was a digital camera lying on the table, I don't know if it was them who stole it but I we can't find the damn thing anymore, I we had couple of guests but I don't remember when/how it dissapeared, God bless those arabian countries where when they catch a thief they cut their hands off.

Well it's been said already, dont jump the gun basically. You have no evidence except you didnt like the look of him. You told us the camera was lying on the table, where exactly? Did the two enter the same room ? Where the two ever out of sight to either you or your father ? Did either of the two look photogenic ? < sorry just teasing with the last ^^>

Just to get this straight about how you wanted to handle this, you were going to ring him up and tell him to give your camera back within a week or you'll report him to the garda? Errrr sorry but what the **** man?

I'd say it would be much more prudent to explore all avenue's of explanation before you go ranting on over internet forums and telephones threating people with setting the garda on them. Seeing as you've passed that stage lets have a stab at it.... Checking with the guest's you had would help. If you do somehow manage to get the phone number, no doubt it will turn up along side the camera located most likely in the blackhole of intolerance in your house, then you could inform the chap that your camcorder is missing and you think you left it in the car he bought , assumtion, and the contents are very important. As such you have brought the garda in and they are making inquires as to where it might be, you gave them a list of people in the house at the time and you remembered him so thought you would ring him to check if he has seen it. This will let him know you suspect him and have the police involved without actually directly accusing him and also giving him a possible innocent way out by admitting he has found it in the car ;>. Then again he could turn around and tell you to go **** your self and he has already sold your camera, in which case a dictaphone would rock attached to a telephone ^^, easy to do, cost's about 15 eurons.

A touch of Social engineering modifed slighty of course ;>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Once a friend tried to dictaphone me (probably not a real verb, you get the picture though) for a very silly teenage, trying-to-score-with-a-chick reason. Throughout the conversation, he was acting SO weird, speaking very loudly and asking me to repeat myself for no reason (so I thought). Still cracks me up thinking about it - will have to tell his fiance one of these days for a laugh so she can slag him.

Anyhow, I think you should steal something off a random tracksuit-wearing skanger to get back at the thieves. They are all one big thieving family so it will even out. Probably stole the tracksuit they are wearing, ffs. They say never judge a book by its cover - but that's plainly rubbish, I judge books by their covers all the time and am happy and right to do so! Would you buy a book with Jill Cooper on the cover? Or a picture of Fabio and some 'bountiful-bosomed' woman? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

CyberGhost wrote:
    no I'm absolutely serious ;)

everytime I see someone in sports clothes I think tallagh, we the clondalkiners are of higher class :cool: , but who gives a crap about class when we don't have ntl broadband :mad:

What we lack in class, we make up for in education - we can spell Tallaght for example.

Anyway, anyone want to buy a camera? I need the money to buy a tracksuit so I can conform to some stupid stereotype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 ageary2003

ionapaul wrote:
    Once a friend tried to dictaphone me (probably not a real verb, you get the picture though) for a very silly teenage, trying-to-score-with-a-chick reason.

try as i might, my small mind cant think of how recording a conversation would result in scoreing with a chick :p

Also i think there is some law that you cant record conversations without people knowing, mobiles with recording software are required to make a beep every 5 seconds or somthing to let the other person know your recording it. So if you do ring him up and he says yea i stole yer camera and you get it on tape it might not be admissable as evidence.

K, I couldn't find the telephone number, so I just forget it and learn the lesson, Paddy, Thanks for your advice!

I appologize to everyone that I may have insulted, I was very angry and basically wasn't thinking what I was typing, again I'm sorry and I appologize to you!

ChRoMe, I love you too.