Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My heart is in Ireland...

• 08-01-2005 5:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

Am working over here in England and have been for the past 3 years, but I'll tell ya something, it's so nice to go back and see some of the wittiest people you could ever meet, not to mention fun.

There are some nice people over here but Londoners are just not on the same plane... All that wasted witty banter... Jesus :rolleyes:

Anyone else on here miss home?

When I was living there I got really bored but now I miss me mammy :D

PS. I'm originally from Dublin.

Come on people lets reminisce!!

Yurma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

You can miss home all you like! And when you come back u can miss the wages in the UK! Same as my Nurse of a wife did! We are sound until it is time to get paid!
    When it's game time it's pain time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I don't really miss home, all my firends have moved on, I've fallen out of touch with people. So going back home is odd. Plus there seems to be a load of **** in clubs in kilkenny. I've been in north england for three years, and now moved to London.

John

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

irish.. witty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

I think you'll find its the brits who are witty while the irish are just drunk.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Yes, us Irish are witty. Though perhaps a better description would be self-depreciating, sarcastic, black-humoured etc. I've a brother and a sister in London, they miss trading sarcastic insults at other people- everyone knowing its all in good fun and no-one taking any notice of the banter of others.

The salaries for professional people here are not in keeping with the costs of living here though. In my siblings cases, similar jobs here are paid 1/3 what they could expect in London (even in the Irish branches of the multinationals they work for). Added into this- a lot of professional and public servants in the UK are paid a "weighting" for working in higher cost areas- a manner of recompense that is alien to the employers here.

Sure- its a great little country- but ultimately we cannot even begin to match the standards of living elsewhere on Irish salaries..... Its annoying, and its not going to change anytime soon.

My solution- abolish both the unions and the employers bodies (ISME, IBEC etc), minimise the bureaucracy associated with working here- and see what happens. (And no, I do not mean opening the flood gates to Russians and Chinese working here......)

God, our little country is a right mess.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Ireland doesn't have to be witty for it to be great.

A friend of mine came back from living in England and he was watching the match, when he heard the commentator call on of the players a gombeen, and for him, that was coming home, for it is only in a place like Ireland would ya truly understand that!

Ya gotta love Ireland to hate it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Sure Ireland is great, but I don't think many of ye can envisage living here until you die of old age can ye? I certainly couldn't. It's a great country for us studenty types and nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I am in the UK since 1991 and all my family and my wifes family are back in Dublin and I do miss the place. The problem is of course, I know Dublin prior to the boom and I cannot believe how expensive the place has become. I would like to move back as there are plenty of jobs in my field but unfortunately, they do not pay enough for me to have the same standard of living I have here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Yurmasyurda

Musashi,

Totally agree about the wages, I'm earning good money over here now. The likes of which I'd never see over there. And with the Euro changeover everything money-wise has gone awry.

But really it's more so the people I'm missing than the place. It's a good little country but only for the people, I've noticed similarities when going to Leeds and Manchester, although the people aren't Irish, they are friendly unlike a lot of Londoners.

And Slutmonkey, you musn't be Irish with a comment like that!? :cool:

I suppose I'm only reminiscing for now, I still don't want to live there again just yet, but if my UK business takes off then I'll buy a nice little house for holidays, then retire when I'm 35 ;)

Yurma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

Ahh, all I miss are my friends and the craic that can be had. That's what homesickness is for me. Just not the same abroad. I also miss the english language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Money, money, money. You're all greedy feckers. I'm staying here till I die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Mordeth wrote:
    irish.. witty?

The irish are well known for their wit...more so then pretty much any other nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

wit and drink and even more wit when drunk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Mordeth wrote:
    irish.. witty?
    It's a fact that 28.554% of all comedians are Irish, or resident in Ireland.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Money, money, money. You're all greedy feckers. I'm staying here till I die.

Well said! Me too!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I often miss things about Ireland, mostly people, but I suppose none of them are really friends any more, and meeting them again is a bit strange. If I really missed it, I'd go back more often, I suppose. Salaries are a massive whack lower here for similar jobs, but the cash goes an awful lot further.
    Now if only the people weren't such godawul dryshi'ites...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Yep, the Brits are a witless, humourless bunch of johnnies who wouldn't know sarcasm or black humour if it hit them over the head.

*cough* John Cleese, Michael Palin, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Peter Sellers, Spike Milligan, Eric Sykes, Harry Secombe, Tony Hancock, Eric Morecombe, Peter Cook, Dudley Moore, Jonathan Miller, David Frost, Alan Bennett, Ben Elton, Richard Curtis, Rowan Atkinson, Adrian Edmonson, Rik Mayall, Jennifer Saunders, Stuart Lee, Richard Herring, David Baddiel, Rob Newman, Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse, Charlie Higson, Eddie Izzard, Billy Connelly, Al Murray, Bill Bailey, Ali G, David Walliams, Matt Lucas, Ricky Gervais... *cough*

*cough* Terry Pratchett, Rob Grant, Doug Naylor, Douglas Adams, Ian Hislop, Paul Merton, *cough*

There's a big difference between being a "dry shoite" and "knowing there's more to life than the pub"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Been in the US 13 years now, don't miss much at this stage. I go back almost every year. The funny thing is that I get really excited before I go back there, but after 2-3 days of being there, I can't wait to leave again. The only thing I miss at the stage compared to here is the slower pace in life but even that's changed in the 13 years I've been away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Agrees to a degree with slutmonkey. I don't beleive the Irish to be any more witty than anyone else. Alot of the wit that does exist seems to be a smug better than u type "wit".

Personally tho I haven't met every single person on the planet so I'm not able to make a definitive comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

irish......witty?
    yea i suppose we are kinda! when people think of the irish they think of shamrocks and alcohol. they are half right but we are so much more than that! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭golden gal

i love ireland and i dont think i could see myself living too far away from it. sure the prices are high but where else can you hear and say phrases like "ara how are ya?" and play sports like gaa and handball? when we go on holiday we are welcomed and it's not just, as many of you may argue, because we spend so much on drink, but because we are great craic!!
    i think that when we are here we all seem to complain about it but when we spend time away from it we miss it and realise how good it is. maybe i am just a naive and optimistic but i like it here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

Been in France, Spain Germany and Italy.Will take Ireland any day.
    But if I had to move it would be to the north of Italy just for the views alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

homerhop wrote:
    Been in France, Spain Germany and Italy.Will take Ireland any day.
    But if I had to move it would be to the north of Italy just for the views alone.
    As soon as I win the Euro-lotto/invent something no-one can live without - I'll be buying a place in all of the above + Malaysia + Bermuda - reckon it'll have to be a carryover jackpot - or 21st c equivalent of paper clip :D Will still spend some weeks in Ireland though - just not 180 days/year :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Been to a few places..........Oz, NZ, Cook Islands, L.A.......still prefer the 'ole sod ! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Have lived abroad in total for a number of years in quite a few different places including Kenya, Israel, Egypt, Germany, France, UK, Portugal, Italy etc. Am living and working in Ireland fulltime at the moment.

To be perfectly honest- its brilliant to get away, and I love to leave the place, but the nicest feeling on earth is coming home again.

That said- long term, I know I do not have a future in Ireland. In many years time, when the time comes to retire, there is not a hope that I will consider staying here. My ideal place to retire to would be a combination of the following: Tuscany, Paris, South of France, Obidos area of Portugal, etc.

Totally aside from the fact that its almost impossible to make a living here anymore- the entire atmosphere of the place has changed. This is not the place I grew up in- the friendly neighbourhoods, kids playing in the streets, everyone willing to lend a hand with whatever needs doing. Certainly- the late 70's and 80's were a beetch- there wasn't two red pennies to rub together in the country- but you know what, we were happy. Prosperity- while great, is not the panancea that a lot of people take it to be. Money cannot buy happiness, all it does it whet people's appetites for even more money.

Maybe I'm the odd one out- I'd like a nice little house, in a village, with a local baker and grocers, a nice garden, weather thats not crap, and a nice relaxed way of life. One thing we have forgotten in this country is a relaxed way of life.....

S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Jujenjitsu

All the way over in Canada, what can I say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Ireland is a complete shít hole. My sole aim in life is to move out. Then Nuke the place.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Ireland is a complete shít hole. My sole aim in life is to move out. Then Nuke the place.

if you dont like it then **** off, its not like we want your type here anyway ****ing clod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

mayordenis wrote:
    if you dont like it then **** off, its not like we want your type here anyway ****ing clod.

I am entitled to my opinions. You're all fooling yourselves. I certainly wouldn't bring my kids up here or move back if i was abroad. Interesting seeing some bloggers on the internet coming home for Christmas, then returning to where they are now and being glad they are abroad.

Personally i think while some Irish people are witty, esp abroad, but the ones at home are highly conservative. An outsider walking into a pub in rural Ireland would feel a similar cold atmosphere as an ethnic walking into a WASP only country club in New England or someplace.

I went to a TRAD session somewhere the other night. "ah, get in touch with the oul irishness" i said. Not one of them had a smile on their faces. Bunch of po-faced soury conservative bastards. There is NO craic in Irish pubs (nay, Ireland) anymore.

The people are money-hungry. It reflects badly on society, materialism. I suppose it's because a shed will cost €160,000. And people have credit cards at their limits trying to show off wealth to keep up with the Jones'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Yurmasyurda

aphex™,

I'm certainly not fooling myself, hence being over here earning the money. Also rural Ireland was always less laid back imo, much different than Dublin. Dublin craic was a lot of fun when I was back there last year.

Oh and money hungry, materialism etc. That's everywhere! When you do move from Ireland, give it time, and you'll see what I mean.

Yurma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭boo4842

There really is no reason for emigration now-adays. Ireland has the lowest unemployment rate in Europe so if one's heart was really in Ireland there's no reason to leave. True, the pay isn't as much as the UK, but its quite high for pretty much anywhere else in the world, its the cost of living that kills ya.

I live in Canada, but spent most of my life here, but my mother lives in Ireland and I have spent 4 of the last 7 years there. I honestly don't understand why so many people still leave for the UK. Everyone has some friend or relation thats left. It would be too hard for me to leave all my friends and family and the country I love - to make a few extra quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Well i've lived in the UK and in Finland. And i did miss Ireland, the majority of my UK mates though i was one of the funnest gits around, while i always maintained that i was just speaking as any of my friends would ( which they found out at a new years eve party and they all nearly died laughing so i'm told).

In finland the cost of living is far lower than here, however somethings are about the same price. I honestly would of stayed in finland if somethings had gone another path, but now i'm back in the **** hole of a country... but saying that , it's my country, where i grew up. I proud of it but also ashamed of it.

Dublin ( where i from) is just really dirty, overpriced, and biggoted beyond belief. What really got me was coming back home and finding out that the apartment i had in finland would of easly cost me 3k a month here , while in finland it was a decent apartment . But i did miss the general wit of the Oirish people, guess it's to do with different cultures ... somethings they get but most they dont.

The amount of times i had to explaine to people that though i was being offensive, If i didnt' like them i wouldn't talk to them, but me calling the a dcikhead or something like that it was a term of affection =).

Well enough ranting from me .. time for a smoke.. ( outside :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

having lived in the uk for a number of years now, i love going back to ireland. i think ihave found out what it is about dublin that tourists like.
    its a fab place to go for a long weekend.
    even more so because i still have some friends there, and i know my way around!

would i go back and live there, not on your life.
    i shall remain a tourist in ireland as long as the country is in the state it is in. its nice to have such fabulous people in a country, but that doesnt make the country worth living in. theres more to quality of life than just the surrounding people.

do i miss it, occassionaly. do i love the country, certainly and without a doubt.

will i move out of england, yeh, probably at some stage.

will it be to ireland? no.

the only think i miss ar emy family and my friends. and i can hope on a plane for 99p and see them in an hour if i so wish. better than driving to galway for gods sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I think Ireland is grand! I wanted to live abroad before but it's more hassle than it's worth and it's easier to live in Ireland and go on regular holidays and trips abroad.

Materialism, racism etc are problems in all countries - for example, the south of France may look pretty but there's an awful lot of conservatism and racism hidden in those "quaint" villages.