Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

strip clubs in dublin, recomendations

• 07-01-2005 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

thinking of heading to a strip club with a few mates, never been to one in dublin, anyone have any recomendations?

anyone been to that new one on the quays? (was spi bar)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

why?
    PH01 wrote:
    Avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

bacon? wrote:
    why?

Rip off and the birds are crap... 15 euro in, 30 euro for a dance...
    Go to liverpool for the weekend and go to dreamers, 5er in and a free dance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Any directions to dreamers? could be worth a look...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I've never understood Strip Clubs.. Why pay outrageous prices into a place that charges outrageous prices for drinks, just to look at naked girls who you're not allowed touch..

Buy some cans and get out a porno if you want to see naked women that badly! It'll save you a lorra cash!

Or find yourself a woman ;)

Just my opinion..

K.

i agree, but think they have a place for special ocassions, ie, stag doo, mate heading away for example.

its just a laugh, somthing different i guess.

i've only been in one in vegas, was a good buz, i would say the ones here would be overpriced underclassed, but hey, thats ireland!
    I've never understood Strip Clubs.. Why pay outrageous prices into a place that charges outrageous prices for drinks, just to look at naked girls who you're not allowed touch..

Buy some cans and get out a porno if you want to see naked women that badly! It'll save you a lorra cash!

Or find yourself a woman ;)

Just my opinion..

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

avoid garen of eden on the quays, its way over priced and the girls in it arent that nice (to talk to), lapello on dame street is much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

except the cost of the kleenex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

Yeah is that the one next to the central bank? At the bottom of camden street (or whatever street it is at that point).

Went in their with a couple of lads over from home for a laugh a few weeks ago. The girls were nice, all of eastern european origin. But €30 for a quick dance or €60 for a double dance is ridiculous. €15 in as well.

And in answer to the why do that instead of just getting some pron question. Well why not get some cans and sit in a shop doorway instead of going to the pub? For me and my mates its all a bit of fun, generally kickstarts a massive boozin sesh and generates a good few laughs and conversation, plus of course you feel like the Heff himself, which is no bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

calhob_ie wrote:
    of course you feel like the Heff himself, which is no bad thing.

So u all do viagra and walk around in your PJ's?????

::: ven0mous :::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

When I get to his age I'm certainly planning on stocking my vast mansion with plenty of bimbos and wandering around in my nightclothes. Happy Days.

Course he's just ecentric, cause hes rich, if he was any old joe soap he'd be a nutter waving his wanger at unsuspecting grannies in the park. Amazing how a few quid gives you the ability to be a lecherous old perv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

p.pete wrote:
    Any directions to dreamers? could be worth a look...
    Its near st.georges dock, around the corner from the thistle hotel...
    Any taxi man will know.. Dreamers Fantasy Bar.... Lovely girls, cheap booze, 5 quid a dance....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

calhob_ie wrote:
    Yeah is that the one next to the central bank? At the bottom of camden street (or whatever street it is at that point).
    On Dame street there is lapellos and some new spot that was a restuarant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Do you get to touch the lapdancers in lapellos, or is it hands off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

bacon? wrote:
    thinking of heading to a strip club with a few mates, never been to one in dublin, anyone have any recomendations?

anyone been to that new one on the quays? (was spi bar)

If you want a good strip club, stay out of the one's in Ireland. Save your money and go to Prague instead. I've been in a few strip clubs, lap dance places around the world but the best ever was in Prague. The women were like supermodels and it was incredibly low on the sleeze-o-meter (as low as a strip club can get anyway). The one's in dublin are well dodge and are about a kunthair away from being clip-joints, like they have in london. The amount of money you'd spend there in one night would probably pay for a full weekend going out in prague. Head to the czech rep, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Was waiting for a bus on Eden Quay before, and one of the lapdancers came out for a smoke. Wearing her working clothes. In mid-December. And there was a load of dirty old men at the bus stop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

stop wasting your time and money in these places, get a woman treat her right and in about 5 years you might get her to do a dance for you money well spent :p

d22ontour wrote:
    stop wasting your time and money in these places, get a woman treat her right and in about 5 years you might get her to do a dance for you money well spent :p

5 YEARS?!?!?!!?!?
    If that guy saved his feckin' pocket money, he could BUY a lapdancery in 5 years.
    Where did this magic figure of 5 years come from? I've got a girl to do it for me after about 4 weeks.
    5 years me bollix :D

twas a joke get a bird was the point, spending hard earned cash on women with no comeback seems pointless :D

d22ontour wrote:
    twas a joke get a bird was the point...

Maybe he's sensationally ugly and can't get one :(
    d22ontour wrote:
    ...spending hard earned cash on women with no comeback seems pointless :D

Yeah, but some guys like that sorta thing :D

thats why they end up in strip joints or benburb st spending money on women to pleasure them,must have never heard of using their charm to get stuff for free

d22ontour wrote:
    thats why they end up in strip joints or benburb st spending money on women to pleasure them,must have never heard of using their charm to get stuff for free

Believe it or not but there are lads out there who lack any sort of charm whatsoever. You see them huddled together in groups in fogeys pubs on a saturday night, talking in hushed tones and eyeing up the goodlooking staff, all the while hovering over their drinks with the zeal of a cavan moneylender.
    Even people like this need an injection of pleasure into their lives. If its true the use of money and women who really should know better, then I can't object.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Was waiting for a bus on Eden Quay before, and one of the lapdancers came out for a smoke. Wearing her working clothes. In mid-December. And there was a load of dirty old men at the bus stop...

me too. i wasn't at all impressed.

foalteam wrote:
    ...and play games...

Lord. I just got a great mental image of one of the girls playing chess...and she wasn't using her hands to move the pieces. Whats the name of this place?
    Dunno about the dinner part though? I generally loose my appetite when I'm horny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

foalteam wrote:
    Best place I ever was in for "dancing" club was in Canada, Calgary to be precise. Huge big place, beer for $4 (bud, coors etc.) and no cover charge or need for a private dance, bright and clean. U didn't have to squint to see the girls bods. You could have your dinner there (full meal with all trimmings and delicious ta boot) and watch the show while eating. Large stage area that the girls would come out onto (different girl every 10 minute set) in their see through lingerie and dance and fully strip to music. Place was packed with businessmen, well dressed, having dinner and with clients. Not seedy at all and you could sit within touching distance of the girls at the edge of the stage and they would come over and squat in front of you (butt naked, all on view if ya know what I mean) and chat and play games i.e. throwing coins at them to knock little piercing rings of their breasts that they would place there in packets. ****1ng brilliant!! Can't wait to go back.

Wow. Sounds real classy!

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Wow. Sounds real classy!

You forgot the [sarcasm] [/sarcasm] thingys :D
    Or are you being genuine??

Na, right first time.

foalteam wrote:
    Celtic "Crouching" Tiger, Hidden Charges country

ROFL :D

foalteam wrote:
    I remembered finally! Its called The Speakeasy (funny name for a strip joint eh).

So is it hands-free at the speak-easy? :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

I've been to one similar to the Calgary and Prague ones in Vancouver. Basically as described above - girls with unbelievable looks getting naked in a well-lit area. So cheap it was a joke - full food and drink - and for some reason we looked like pimps as no-one else would put up cash and us poor students would put up about 3eu and the girls would give you full attention. I've got a poster on my wall here that one of them gave us...if only you knew where it was before it was in my hand :)

Needless to say we went back...

Moral of the story: Avoid Ireland. You don't want an big night ruined by what Ireland has to offer. Either save up and have a weekend or else do something different. Anyone who's ever been in the shops near certain Dublin clubs will have seen the girls in all their 'beauty' under florescent lights. *shiver*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Just to give a run down on the Irish clubs.

Avoid the Garden of Eden, that used to be the SPI. It's terrible. I one time I went in there there was over 20 guys and just 2 girls. And they weren't very good either.

Le Paradis (I think it's called) This is the new one just a little bit further down Dame street. It's very nice looking. But it's really expensive to get a dance, and the girl isn't even allowed to touch you. Which is just silly. Also they have far too many Irish and English girls working there. And the Irish girls tend to be from Arklow or Ballymun and I find the accent a bit of a turn off...

Angels. This is up on Leeson street, and it is one of the longest running clubs. They have alot of girls working there, but not too many really good looking ones. The girls are allowed to show everything in Angels, but the main dancing room is very dark and lit by UV lights, so it's not much use. The champagne room is great though, but it will cost you.

Lepelo's is probably the best in the city. It's normally €15 in, but there are always girls in the main square in temple bar handing out flyers that give €5 off. It's a little bit small, but they definitely have some very nice women working there, who are good to talk to as well as getting a dance off. They are mostly Eastern European. The problems are that it is a bit small, and it can be hard to get a good seat. And also it doesn't have a full bar. So it's just bad wine that you can get, but they'll make you pay for it.

There was a rumour that Spearmint Rhino (one of the big chains of lapdancing clubs) was moving into Ireland. But I have yet see any proof. It would certainly shake things up a bit if it did.

so in your little black and white world...

going to a lap dancing club with some mates for a laugh = you're desperate and single.
    d22ontour wrote:
    twas a joke get a bird was the point, spending hard earned cash on women with no comeback seems pointless :D

Lepelo's it is then, actualy tried to get in there a few years back with a chick, wouldn't let us in, not sure if it was cause we were too drunk, or cause i was with a chick.

bring on the boobies! :D

Just to give a run down on the Irish clubs.

Avoid the Garden of Eden, that used to be the SPI. It's terrible. I one time I went in there there was over 20 guys and just 2 girls. And they weren't very good either.

Le Paradis (I think it's called) This is the new one just a little bit further down Dame street. It's very nice looking. But it's really expensive to get a dance, and the girl isn't even allowed to touch you. Which is just silly. Also they have far too many Irish and English girls working there. And the Irish girls tend to be from Arklow or Ballymun and I find the accent a bit of a turn off...

Angels. This is up on Leeson street, and it is one of the longest running clubs. They have alot of girls working there, but not too many really good looking ones. The girls are allowed to show everything in Angels, but the main dancing room is very dark and lit by UV lights, so it's not much use. The champagne room is great though, but it will cost you.

Lepelo's is probably the best in the city. It's normally €15 in, but there are always girls in the main square in temple bar handing out flyers that give €5 off. It's a little bit small, but they definitely have some very nice women working there, who are good to talk to as well as getting a dance off. They are mostly Eastern European. The problems are that it is a bit small, and it can be hard to get a good seat. And also it doesn't have a full bar. So it's just bad wine that you can get, but they'll make you pay for it.

There was a rumour that Spearmint Rhino (one of the big chains of lapdancing clubs) was moving into Ireland. But I have yet see any proof. It would certainly shake things up a bit if it did.

dont plan on spending all night in there, just realy for the ocasion thats in it.

wouldn't plan a weekend especialy to go to a strip club, but if i'm ever in prague! :D

Bri wrote:
    I've been to one similar to the Calgary and Prague ones in Vancouver. Basically as described above - girls with unbelievable looks getting naked in a well-lit area. So cheap it was a joke - full food and drink - and for some reason we looked like pimps as no-one else would put up cash and us poor students would put up about 3eu and the girls would give you full attention. I've got a poster on my wall here that one of them gave us...if only you knew where it was before it was in my hand :)

Needless to say we went back...

Moral of the story: Avoid Ireland. You don't want an big night ruined by what Ireland has to offer. Either save up and have a weekend or else do something different. Anyone who's ever been in the shops near certain Dublin clubs will have seen the girls in all their 'beauty' under florescent lights. *shiver*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Went to Angels once about 3 years ago. It was a tenner in and 10 or 20 for a dance. Seems as though things have gotten more expensive since then. I thought it was crap even at those prices. I'd consider it a complete waste of money to go to one now.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Hang on, i think the virtual earth satellite is passing. Strip!

*rubs hands and waits two years for the update"

And yes, i do mean my hands :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Paddies Day, 2007 my mate and I were in town and decided to leave a group of eejits that were just sitting around have no craic whatsoever but unfortunately for us it was late and no pubs would let us in anywhere... bastids. We realised that there was a Lap Dancing club across the Liffey (The one across the Liffey from Redz) so we went up knowing that we wouldnt get in...the bouncer said it was e20 in and we were delighted. We got in and women were all over us, some nice and some dodgy looking.
    40 quid for a 4 minute dance, we got two of them and they were not anything special.
    They also said some prices that I cant remember, but they were expensive for a private session upstairs. They said they had more on offer? What more? lol.

Anyways, we went and the drinks were expensive and the girls try and push you to drink something 'harder' like whiskey, anything to make some money.

We just went in as there was no other place to drink lol. Had an ok time so all was good. Would like to try Prague though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

taidghbaby wrote: »
    yep its called tiger taidghs!!!

PM me and i'll give ya directions :cool:

Haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Only one I've been to was Garden of Eden, very good looking girls, all seemed to be eastern european. nice atmosphere, bouncers were sound. Was wither 10/15 in, then 40 for a four minute dance, girl gets naked, 60 for a 6 min dance, she'll dance on you naked for that one, then 100 for 10 minutes but I didnt get that one. Drinks price was about E6 for a pint bottle of bulmers(found that part the most shocking)

Very expensive really but was definitely worth it for a once off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

In Dublin, no idea. Strinfellows still open?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion