Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pink shirts!!!

• 07-01-2005 2:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

since when, has i it become publicly acceptable for men to wear pink clothing???

now dont get me wrong, i'm a very open-minded person, not homophobic or anything and not sexist, i believe everyone does their own thing and who am i to judge, but seriously, since when is pink a man's colour? its getting to the point where there is no difference between men and womens clothing, we're all becoming cross-dressers!!

just wondering what the general opinion is on this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Why not? It can look good esp on guys with darker skin. (pink skin + pink clothes = not good)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

I have one and get a lot of positive comments on it.

I quote: "I like a man who is not afraid to wear a bit of colour."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

pinks grand in small bits.. but like full shirt... eehh no..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

Depends on the shade too.

What are we talking about here: pale or neon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I think its Marvellous. Makes people like me look great for not wearing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Aava

Even from a gay person's point of view I think it looks bad on men. On the other hand, it looks good on women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I noticed that were loads of pink shirts in the shops over xmas alright - but havent seem many ppl wearing them - I know I wouldnt put one on anyway - just wouldnt feel right in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

It takes a certain type of man to credibly wear a pink shirt & the only one i can think of at this moment is Elvis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Pink shirts are not good and any guys who do decide to wear them please please make sure your friends don't have the same idea. I saw 3 lads in the Blanch centre the other day all wearing pink shirts. Needless to say they looked like a bunch of idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Ah i wouldnt be able to take any bloke seriously in a pink shirt!It just does not look good!In fact, every bloke ive seen wearing a pink shirt in my lifetime not once have i been able to refrain from having a little laugh at them to myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

kdouglas wrote:
    since when, has i it become publicly acceptable for men to wear pink clothing???

now dont get me wrong, i'm a very open-minded person, not homophobic or anything and not sexist, i believe everyone does their own thing and who am i to judge, but seriously, since when is pink a man's colour? its getting to the point where there is no difference between men and womens clothing, we're all becoming cross-dressers!!

just wondering what the general opinion is on this??

any chance you were in zanzibar for new years if not you would have died... there was more men in pink than women!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

i don't wear pink and i'm a girl!!!!

once your over 6 it isn't cute any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

i think it really depends on what your wearing with a pink shirt, if your careful i think it can be carried off very well. Nothing like light trousers to match your light shirt to ruin the effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

The whole pink shirt has be coming for a few years, you cant turn your head in spain or italy and you will see some man wearing a pink shirt it was only a matter of time before it infected Ireland. Or worse pink runners on a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Kingsize wrote:
    It takes a certain type of man to credibly wear a pink shirt & the only one i can think of at this moment is Elvis.

Well Said

K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

i agree it looks horrendous. The guy giving us a course atm is wearing one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I know a guy in work who wears a jumper, strips, grey and Salmon pink.... Looks quite nice I wouldn't wear it though.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Jefferson Darcy

simu wrote:
    Why not? It can look good esp on guys with darker skin. (pink skin + pink clothes = not good)

Spot on

Open necked, long sleeved light pink shirt, well cut flat-front trousers, leather loafers = great look.

What I can't stand is women in those god-awful neon pink towelling tracksuits. This has to be worst female fashion trend in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

not my cuppa........

ITS NOT PINK, ITS SALMON

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Milkman Dan

i've a pink shirt and it looks great under a suit jacket!
    i often wear it on special occasions.... it used, would you believe, belong to my lesbian tomboy friend.
    mmnnn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I've seen LOADS of people dress in pink in Hong Kong, not in Ireland though, well not in Galway anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

i was introduced to a friend (female) new boyfriend over the xmas who basically was an snimal,huge guy,loadsa tattoos,piercings etc,he was wearing a pink tshirt with "tough guys wear pink!" on it..........i dunno but he still managed to make it look a bit gay!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

gucci wrote:
    i was introduced to a friend (female) new boyfriend over the xmas who basically was an snimal,huge guy,loadsa tattoos,piercings etc,he was wearing a pink tshirt with "tough guys wear pink!" on it..........i dunno but he still managed to make it look a bit gay!!!

I bet you didn't tell him that.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

gucci wrote:

LOL Very YMCA..

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I think a light pink shirt can be fine if it's worn with a well cut suit but as previous posters have said you need to have the right skin-tone to get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

some pink shirts can be nice on guys , personally im more a blue kinda gurl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Pink looks terrible on guys. Awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Disaster

Bad

Not so bad

Depends really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

As if a different colour shirt would have looked good in the first one :D

Will Smith can get away with anything.

Another example of someone who shouldn't wear pink, or at least not that shade of it:

10412-182.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

bacon? wrote:
    ITS NOT PINK, ITS SALMON
    This is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

I've got a cool pink Firetrap t-shirt and I have to say it's one of my favs! More to do with the fit than the colour though... Never had any negative vibes as a result of wearing it either. I guess I'm just one of those people who can pull off stuff like pink t-shirts! :D

Would wear any other items of clothing that were pink though... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

I've a pink shirt and I can't say I've ever thought that it was strange to own one.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

ColHol wrote:
    Disaster

Bad

Not so bad

Depends really!
    Will Smith is gay?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

i've a pink shirt and it looks great under a suit jacket!
    That was the first thing that popped into my head when I saw this thread!! I think that pink can look gorgeous on guys when they wear a jacket with it, or white tshirt underneath it. I've seen loads of Ralph Lauren models wearing it. I know they're not exactly your average guy but still. If you're daring enough then give it a shot. Obviously looks the best with dark eyes/hair/skin. Not enough men wear pink, they seem afraid of it. If you think you can pull it off, go for it! Looks kinda hot :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Listen to me very carefully. If a man wears a pink shirt, HE IS GAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

kdouglas wrote:

From what I've seen on TV, Pink is really in with Newsreaders, esp. the men.
    So it does appear to be publicly acceptable.
    The thing is, they sneak it in, bit by bit. A pink tie first, maybe pink socks on Pat Kenny next then before you know it, RTE and BBC look like the LGB society of ireland (no offence LGBers).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Listen to me very carefully. If a man wears a pink shirt, HE IS GAY.

hate-monger guilty of hate-crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

I would never wear a pure pink shirt, however I do own a shirt with pink stripes which I quite like :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

since when is pink a man's colour?

For years actually, and blue was originally a girl's colour. It was only after WW2 that they were switched.
    http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=238733

Interesting little factoid for you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Spot on

Open necked, long sleeved light pink shirt, well cut flat-front trousers, leather loafers = great look.

What I can't stand is women in those god-awful neon pink towelling tracksuits. This has to be worst female fashion trend in years.
    The first part is quite like the IT manager in Green Wing. He's cool.

The second part (about pink tracksuits) is like the slag in Little Britain who says, "yah, but no but, yah, but no but, yah, but no but..."

The other Irish female fashion thingy I hate is the white coat with the big poofy collar. FFS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Pet wrote:
    For years actually, and blue was originally a girl's colour. It was only after WW2 that they were switched.
    http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=238733

Interesting little factoid for you. :D

Interesting indeed, i never knew that!

I guess maybe we're going through a reversal of trends yet again, maybe in another 100 years time we'll all be questioning since when is blue a mans colour? (or pink a girls colour)
    The other Irish female fashion thingy I hate is the white coat with the big poofy collar. FFS!!

I agree with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

It takes a lot of self confidence to wear pink so I don't think men should be put down for wearing it. it's not doing anyone any harm is it?