Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could change one thing about yourself...

• 01-06-2001 2:11pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭

...what would it be?

I dunno if this has been done before, but what harm...

I'd change my voice.

I'm a singer and to be honest, I'm not bad at it. But because of this, I'd love to be able to sing different things and in a different way. The singers I admire most are Freddy Mercury and James Dean Bradfield (Manics) because they can/could sing anything - they have brilliant voices and can do sweet melodies and aggressive screaming if needed.

Also, I'd get rid of these stumpy fingers of mine cause they cause to to make typos and makes playing the guitar harder (but if BB King can do it, so can I).

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

I'd lose weight. I'm about 2st over, and although most of the folk I know hardly notice really, it still annoys me quite a lot... Luckily this is an easy enough one to fix. Gym, here I come...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭boddah

mm, i'd try to improve me musical skills, like Kharn

or failing that, id like to change my avatar smile.gif

Durty auld MORRIS drums...
    they're fu*kin' great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Nothing, I am perfection.

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    art is everything and of course nothing and possibly also a sausage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

I seem to find it absolutely impossible to remain steady i.e. keep a steady beat, keep a solid flow of energy, maintain a steady build up for a joke, hold my concentration for lengths of time. I know this sounds really abstract, be I tend to be able to only do things in bursts. Weird huh - maybe I'll get better as I settle and mature and gain confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I'd change the size of my penis...it's just too damn big.....i can't see with it...it just seems to hang over my eyes the whole time. :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭whitetrash

While I'm not 100% sure what it would entail physically, I think I'd like to fix it so that I only needed 1 hours sleep a night. There just aren't enough hours in the day biggrin.gif

I Live (in a dream world)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i'd do away with my scoliosis (curveture of the spine)

but one has to wonder if one changed something about themself, whould they still be the same person? i know if i didn't hav scoliosis i'd be taller and stronger, but would i still have the same attitudes to life, people around me etc.?

b4 i, if i had the chance, to make this change i'd hav to give it some serious taught!

"just because you're not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after you!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Rapier-q3

I'd get a breast reduction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I do believe id shed a few extrra stone im carrying! about 3 of them. frown.gif

Fortunatly im tall so i dont look 2 tubby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

My glasses...

Maybe the extra bits of gib too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

There's actually a two things I'd like to change.. (awwww wwman.gif

1. My eyersight. I need to wear contact lenses or glasses. I'm really bad without them. This is really annoying, especially in sports etc

2. My voice. My voice is really, really deep. My voice broke when I was 12, and I was fairly small for my age. My voice is also very similar to both my brothers, and we're always getting confused on the phone. Quite annoying.

3. Oh, and maybe a few inches off the ol' winky smile.gif

Fear can sometimes be a useful emotion. For instance, let's say you're an astronaught on the moon and you fear that your partner has been turned into Dracula. The next time he goes out for the moon pieces, wham! You just slam the door behind him and blast off. He might call you on the radio and say he's not Dracula, but you just say, "Think again, bat man."
    hello.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

I'd change my emotional inarticulacy.I'm not sure if such a thing exists, but if it does, I possess it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

What amp said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

It's not that there's nothing wrong with me, but if I could change anything, I more than likely wouldn't.

Sorry wink.gif

Bard
    Friends help you move. Real friends help you move bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,495 ✭✭✭Gerry

what shinji said, nobody seems to reckon I'm overweight either. I have to get fit also, it's very embarassing at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gerry:
    nobody seems to reckon I'm overweight either.</font>
    I do! smile.gif

Seriously though, your not that tubby. Just look at Andy, aka Fatboy smile.gif
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gerry:
    I have to get fit also, it's very embarassing at this stage.
    </font>
    Yeah, same here. When you run for a bus, you don't want to taste blood after it. And miss the bus too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

Hmnn , After about 5 minutes of thought ive come up with only 2 things *note:2 of theese minutes of thought were spent on counterstrike, the other two on that Sex-beast Marty Wheelan smile.gif*

Id proabably reduce my craving for Material possesions ,It really does make a person a slave to capitalism , If it was exsponged I think id really have a better life , I have this strange Idea of moving to out to barren Conemara and getting myself a house like the quiet man , Its sounds absolutely ludicrous but maybe that response is a manifestation of our own conditioning by the world we live in smile.gif

Id also like to be more open in my Dealings with others . Its just might be life I guess but all the wheelings and dealings we do in life just seems to be an awful prevarication , and just plain Innefficient , Id love to be totally honest and up-front with people from the get go ,Wed all be better for it id say

Beyond that Id improve my Aim in CS and Id change my ******* wirey hair , Wouldnt believe the amount of money I spend on Daxwax biggrin.gif

Shrewgar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by JustHalf:
    Yeah, same here. When you run for a bus, you don't want to taste blood after it. And miss the bus too.</font>

youre not unfit. youre f*cked!

One Of your Imps Does A Good Impersonation Of You
    He Can Even Do The Ears.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SheroN:
    I'd change the size of my penis...it's just too damn big.....i can't see with it...it just seems to hang over my eyes the whole time. :-/</font>

Get yer head out of yer butt then! biggrin.gif

Changing call sign to SIERRA PAPA OSCAR OSCAR FOXTROT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:
    youre not unfit. youre f*cked!</font>
    Yeah, pretty much! smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

i'm very lazy.... i know i'll be regretting it at somestage. and i have no ambition smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

I'd give myself psychic powers, or eternal life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

My voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

haha all these ppl want to lose weight, i wouldnt mind gaining two stone. i'm too thin.

ill trade ya shinji smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Lord Khan

I would not change a single thing about my self.

I know i'm an arrogant selfish ******* ... but I'm me ... if i changed one thing how can you honestly tell me I'd remain the same person. I am a living testiment to my life to date, I would not do anything against that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

As much as I agree with the not changing yourself baloney I'd give myself alot more confidence if I could. I have far too many regrets because of this. Then again maybe if I got rid of my sentimentality the regrets wouldn't bother me so much. Or if I was less of a fat ******* I might have more confidence anyway. Or.....

M

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

The "shed a few stone" thing seems to be flavour of the month. Thing about that is, it's very do-able but thing's like a person's voice isn't really.
    Sure, I'd love to be able to chop of about 4 stone (jesus, I can't remember when I was that light), but then I wouldn't be fat bastid Dav anymore and people wouldn't be as afraid when they see me going spa in a mosh pit. curlydav.gif Anyway, you can always loose weight.

Whitetrash's 1 hour sleep thing sounds like the best so far to me smile.gif

Eyesight - I wouldn't mind having proper eyes that can see without the use of flint or tinder wink.gif I was at a concert at the weekend and my contact lenses wouldn't stay in my eyes (no idea why, I'm gonna kick the optician's botty) so I could marginally make out shapes on the stage boppin' around a bit. Pain in the bum!

Curly hair is the very demon to control - especially when it reaches half-way down your back. I'd like straight hair frown.gif

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I'd like to get rid of my laziness and stupdenous ability to avoid work when at all possible (I should be working on my final year project right now).

Hmmm, another couple inches would be nice too.

In height you muppets! smile.gif

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭p

To those that said they wouldn't change things about themselves cause they wouldn't be the same person. Maybe you'd become better?

IMO anyone who really thinks that they're perfect definitely isn't.

Side note: There is actually a level to which you can change your voice. It's just a matter of breathing and talking from different areas in your chest upper/lower chest etc... Although the differences are subtle it is possible.

For me if there's something I want to change, then I'll try to change it. If it's something I cannot change then I'll try to get over it.

(:

- Kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Physically, there's nothing much I'd give a **** about - maybe I could be a bit bigger (bit too skinny) or have smaller eyebrows (I actually look like my avatar...) or I could gain a few octaves in the voice department (it's of Barry White proportions at the mo); but what I could really do with is to get rid of my quiet, shy nature - that's the one thing that's caused me more pain and heartache over the years than anything physical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Physically, there's nothing much I'd give a **** about - maybe I could be a bit bigger (bit too skinny)</font>
    That's on my list too... wouldn't mind, but I was pretty chubby up until about 16.
    Maybe it's all the smoking?
    Give up smoking and eat 10 cheese burgers per-day.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">or have smaller eyebrows (I actually look like my avatar...)</font>
    Nah, chicks love big eye-brows, (well that's what mammy tells me anyway)... just shave them off? that looks well cool biggrin.gif

All in all, I'm not too bothered about myself.
    But, I'd like it if I didn't look so... well... dead.
    I've got black circles under my eyes that no amount of sleep can remove.
    And I'm ghostly pale during the winter.
    Guess I just need more sun wink.gif

It's funny really when you think about it... how many of the things you would change, that are well within your ability to change.

If I wasn't so lazy, I'd be perfect in every way. tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

after reading this ive come to some conclusions...

1. yer all muppets.
    2. 75% of ye r over weight
    3. 50% of ye have an obsession greater than any ive ever seen with their penis's.
    and 4. yer all muppets.

- Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2"> Man causes all problems. No man, no problems. - Stalin </font>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe:
    after reading this ive come to some conclusions...

1. yer all muppets.
    3. 50% of ye have an obsession greater than any ive ever seen with their penis's.
    and 4. yer all muppets.

</font>

yes, but we love everyone here.
    except excelcior, because he is, in fact, a muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

my past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭TheWolf

probably what i would change the most would be that i could stop smoking. i was on 20 a day and tried going cold turkey, but failed miserably. then i tried cutting it in half, by only buying 10 a day but im back up again. and this seriously cant be healthy especially cause im 16. other than that... *shrugs*

arrrrRRROOOOOOOOOOoooo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

What would I change?

A million things and at the same time - not a one.

I'd love to change my past - but as the Butthole Surfers said "It's better to regret something you did than something you didn't do."

I'd love to change my looks - but I want to recognise that great big ****ing nose when I look in the mirror, it's reassuring.

I'd like to change my voice cause I think I sound like a pratt. But some chicks dig my voice.

I like being imperfect because I believe that my imperfections will someday make me into somebody that no-one else can be.

I'm the Dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

"after reading this ive come to some conclusions...
    1. yer all muppets.
    and 4. yer all muppets."

Given that only 3 people mentioned penis before this, J'accuse Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe of having insecurities himself. Oh dear, does this now include me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Don't worry Greenbean. We're a tolerant society. And besides, you look GOOD in a dress...