Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm a Goth!

• 18-04-2001 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

I was just reading that "God Damn Goths" thread...

All I can say is...

WHAT A PILE OF STARK BOLLOCK NAKED CAMEL DROPPINGS!

I mean!
    Trying to change the world???
    ****!

I mean, Bubbles said: "Its like having a party in a goths house. They don't let you eat, drink beer or maybe partake in a bit of smoke?"

All I can say is... WHAT PARTY WERE YOU AT?
    **** that! There is ALWAYS an endless suply of drink! Mostly Vodka and Snakebite mind you...
    Bob The Unlucky Octopus can tell you what it's like having a party with a goth!

And WTF is wrong with wearing nailpolish???
    Quite a LOT of music related peeps do it!
    Ever looked at Kirk Hammet's fingers? And he's the guitarist from Metallica! NOT A GOTH!
    Ozzy Osbourne wears nailpolish all the time!
    James Iha from The Smashing Pumpkins wore a dress once!
    HE ISN'T A GOTH!
    Pretty much most people associated with heavy metal wear nailpolish aswel!
    Punks, Black Metalers, Industrialists, and just yer average metal heads!

And about trying to be "Non-Conformists"?
    Bull****!
    I am a conformist!

I am conforming to a standard I like, and I feel happy with.
    You see the Cradle Of Filth T-Shirt on my chest?
    It's there because I like, and support the band! Not to draw everyone's attention!
    The leather jacket I wear?
    I actualy like the feel of it. Yep, thats right! I like how it feels...
    ITS NOT TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION!

My leather trenchcoat?
    Man, that thing is lined with the ****ing loveliest lining out!
    IT'S LUXURY! And it goes all the way down to my feet!
    AND IT'S NOT TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION!

I am a Goth because I like it.
    I like the music, and I get on well with goths. I like the style of dress.
    Hey, so shoot me?

"Save The Tree's, Eat A Beaver!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Go Angel, go Angel, go, go, go Angel!

biggrin.gif

Give me back my towel. I'll sue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I DON'T HAVE YOUR TOWEL!!! FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Aint all gots easy I mean the women smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

i luv those long leather jackets! lookin ****in class. but maybe thats due to the Matrix. either way, tis cool.

everyone was a tad edgy for my liking in that other thread, c a l m !

anyhew i hate to state the obivous but ffs sake, everyones different even if they are a 'goth' ya have good ones and bad ones, and determing the good from the bad is your own opionon okayyyyyyyyyyyy.

My final thought...

couldn't be arsed. ya get the point i hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

.....too busy to write any kind of long reply. But the question begs to be asked.....

"The ninth plane of hell. beneath the black thrown of chaos, take a left at the big pentegram, and keep going until you meet Walt Disney."

What is this utter sh!te?? "Oooh! Look at me, I embrace death"
    Jesus, just kill yourself and it over with for f uck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Who cares what you think your a goth your only looking for attention tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Im a Visi-goth!

(Asterix anyone?)
    Weren't goth's just uncivilised germans in the first place tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Who cares what you think your a goth your only looking for attention </font>
    This kind of thing really gets to me.
    it's your'rE a goth. as in YOU ARE.
    in other words, you're a moron because your grammer is terrible.
    h*

[This message has been edited by harVee (edited 18-04-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Oh buy. Your annoyed. Well at least you can reed. It annoy's me when people cant properly use grammer because their moron's and there misuse of apostrophes' and mixing up homonyms. Well. Goodbuoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I'm sick of this stuff.
    Live and let live if you all want to be moneyk's thats fine, but please keep it were it belongs ... the tolls

BTW moneyk is the stage of eveloution before monkey !!! wink.gifbiggrin.gif and last but not least :P

No !!!!! I will crush you with my Bare hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

screw the goths. It's the westlife fans that scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Harvee if ur a goth its ok u can get help biggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

Congratulations for you,
    was it necessary to open a new thread to tell us that though?
    Maybe every one who isnt a goth should open a thread each saying "I Am Not A Goth"
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    AND IT'S NOT TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION</font>

Goddamn attention seekers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

me bad grammer !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Bubbs thread was funny, yours is just boring, spammy, and perfect trolls material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Angel...you're not a goth...you're a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

A muppet who dresses in funny clothes tongue.gif

UP DA DUBS!! :)

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Zero:
    .....too busy to write any kind of long reply. But the question begs to be asked.....

"The ninth plane of hell. beneath the black thrown of chaos, take a left at the big pentegram, and keep going until you meet Walt Disney."

What is this utter sh!te?? "Oooh! Look at me, I embrace death"
    Jesus, just kill yourself and it over with for f uck sake.
    </font>

Maybe you can't understand the humour of it?
    The idea of going through a rather detailed direction of HELL, and ending up at... WALT DISNEY???
    Sorry... Doesn't float your boat, does it?
    What has it got to do with death? Where the **** did I state I embrace death?
    Oh, I'm sorry...
    Cliche...
    Sorry, not my fault you can't form an opinion...

And in response to Clinton's Cat...
    No, maybe it wasn't necessary to open a new tthread.
    I wanted to get a few things clear, but apparently, everybody seems to caught up in ignorance.

I mean, the kind of stupid replies I'm getting here?
    WTF???
    A person called GREENHELL! Said: "Who cares what you think your a goth your only looking for attention "
    FFS!
    Greenhell.
    As in a Misfits song.
    As in a ****ING GOTH BAND!!!!!

And people just making comments on the kind of thread this is?
    And telling me I am a muppet?

I apologise to everyone, but I was under the misconception, that I might be able to spark some kind of inteligent response...
    Sorry.
    I am at fault for over-estimating you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

Oh please , I mean what the hell is a Goth anyway ? . A sad git of a Teenager from an Upper Middle Secondary school hanging round the City Centre Clinging to other like minded souls for security , *I mean lets face it folks Has anyone seen a goth on thier own ? , Utter attention seeking , And its not as if theese people have any ethos or anything , Its pure image. I doubt theese people are too eager to Display thier colours when they have to go home to thier mammies and daddies hmmn? .
    And of course central to the Goth movement in Ireland is this Ideal that theyre "cool" or in some way setting themselves out from the crowd . I mean come on , the numbers of Goths on the Street doubles every time Brand new comes on MTV . Its utterly conformist , Ill give the whore that . Its a weak form of Defense for socially inadequate Dullards with low self esteem imported from the US . Some cruelly unoringinal retort for when the whole world Shouts "Go Home child" . Its truly saddening. While i appreciate Whores refreshing addmitance of its inherent Shallowness , I have to maintain the position that your a muppet , this thread is as stale Macdonalds Muffin and Ill never get back the five minutes i spent writing this post *and not a very Articulate one at that*.

Shrewgar!

Frankly, I have to thank Belisarius for being the only one who has actualy said anything even HALF inteligent.

As to what he said: "While i appreciate Whores refreshing addmitance of its inherent Shallowness"

I say: I am not trying to be someone I'm not.
    And I'm definetly not trying to do this by doing something other poeple do anyway.
    If I wanted to be an individual. HEY!

I'd wear:
    1. Pantyhose.
    2. Diapers.
    3. Flippers.
    4. A replica Darth Vader helmet.
    5. A Superman cape.
    6. Bright yellow flourescant Body Paint.

I do kinda get the idea that you are talking about young little insecure kids who are looking for attention.
    14 year old Marylin Manson fans and such on.

I don't go to School.
    I am not 14 years old.
    And I do not like Marylin Manson.

I am not disputing the fact that these kids dress like this to get attention, but this is not the majority, and this is not me, or my friends.

I started this thread, because of things people have said in the other one.
    I don't think that I am *COOL* or that I am *SETTING MYSELF OUT FROM THE CROWD*...
    Like I said, if I wanted to... As I said before, I dress like a complete waddle!

If I wanted to look *COOL* I'd just get a pair of Nike Trainers, and a whole Nike outfit!

But, no. I like my boots, and I like my leather, and I like my mesh shirt, and I like my Band T-Shirts.

It's personal preferance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

Individuality or personal tastes, it's still something tracksuit clad trendies probably know nothing about. smile.gif

J'ai dormi sous l'eau.

Lucy la morte.

[This message has been edited by Lucy_la_morte (edited 19-04-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

dear sirs,

This is really quite ridiculous. Who the hell do any of you think you are to be so judgemental? Who gives damn whther or not goths are looking for attention? Did you ever consider that they may be more comfortable in the goth stream of conformity as opposed to the typical "normal" stream of conformity?

They aren't bothering anybody. It is petty small middedness that brings about these prejudices that people hold. I am not a goth, but I can understand the attraction. It is fun to be a little different, even if it is conforming to the "alternative". It is harmless. What is the problem here?

We are supposed to be living in a society that allows us to express ourselves, free from prejudice. This is unfortunately, a mere pipe dream, as shown by all you goth haters...

They don't depress me. If you are depressed by their dark clothing and make up, then perhaps you have some unresolved issues yourself? Do you detest everybody that is unlike you? Do you detest everybody that doesn't want to wear brand labelled clothes, that has no interest in mainstream music, whatever?

I mean, come on here, WHO GIVES A DAMN?

A little variation in our culture is great. Do not fool yourselves into thinking that you are unaffected by advertising, as you seem to maintain, claiming that gothiness is a fad from the US. Yor clothing and style are every bit as influenced by media as theirs.

SO STICK IT UP YOUR BUMS

Give me back my towel. I'll sue.

Oh now non - goths are tracksuit people, im wounded! I dont have any brand name clothes (cept Puma, thats cos my uncle works there) and im a tracksuit trendie or some bull****?

Neuro, you seem to be ignoring the fact, that you were being wound up on the knackers thread and the goths thread, and so was everyone else who took them as seriously as you.

[This message has been edited by WhiteLancer (edited 19-04-2001).]

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteLancer:
    Neuro, you seem to be ignoring the fact, that you were being wound up on the knackers thread and the goths thread, and so was everyone else who took them as seriously as you.

[This message has been edited by WhiteLancer (edited 19-04-2001).]
    </font>

Well, a LOT of people who took this kinda **** seriously were taking it in a very negative way.

I mean, in those two threads alone (And I'll admit, I didn't even read the whole Knackers thread), people seriously made very nasty accusations, and quite a few Nazi references. Which I was ****ING SHOCKED at!

If people like that take it too seriously, you can't really blame the people who respond to this kind of stuff in a serious manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I'm not a goth, but I once died my hair jet black. Nobody noticed much cos I've got short dark brown hair.

I do like black clothes, but I seem to be going through a natural colour phase, beige, light browns and khaki.

Some of the Cure's stuff is actually quite good and often I find myself shaking my head to the Celebrity death match Marilyn Manson song.

I did have a point, but I seem to have digressed into narcissism.

Oh yeah, I think the reason why so many people think goths are attention seeking wanabes (not my opinion personally) is because there is no dominant mainstream culture like there used to be.

Mainstream culture seems to be a lot more diverse than it used to be. In music there is no longer a dominent movement like the Beatles led in the 60's, it's become fragmented.

Goths used to represent the rejection of the dominent mainstream culture and the embracing of an alternative culture. Which to some seems odd these days given that there is no dominent mainstream culture as such to reject.

Also a small note to the wanabe baiters in this thread:
    You have much to learn, grasshoppers.

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!
    art is everything and of course nothing and possibly also a sausage

Nice theories there amp.

I would kinda agree, yeah.

In the 60's, you were eather a beatles person, or a Doors person.

THE DOORS RULE, MAN!

/me breaks into song... "When yer strange... Faces come outa the rain... When yer strange... No-one remembers your name... When yer strange..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Well from what I have read thus far what I can determine is (if ye are being truthful in yere posts and not just postin it to cause agro etc etc) id that My god people!!!!! What a Bunch of narrow minded tadpoles ye are!!!

FFS! Welcome to the real world so what if goths like to dress up in dark clothes use makeup etc etc.They have as much right to do this as you or I have to do what we do.

I have a few friends who are goths and I have to say I enjoy there company as much as the next persons company after all they are Human people!

Ah well maybe it is true that as a rce the Irish are narrow minded when it comes to other people/cultures!(after all were the greatest bunch of racists even though we deny it.

I think Xenophobic is a good term.

Ah angelwhore, your making andro's mistakes you poor cúnt.

Maybe I am... I dunno.
    Don't really care that much...

Oh, but what mistake is that?

Liking The Doors?

[This message has been edited by AngelWhore (edited 19-04-2001).]

Calling them xenophobes.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteLancer:
    Calling them xenophobes.</font>

Sorry... Just a buzzword realy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

LOL - WhiteLancer, you don't understand the lack of seriousness from my posts, geez have to put more smileys, tongues and winks in these days I suppose. Lighten up you abusive person you, the whole point of this board is discussion, doesn't mean you can't joke, just don't be so hostile. Let some people be.

J'ai dormi sous l'eau.

Lucy la morte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

It seems that all of these narrow-minded fools who dislike goths on principle have at least one other thing in common- they are paranoid. The only other explanation for this behavior is that they collectively hate a group of people and everything they stand for (unlawful discrimination) and I wouldn't accuse anyone of that ohhhh no. tongue.gif

In any case, let me make a few observations here:

1) Angel never said he wanted to "stand out from the crowd", "embrace death", or any of this other bull$hit people have put in his mouth.

2) I *know* AngelWhore irl...the *last* thing he wants to do is grab attention in desperation, believe me. When I was in Galway, half the population of the *town* seemed to be m8s with him- and most of them weren't goth, and treated him exactly the same as anyone else- a lesson you could all learn. The notion that Goths are irresponsible teenagers is a load of crap, and certainly doesn't apply to Angel. He's a *moderator* for the I/SF CounterStrike forums- and Cliffe doesn't hand out that sort of responsibility lightly. He works an ordinary job, pays his dues and contributes to society- which is more than most of the (probably kids) who posted the "goth-hate" posts have done. His employers don't seem to think any less of him for being a goth, so why the *hell* should any of you?

3) This paranoid hatred of the unknown disturbs me more than a little. People like this frighten me- because the more we listen to them, the less vibrant and diverse our culture becomes. The way Whitelancer immediatly assumed neuro was referring to *him* (and it was an unfounded assumption) as a track-suited maniac smacks of paranoia. Zero's reply, if I forwarded it to a psychiatric journal would be ear-marked as a classic clinical sign of paranoid assumption. Neuro is absolutely right- your inherent dislike for goths says a hell of a lot more about you than it does about them as a whole- it's called associative paranoia (the opposite of dissociative paranoia, which is less common, but shown more in the movies). Goths threaten these people's sense of well-being, security and belonging- so they lash out. I have no problem with people disliking someone as an individual. But when you go around lambasting a legitamate and harmless lifestyle- that's discrimination.

Go and educate yourselves on diversity people- it'll save me having to rant even more about these unsupportable opinions.

And lastly- I've mentioned Zero's behavior before- and it looks like I'm going to have to do it again frown.gif Imho, moderators shouldn't be allowed to criticize another's life-style choice, even obliquely. It's inappropriate behavior from a moderator to further inflame the situation from there.

And I thought those Quake folk were so nice as well (esp. after meeting regi and quozl)- shame that Zero has to once again prove the exception to the rule.

I agree with Hobbes- we should be faaaaar more scared of Westlife, Here-Say and Steps than we should of Goths. You may not agree with the lifestyle choice that they make, but it's their choice, so the least you could do is respect it. It's not a selfish lifestyle in any way- I know this first-hand. In any case, you're going to find both good and bad people who've "gone goth". So spare me the anecdotes please biggrin.gif

Well, let's hope we can be a bit more tolerant- and not judge others by one's own specific standards. I'm a grunge-man, and I've never heard hate being directed irl at *us*. Or Goths for that matter. The more immature amongst you would claim that's because I'm from the US and "everything's weird/different over there". All I can say to these folk is that they can vigorously kiss the skin overlying my gluteus maximus tongue.gif

Let's get one thing clear- just because you don't agree with a certain lifestyle choice doesn't mean you have to take a kick at it in public, and on boards. Spend time in your rooms if you want- shouting hate and MTV every time they play a Goth band- or just moaning about it to your friends irl instead of us, here. Tolerance is the order of the day, and except in some of the later posts, I've yet to see it

Bob the Unlucky Octopus
    =Vade Retro=

[This message has been edited by Bob the Unlucky Octopus (edited 19-04-2001).]

I agree with most of what you say Bob, except for the bit about moderators not being allowed to criticise peoples lifestyles. Zero's entitled to his opinion. Just because he's a moderator (and a veteran baitor) doesn't limit his right to free speech.

Also I think you need to relax a little.

And nobody posting any Gothy pics?

Oh, poo...

Here's my offering!

972249554188.jpg

She R Hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by amp:
    I agree with most of what you say Bob, except for the bit about moderators not being allowed to criticise peoples lifestyles. Zero's entitled to his opinion. Just because he's a moderator (and a veteran baitor) doesn't limit his right to free speech.

Also I think you need to relax a little.

</font>

I am not for a minute saying that he isn't entitled to express his opinion amp. I am merely pointing out that it is the duty of moderators to set an example to the rest of us by keeping a thread out of control, not to let it spiral downwards into flame wars and puerile shouting matches. The best moderators are the ones you don't notice much- who remove the offensive threads, and try to calm a situation down instead of inflaming it.

I take your point that free speech is an important right- but with the power of moderation status is also attached a degree of responsibility- and one I feel Zero has ignored thus far.

Here are some examples:
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Zero:
    I'm not Bubbles tho, and I'm not lying, they should all be lined up and shot, Nazi-style, tie them all together with wire, shoot one and toss them all into a river, save the oul bullets
    </font>

This quote is the sort of thing I'm talking about. Don't believe he said it? Then go to: http://www.boards.ie/bulletin/Forum22/HTML/000158.html

Never mind moderator status- people who make such callous Nazi references should be warned and then banned imho- in jest or otherwise. He also referred to "God damn Americans" in the same thread. A patently racist remark. And it didn't come across as humorous or inoffensive- those remarks seriously offended me. If a moderator baits a topic, then he/she should no longer moderate. It is that simple. People are trying to have a civilized discussion, and all some folks can do is stoop lower than a centipede's belly-button.

And as I have already said- you are perfectly entitled to that sort of "hate" opinion, as long as you don't express it in public. This is exactly why there are guidelines for racial harassment laws in the US. It's to stop people exercising their right to free speech by printing up KKK leaflets, or saying "all **** are stooopid". Curtailing free speech within respectable and reasonable limits is the job of a moderator who likes to post. Even if such remarks are "just fun", that's no excuse.

In any case- unless he has some deep professional/personal insight into the subject- he has no business criticizing it.

Nothing against the guy personally, but there should be no place for inflammatory moderators on boards.ie. As I said in the earlier thread, my opinion probably doesn't count for very much, but there you have it.

Let's just all try and respect lifestyle's other than our own? I mean...how hard can it be? tongue.gif

As for my needing to relax and lighten up- you're probably right, to some extent, something my fiancee keeps telling me. But with remarks (especially those in bold) above- shouldn't it be Zero who has to do the lightening up? I mean- recommending a Nazi-style execution with a single bullet to the head surely means he needs to at least switch to decaf :P

Bob the Unlucky Octopus
    =Veni Vidi Vici=

[This message has been edited by Bob the Unlucky Octopus (edited 19-04-2001).]

Yes Bob, I hear you man. But you seem to take Zero's comments seriously. A sport often played on the net is the art of trolling or baiting. Making a controversial statement in order to get people all worked up and respond accordingly. It's not very mature it's often not very imaginative.

And it has to be said Zero is probably the worst troller I've ever witnessed. He lacks finesse, style and subtlety.

But if your knickers are still in a twist over this then post your complaint on the Admin board or e-mail an Administrator like DeV or Cloud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

Aw dear god i cant keep this up any longer.......

calm down lads it's all a wind-up, checking to see how many posts the likes of myself and bubbles could generate by being prats, and the 200+ or so isnt bad considering we havent really been putting our backs into it.
    I dont "hate" goths or travellers or whatever else we spoke about earlier, and if I was to partake in a conversation seriously, whatever I felt would be put forward in a much more discrete way. well, heh, maybe not discrete but not blatantly blunt and insulting to entire cultures. you might notice that no olschoolers joined in and argued with us, this is simply because they knew exactly what we were at, as Dev pointed out earlier.

So relax....we were just winding ye up and ye fell for it hook line and sinker....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Lord Khan

Hez not a very convincing goth ... gotta say that Zero you know UL ... place is crawling with them CSIS building in particular ... but he ain't what I've seen in goths around her ... hez all whiney ... god ... hez a god damn cry baby at this stage ... does somebody pay him every time he says Walt Disney.

He probably went out and bought a marilyn manson CD and wears leather shoes ... and considers him self a goth.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

http://www.boards.ie/bulletin/Forum15/HTML/000349.html

Read and shut the fúck up Angelwhore and Neuro-Praxis.

Jesus fúcking christ - you try and post something that'll explain people having the craic and they're too dumb to read it...

Angelwhore - no one gives a flying fluff if you're a goth or not - get over yourself - you seem to be the only one who actually *has* a problem with it.

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Prepare yourself - The Beefy King stirs from his slumber...</font>

[honey i] violated [the kids]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

rolleyes.gif