Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About Our Driving...

• 07-08-2000 2:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭

Saturday night I was coming home from town with my parents and there was a car flipped over on the side of the road. The driver was dead, splattered all over the road and the passenger is in a critical condition in hospital. All the ditch along the road was torn up and there was glass and blood everywhere. Appearently he was going up the country for his first cousins funeral. I have never seen a dead body before. Just how many people died on the roads this weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

A snippet from www.garda.ie
    Summer Road Safety Campaign

The Garda Summer 2000 Road Safety Campaign commenced today, Thursday 13th July, 2000 - it will run until Sunday 3rd September, 2000.

Historically the months of July and August are among the most dangerous on our roads. July and August were the worst months for road fatalities last year with 100 people being killed.

Almost ¼ of all road deaths for 1999 occurred during these two months alone.

This years campaign will again focus primarily on:-

Drink Driving
    Speeding
    Non-wearing of seatbelts
    Motorists are once again reminded to drive carefully, observing the speed limits and to always wear their seat belts.
    Have'nt found any stats for this year yet...

What's this now?™

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Im 21 and can't drive. And ive no serious intention of ever doing so after this weekend. Not in this country anyway.

Say hello to my little friend !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I can't believe that we still have to drive anyway. Why's it taking them so long to bring out computer controlled cars? We trust them to run a nuclear power plant and guide nuclear missiles but not stop at a red light? My watch has more computing power than it would take to drive a car ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

Well, I'm 27 and never learned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I'm 28, can't drive, and have no intention of ever learning to unless I absolutely have to. Fortunately I can walk to work, and have done for the last seven years, prior to that I used to waste three hours a day getting the poxy 48a bus from Ballinteer into town.

The cost of buying and running a car, petrol, especially insurance (which is a ludicrous price over here) and the fact that it still takes hours to get anywhere when the roads are even slightly busy, makes the whole concept utterly redundant as far as I'm concerned.

Not to mention the behaviour of drivers (mostly male, but some women too), means I would be almost guaranteed to run some cheeky fu<ker over within the first month smile.gif

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I'm 22 and I do drive. Since I've moved to Dublin, I haven't done a whole lot of it as I used to use my Mum's car. I was going to get a car very soon, but now I think I'll wait. For the sake of 3 years, it means a lot less money and it'll also give me a chance to "grow up" a bit more and not be as inclined to take dumb risks. I'm a careful enough driver, but on an open road, I admit that I do like to leave my foot down and make some speed.

All that aside, a friend of mine (a recently qualified Guard) is doing his dissertation on Road Traffic Accidents for a 10 year perios (1989 - 1998). I was giving him a hand to fire together some graphs and the likes. I saw some interesting statistics (that aren't meant for the public) and it certainly was frightening.

Scary stuff!

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger:
    I can't believe that we still have to drive anyway. Why's it taking them so long to bring out computer controlled cars?

The programming involved in Nuclear power plants and nuclear missiles is very different then the mass market *get it out the door* programming the consumer would expect. Shame really that the customers actually prefer to get buggy programs sooner then working ones later.

Btw, In Greece they drive crazy (I was getting jiggy with a moped) but it seems a lot more organised then Boston who I think are the most mental in the world (least in Greece they don't run over cute women).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Borric

Originally posted by _CreeD_:
    Well, I'm 27 and never learned.

sure CreeD 27 sure

we all know what age you really are smile.gif

Apparantly the statistics lie a bit. They show that most of the people who are injured or die in cars are young people (under 23). I saw a survey that pointed out that this was because there tends to be more young people in the car. Cos we're poor, we tend to car pool a lot more than older snobby people smile.gif

It put the amount of young drivers involved in accidents at 23% and level of fault at 16%.

It was an English magazine tho.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Originally posted by Castor Troy:
    I'm 28, can't drive, and have no intention of ever learning to unless I absolutely have to...etc...makes the whole concept utterly redundant as far as I'm concerned...

Not everyone has the luxury of city dwelling and working...

I'm 28, would consider myself a reasonable driver with a fair amount of cop-on. I still drive fast at times but there is a distinction to be made between fast driving and stupid driving....

eg. I am literally scared sometimes to see peoples overtaking manoevures...still across the white line at/near the apex of a corner..
    you'll see a line of maybe 20 cars doing 50mph about 1-2 miles from the city and some muppet at the back will pull a couple of dangerous passing moves so that by the time he enters the city, he has only 16 cars in front of him or something...

It's not my driving that scares me ever..i will drive fast when it puts only me at risk...i will never overtake around a crest/corner etc....

As a teenage driver (and at the time i used to drive a 2.o litre with 130 bhp), i drove faster that I do now, but still with regard for other road users (and probably most influentialy (<----a word?) my girlfriend!).

Don't even think about it...™
    www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

ps. Drink wasn't mentioned here yet as a factor in accidents....

If you drink and drive....ever....you deserve to be chonked...

anyway, when becks make such a good non-alcoholic beer, i fail to see the point...
    If i was sitting at home and wanted a beer -had only bottles of bud or becks non-alco in the fridge - i would choose the becks 10 times out of 10......

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

Eh Borric, that 54 thing at the Lan was about TCLQ (Which unfortunately dropped to 113 by the end of the week). One of them mentioned it and the others picked it up as my age...
    Which is silly since everyone know's it's my IKyew-Wotsit-Thinky-Yoke.

And get back to the books student scum!.. smile.gif

Pretty Land

[This message has been edited by _CreeD_ (edited 09-08-2000).]

Originally posted by Pretence:
    Thats like smoking a fag with no nicotine........... whats the point.

Or like having sex with a condom on....right? tongue.gif

I would be interested to know peoples opinion on the subject of becks non-alco...
    I bet if you took the pepsi challenge and had a glass of the becks with ice and a glass of bud beside it, most people wouldnt know the difference....unless of course you can always tell the tase of Llama's p1ss in which case you will surely opt for the bud...

Pretence, i will drink non-alco if i am driving because that is the sensible thing to do, and IMO, becks non-alco is still an excellent beer (i like beer, hence i dont drink coke...) [my (widely available) beer of choice would be regular becks...unless i have the keys...]

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

[This message has been edited by Licksy20 (edited 09-08-2000).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Pretence

Originally posted by Licksy20:
    i would choose the becks 10 times out of 10......

No way.

I can't agree with you there.

If you want something with no alcohol in it why not just drink something that tastes nice.

Thats like smoking a fag with no nicotine........... whats the point.

becks non-alco? I couldn't even buy it without being branded a homosexual for the rest of my life.

Look - there goes that poof who drinks non-alco. Asses to the wall lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger:
    non-alco .... homosexual
    I don't see the connection...
    (maybe people mistake you for a homosexual for other reasons? smile.gif)

- What's this now?™ -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

what is so bad about that mistake anyway? you should get some cleverer friends blitzie.

It is so lonely here in my indecipherable tower of speech impedimency

Blitzkrieger seems to have.... issues.. about masculinity from what I see of his posts in this forum.

Presumably he was joking there but he still managed to sound like a vvanker smile.gif

biggrin.gif Your a cruel bunch biggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

Just to clarify

All non-alcho beer is p1ss
    Bud is p1ss
    Anyone who considers putting ice in beer shouldn't be allowed drink beer.

The reason young males are atrocious drivers is the same reason they make good soldiers - They have no sense of their own mortality.

Everyone is against drink driving. Seriously try and find someone who advocates it, you wont. However a huge proportion of ppl do it, on a regular basis. The Gardai are generally loathe to "pull" someone they know has been drinking because most of 'em do it themselves. You will only get "pulled" if you are obviously bollixed.
    I was in my local on Sat. night 11pm ish. A group beside me included a local Guard (friend of a friend of a friend). They were going to another pub. Guard: "follow behind me (in car) and you'll be grand, I know the lads", referring to a checkpoint down the road. This was in Dublin for what it's worth.

[This message has been edited by Canaboid (edited 10-08-2000).]

Originally posted by Canaboid:
    The Gospel according to me...!

The reason I put ice in me non-alco beer is cause several idiot pubs/hotels dont keep it in the fridge....not enough room in there with all the llama píss.....
    If it's cold, it obviously doesnt need ice...

Generalising that all non-alco beers are píss is wrong, m'kay?
    If you do this having tried warm/cold Kaliber or buckler then i say give the cold becks a try...If you have tried it then fair ennuf...ps. what do ye drink when driving...?

Ever tried crushed ice in your cianti...or is anyone who puts ice in their red wine also to be dissallowed from drinking it
    too...?

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

[This message has been edited by Licksy20 (edited 10-08-2000).]

Anyone that would put ice in red wine is an ignorant heathen who needs their head slamming in a door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

well drinking....now there's a subject i know and love. Non-Alco beer's fairly **** to the best part in my opinion although i would do that becks non alco if needs be. Bud - everyone slags it but i find early in the day bottles are spot on like....change then to whatever when it gets later and the hangover's gone smile.gif.

Drinking in ireland is a seriously dangerous pastime especially out of the cities. In buncrana there's fark all else to do really....you go out on a thursday night and sober up on monday or teusday thats it. Its good crack but its killing me at this stage.....must get back to dublin again soon and calm ta fu(k down or at least try and keep it country. Alcholism is in your blood as much as its a trained thing ...people laugh and say that drinkn whey whey whey great more faster faster etc...but i'll tell you it's a dangerous cun+ of a drug and far too easily let out of control. I know friends of mine who cannot drink anything any more as they let it get out of control. I know a girl who when she was 19 odd had to go rehab and stuff for drink... In fact I was told by doctors to give up spirits and stick to beer as they were fu(kin me up mentally and physically so (i was drinkiin them all the time without realising i was allergic to them, in fact used to only drink vodka and whiskey beforehand, never beer)....anyway. Its all fun and games till some one looses an eye. Anyway not to put a dampener on it....the beer's the crack like.

I lost my licence for a year when i was 18 after getting caught drunk driving.....my licence is clean again now. I'd never do it again but if someoen offered me alift from the pub to homeand they were at it i' take the lift although i'd prefer if they didnt do it like.

[This message has been edited by FreaK_BrutheR (edited 10-08-2000).]

lol @ the inhumanity on display here tongue.gif

Castor, as the saying goes, when in rome etc... It's not something I regularly do though...and certainly I wouldn't put Ice in anything other than a table wine...

People still haven't said what they drink when they are driving...I don't fancy having 20 cokes and going to the jacks every 10 minutes (might meet blitz there you see tongue.gif )

I find the hangover from spirits is incredible compared to a beer hangover. The stuff poisons my muscles...can feel it in me legs for a couple of days after a whiskey binge...while with beer, you get a sore head - stomach for a bit but then you're ok...

Well TBH if I was going to the pub I'd make sure not to bring the car in the first place.
    Thus avoiding the moral dilemma of wether I can risk a pint or two. And also there is nothing more annoying than sitting sober in a pub full of drunken people..

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

If I've got the car, it's usually a mineral I drink. I don't like beer, so as a Cider drinker, usually Cidona tongue.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

(might meet blitz there you see tongue.gif )

cheeky sod rolleyes.gif

Of course I don't think that someone is gay just cos they drink a non-alcoholic drink. Nor do I think someone is gay if they wear white socks with black shoes, but it wouldn't stop people taking the **** out of me if I did and it wouldn't stop me taking the **** out of someone if they did. There's nothing to do but take the ****! It's our entire culture (for the most part). Every Saturday night you go out, drink, take the **** out of everyone else in the pub, then go dancing at a night club.

People associate taking the **** with malice. When me and the guys with us take the **** there's no malice or ill-will involved. We have a laugh, no1 takes it seriously and no1 takes offense (cos they don't hear biggrin.gif )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

Would that be alcohol free Cianti licksy ? cos' thats **** n' all.

Originally posted by Castor Troy:
    Anyone that would put ice in red wine is an ignorant heathen who needs their head slamming in a door.

heh...i must admit, it seemed a strange concept to me at first...
    I was in rome, at a café opposite the Colosseo
    and the waiter put crushed ice in my cianti...mind you it was 35ºC outside...

Anyway, I suppose you too have tried this and didn't like it...right? tongue.gif

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

isn't drunkendness great?!?
    isn't licksy a fool for having an experienced opinion.
    snobby arsewipe!

Anyway, I suppose you too have tried this and didn't like it...right? tongue.gif

Yes I have Licksy. It defeats the point utterly. Red wine is served at or above room temp, not with friggin ice in it.

forget the inhumanity, i am appalled at the grammar! smile.gif
    apart from that though freak bruther, its good to hear an experienced drinker talk about its dangers. it just doesn't seem to count when i say it, because i am not "WELL' ARD!"
    licksy has my support here though. we just accept such mediocrity in the area of drinking and the loosest term in ireland, "Culture."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Borric

Eh Borric, that 54 thing at the Lan was about TCLQ

and there i was thinkin you were a very healthy lookin 54 year old

ps Can't go wrong with Dutch Gold

Bats

Shhh, tip from me to you, Oil-of-baby. Does wonders for the skintone.

...Oil-of-baby...

and how do you extract that....in some kind of press...? And how many mls do you get per child...?
    These things I need to know.... tongue.gif

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net