Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird Dream Last Night

• 14-12-2004 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭

ok cut a long story short i had a dream that my teeth were falling out for no reason! i didnt pull them out or anything just kept falling out! just wondering does anyone out there know what that means? its been wrecking my head all day long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Happens to me all the time. The dream that is. I heard it's to do with money worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

From the dark realms of Google......

This classic dream has a number of interpretations. It can literally mean that you are frightened of losing your teeth. It can show the beginning of a new phase of life just as we lose our teeth when we pass from early childhood and head towards adulthood. You may be worried about your self image or the dream may signify unexpressed anxiety

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Maybe you're afraid of making irreversible changes to your life - once adult teeth are gone, all that awaits is a future of dentures, denture glue and fear of apples.

Or maybe it was just random images with no meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

well im 21 so im past the stage of losing my baby teeth! maybe it could be to do with the money thing! i have a debt with the bank and about €900 of credit card bills! that stuff is not bothering me but maybe it is and i just dont realise it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Thats mad, I used to dream me teeth were falling out, so much so, that when I woke up and they'd hadn't I'd be really really relieved. Money worries could well be it, think I had some around that time.

Last night I dreamt about Brittany Spears, she was very nice.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

My mam, wise bird that she is, says a dream about losing your teeth means your losin your sex appeal! Says I I never had any sex appeal in the first place!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I think you forgot to brush your teeth before going to bed. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭parker larkin

it generally means you are anxious or worried about something.

Nasty_Girl wrote:
    My mam, wise bird that she is, says a dream about losing your teeth means your losin your sex appeal! Says I I never had any sex appeal in the first place!!

So your nickname is nothing sexually nasty then? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

I have the same dream quite frequently and it is very unpleasent. From what i know it stems from a desire to be the centre of attention ( moi! the centre of atention! :D ) or at least feeling unnoticed, ie. trying to speak but your words being hindered by your teeth falling out. I tend to have this dream after a night out when i'm not feeling very sociable or when my opinion is being ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Zakalwe

it generally means you are anxious or worried about something.

Very true. I used to get this dream all the time when my anxiety was at its peak. I looked it up in several places and they all pointed to anxiety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

I had the same dream myself and I remember I was talking to my dad and my teeth began to fall out, I woke up and made sure I still had my teeth but I was freaked out for days

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I get it often as well. It alway starts with one tooth, and I spend ages holding it in, hoping to get to a dentist in time, but every time I open my mouth another one comes loose. That feeling of having soft gums is horrible!
    I was told it was to do with a fear of having chidren or other such responsibility.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

yeah im getting mently dreams lately(sorry to hijack your thread) but i had one where i was literally just taking a beating for several hours no real injuries no nothing just lots of pain . . . weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

hey no problem! i didnt say no one else couldn't join in here! ye can share yer weird dreams as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I had a really weird dream last night too. I really freaked me out. There was a chick who was into flowers (a botanist if you will) and she was trying to get me to go and visit this field where there was a hole in the ground which led to a cave. She told me to go inside the cave and as I was going down I knew the enterance to the cave was going to close up and I would be trapped. I said "I'm not coming back am I?" To which she replied "I have to help the world with my skills, I cannot go down. You have to go instead". So I went down into the hole, where there was a large lake and loads of flowers etc...

Anyway the reason I had to go down into the hole is because God was lonely and wanted some one to hangout with. I presume God was present in some way in the cave. To top it all off I started thinking about relatives that I would never see again. Then I woke up. Really freaky!

Try a google on that one :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Weird i never realised so many people had this same type dream,in my dream i was lileraly just touching my teeth and they would fall into my hands very real too!
    Id wake up after it in panic and touch my mouth to find them intact with great relief.
    Anyway i was fairly stressed out at that time in my life and ended up getting a skin condition with the stress also,i believe there is a connection there to some form of anxiety or stress.
    I got these dreams over a period of about 2 years if that means anything and i was also young 20's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i have this dream every little while. its actually a fear of mine to lose a tooth, especially one of the front ones. i dont think mine are stress or money related, more the fact that im simply terrified to lose my teeth. i had a bit of dental work done aswell which might add to it.
    just thinkin, i have a fear of growin old aswell, maybe that has something to do with it.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ok this came up a while ago in some other post but I'll tell u what i said - Go to the dentist and ask them to check for bruxism i.e. grinding your teeth. I used to get dreams that my teeth were falling out/breaking etc and it turned out i was grinding(due to stress they reckon) them in my sleep!!! I have to wear this retainer/guard now to stop me doing more damage cos I have some nerve damage from it. Another sign of this is getting headaches when u wake up...Anyhoos go to the dentist!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Pardon the cliché, but when I was sixteen, I had the "bits of my willy falling off" dream, which really freaked me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

I had a dream last week where i broke into a house for some reason, but there was a woman home, and i raped and beat her, Can anyone shed light on this, it really freaked me out.

Victor wrote:
    Pardon the cliché, but when I was sixteen, I had the "bits of my willy falling off" dream, which really freaked me out.

What parts?!?!

Healio wrote:
    I had a dream last week when i broke into a house for some reason, but there was a woman home, and i raped and beat her, Can anyone shed light on this, it really freaked me out.

(1) stop drinking/doing drugs
    (2) Check yourself into St.John Of God's/ Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I never had a dream of my teeth falling out, but about 2 years ago I'd often dream that I had lock jaw. Took me ages to figure it out. Turns out my braces were getting caught together while I was sleeping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

tk123 wrote:
    What parts?!?!
    First the top inch, then the next inch, then the next inch, then the next inch, and this kept going on and on. So eventually I just stuffed them all back into the foreskin. :eek:

Victor wrote:
    First the top inch, then the next inch, then the next inch, then the next inch, and this kept going on and on. So eventually I just stuffed them all back into the foreskin. :eek:
    Maybe i'm getting this wrong cos i'm a girl and all but like wud the foreskin not have come off when the first few inches were dropping off?!!? :D Is that a normal dream for guys!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭MickFarr

tk123 wrote:
    Maybe i'm getting this wrong cos i'm a girl and all but like wud the foreskin not have come off when the first few inches were dropping off?!!? :D Is that a normal dream for guys!?!

:D lol lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

BolBill wrote:
    (1) stop drinking/doing drugs
    (2) Check yourself into St.John Of God's/ Gardai

Funny you should say that, i was drunk.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Is there a site that I can look at to see the meaning of such dreams?
    my dreams are gone beyond a joke at this stage

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Had a dream last night in which I had to chop my brother's hands off with an axe because he couldn't reach something in the fridge. Neither of us seemed the least bit concerned. I had them in a plastic bag with me for about 24 hours before I realised I should probably give them back to him, or bring them to a hospital. So I was wandering around what appeared to be Kilkenny, but all full of scaffolding, asking Dutch people which way it was to the hospital. One of them quite reasonably pointed out that the hands were probably useless by now and the owner probably bled to death. So I started running round in circles in false-Kilkenny, which suddenly turned into Arles or Nimes. Never found the hospital or the brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Moss

Dreaming that your teeth are falling out usually means fear of public speaking. Heard this from a psychology lecturer in UCD. She said it happened to herself when she first started lecturing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I remember reading a book about interpretations of dreams. And it mentioned that you can only interperate a dream if it is reoccuring due to the fact that if something is on your mind it will come out in your subconcious while sleeping/dreaming.
    And it also said that if you just have a one off strange dream it is more than likely due to the fact that you are tired/have eaten something strange/or just downright evil!!! ;)

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭PaddyjDunne

FFS its only a f*cking dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My dreams aren't so lucid. They tend to be just quite insane.

Although the other night I dreamt I was the anti-Homer. I killed Homer, and because I was the anti-Homer, I didn't crave sweet things like doughnuts, I craved horrible things. So I drank a litre of engine oil, and promptly realised my mistake and began to puke up oil. Foul tasting, stick to everything oil. Because of it's seriously poisonous nature, I began to pass out.

Which is when I woke up. I felt seriously ill until lunchtime and could swear I could taste engine oil in my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭calis

maybe u shud see a dentist :D

seamus wrote:
    My dreams aren't so lucid. They tend to be just quite insane.

Although the other night I dreamt I was the anti-Homer. I killed Homer, and because I was the anti-Homer, I didn't crave sweet things like doughnuts, I craved horrible things. So I drank a litre of engine oil, and promptly realised my mistake and began to puke up oil. Foul tasting, stick to everything oil. Because of it's seriously poisonous nature, I began to pass out.

Which is when I woke up. I felt seriously ill until lunchtime and could swear I could taste engine oil in my mouth.

Was the dream a cartoon then? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

tk123 wrote:
    Was the dream a cartoon then? :confused:
    Em...I dunno :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I had a dream my teeth were falling out after reading this thread. Maybe it means I spend too much time on boards.

(wishing there was a smiley with missing teeth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

1biggrin%20copy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭TattyTeddy

ok cut a long story short i had a dream that my teeth were falling out for no reason! i didnt pull them out or anything just kept falling out! just wondering does anyone out there know what that means? its been wrecking my head all day long!

Dreaming that teeth are falling out is commonly thought(by dream analysists) to be a sign of the loss of self respect.........
    However, I firmly believe that you should think about what teeth fallng out means to YOU and that should help you sort it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Right. I have weird dreams. Last night.. I remember this really well cause it was so bizarre went like this :

I was moving out to go to college.. which was over my hedge so we were climbing the hedge of my house bring all my stuff over.. and my room was an out doors room.. couch sitting room and all outside.. except for the bed.. which was under like .. a kinda tent.

Turns out when I'd got to college.. I'd forgot one thing.. The Holy Grail so I had to go back to my house and get that.. which there was two off.. both were buffulo skulls with massive horns.. but one was like normal size and the other about 30ft long.. I could'nt find the normal one so I took the massive one.. in the dream I remebered I took the other holy grail to party and probably left it behind.

Ok so then I got to college and got setteld in, but my guitar was missing.. so I went looking for it.. and found a mate of mine legging it down the hall with the case so I ran after him. We went into this room and he said 'What are you doing get down here we are trying to help Batman! It's a college thing.. you are obviously new here' then he opens my guitar case and there a computer inside. Next thing The Penguin bursts through the door ! Old school penguin from the 1960's Batman show like.. so I deck him.. followed by the Joker and the Riddler.. which my friend with the guitar case zaps with some kinda freeze lazer.

So once they are frozen we leg it out.. assuming they have Batman and Robin in some kinda terrible trap that we have to help them, but Batman and Robin are ok.. but a friend of mine is in this huge water tank.. I asked did he need help but he said it was ok.. But ! Another guy I know was standing in front of a mirror demanding to be thrown through it.. to finish the trap he kept saying.. so I grabbed him by the neck and smashed him through it.. he collapsed on the floor.. and I pretty much woke up.

You thought teeth falling out was bad ?

Tom.

Holy mental dreams batman!! :D