Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyfriend + Drugs = Bad Smell

• 09-12-2004 11:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Hey everyone,

I know this is gona sound really weird, but i could really do with some help. I'm not sure how to put this into words, so... i hope this makes sense.

My boyfriend has recently started to smell really bad, when i hug him or go to cuddle him he smells like his socks or his trainers, and it's not a nice smell, beleive me.

What i have the most problems with, is trying to find out why he smells this way. I've tried telling him about it, but it breaks my heart to bring up such a thing. From staying over at his appartment, he seems to take really good care of himself, he showers and baths frequently, but that awful smell stills remains.

I have become afraid that he might be taking drugs or something, and perhaps this is making him smell this way.

What i am asking you guys is, do u know of, or have you ever heard of any kind of drug that can have this effect on someone? Your help with this, would mean the world to me.

Thanks,
    Kate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Just ask him already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Well coke,e and what not makes you sweat while you are on them but wouldnt leave a smell after a shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Have to agree with the others there!
    I dont see how drugs can be the problem in this!

Your best off asking him subtly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

get a friend to ask him.
    he will be embarassed over it, and will turn to you for help over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭m4cker

nooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!! the drugs they are rotting me help i'm disolving into a pile of sludge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

Any chance he might have a bad case of Athlete's foot?

That would explain the nasty foot-y smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Funkygreendogs

Only drugs i can think of that might make him smell is cigarettes?? But you are definatly best off to ask him directly, i know id appreciate it if someone told me i smell rather than telling everyone else and hope i cop on to it. Maybe it may be something else making him smell bad, like maybe he is spanking the monkey before you call down to his place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

buy him some new runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

This brings up images of that morning after scene from Trainspotting.

How do you jump from B.O. to drugs? Seriously people in this day and age. He could just visit his doctor, there are lots of reasons for strange body odour despite good hygiene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

How does he keep his clothes??
    or does he still smell without clothes?

alot of people get that kind of smelly when they heap clothes on the ground, on in a chair. .
    if he is keeping good care of himself as you say. then its most likely his clothes./.

or as Funkygreendogs said he could be "taking care of himself" before you come over..

youll have to say it to him to get a definitive answer.. or at least start towards a solution./

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Yeah it's definitely the drugs. The smell is just the first stage!!
    Get him into rehab as soon as you can before he starts to rob old grannys and beat up kids for their lunch money.

Let this be a lesson to all of you, if anybody close to you has a problem of any kind, be it bad breath, bad manners or always turns up late get them into rehab pronto before they ruin their lives and the lives of others!!!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

seriously
    what's wrong with just asking him?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Beruthiel wrote:
    seriously

What's wrong with young people nowadays, eh Ruthie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Ren0

Miss Elmo wrote:

I have become afraid that he might be taking drugs or something, and perhaps this is making him smell this way.

Yeah it is cos of the drugs, the mans got a problem. You just have to sit him down and say "Dom, i want you to quit smoking that ****, cos its bad for u." and then he'll listen to u.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

koneko wrote:
    What's wrong with young people nowadays, eh Ruthie?

I donno :rolleyes:
    I mean, if you are with someone, surely you can ask whatever comes to mind instead of making stuff up in your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

cancer??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Maybe you're the one that smells and you're rubbing off on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Beruthiel wrote:
    seriously

Dontcha know, that's way too obvious and easy! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

ASK him!

If you do not wish to do this, invite him over, strip off and drag him into the shower with ya. He's not exactly gonna say no to this! Plus, he'll be smelling beautifully in no time! Problem solved :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Is he a culchie, or a skanger?

For some odd reason, some of them use a weird sh|t-smelling aftershave. It really smells bad. Best to talk to him about it, before he thinks you like "his new smell"... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Skellington

jesus woman :rolleyes: , its probly just a case of athletes foot...no drugs cause you to smell of anything. other than sweat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

ok firstly you can be the cleanest person in the world and still have smelly feet. its probably a foot fungus so just say it to him

but be nice about it!!

also he could be putting on a front when you come over showering alot ect...

a guy friend of mine has really bad bo smell now he asked me about it i never noticed it myself but he was quite embarrassed coz he cought a wiff when hugging a girl he was into. i told him to wash blah blah blah and he did, i even bought him some smelly stuff for his birthday, turned out it was too much garlic in his system, the toxins got to come out somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Funkygreendogs

tinkerbell wrote:
    ASK him!

If you do not wish to do this, invite him over, strip off and drag him into the shower with ya. He's not exactly gonna say no to this! Plus, he'll be smelling beautifully in no time! Problem solved :D

tinkerbell is a genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Beruthiel wrote:
    I donno :rolleyes:
    I mean, if you are with someone, surely you can ask whatever comes to mind instead of making stuff up in your head

You wouldn't understand, you're not "with it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Miss Elmo

Miss Elmo wrote:
    Hey everyone!

Thank you so much for replying to this, I thought everyone would have just laughed, and ignored it!

Anyways, i know a lot of people have suggested that i just out and out ask him, but can you imagine how difficult it would be to ask someone you love, why he smells terrible? I'd be mortified to bring this up with him, and god knows how he'll feel.

I know everyone's laughing at me for suggesting drugs, but it's not his odour. It's his mood swings, they're awful. This is why i thought it might be drugs, it's hard to explain, but it's a sudden thing, and he's a completely different person now.

Is there any drug like cocain or anything that can have this effect on someone?

Oh and to answer some questions... lol :D

1. He's not a pikey or a skanger lol
    2. I am not smelly in the slightest lol haha! i smell like perfume and mints if u must know :p
    3.it's not from his feet lol it's all of him! :mad:

My fella = stinky poo head.

ok ok! i am officially the dumbest person in the world ever, i replied using his log in lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Miss Elmo wrote:
    ok ok! i am officially the dumbest person in the world ever, i replied using his log in lol
    I have altered your post to show who actually posted the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

tinkerbell is a genius

Why thank you! :D

To the original poster - yah if it's just a case of bad body hygiene, go with my suggestion! If tiz something more serious like someone suggested (a foot fungus), then go to a doctor :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Hang on, you're boyfriend uses boards. Does he know what your alias is? If he does you've half the battle won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

He's high on crack rock.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭gsand

gotta be his runners. A friend of mine used to stink out everywhere he went with his runners...that was until we formed a coalition and through them out the window. smells much better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Is he by any chance eating "smelly" foods? Curry, garlic, milk-based foods? Many foreigners complain that Irish people smell of stale milk.

Remember that many people are immune to their own smell because they are used to it.

What are his clothes / socks / shoes like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Maybe he just stinks...sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Maybe he's dead and he's decomposing? Check his pulse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

BaZmO* wrote:
    Maybe he's dead and he's decomposing? Check his pulse!

He could have contrated a strain of the t-virus, does he try and eat your flesh at all?

:):):):D:D:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

jonnybadd wrote:
    He could have contrated a strain of the t-virus, does he try and eat your flesh at all?

Oh no you don't, I'm already working on a rom-com where two people who hate eachother get turned into zombies, and their shared torment and agonising hunger for the warm sweet flesh of the living brings them closer and ultimately blossoms (or festers) into love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

He's not on one of those Low-Carb diets is he? Apparently they can cause very unpleasant body odours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Yeah, the ketones are pretty nasty alright..

I'd say it's more likely a change in diet than anything else. Has he been eating more meat/dairy products lately? They can cause a nasty all-over odour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

it might just be his clothes, not him.

i had a bit of a problem with the washing machine a while back, and everything was coming out really musty, but you couldn't really tell until you'd been wearing them for a while, and the warmth of my body would start the clothes off stinking.

bleach in the machine at 90 degrees soon fixed it, and then i changed to a lemony fresh washing powder and haven't looked back.

is it that kinda moldy smell?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Pet wrote:
    Yeah, the ketones are pretty nasty alright..

I'd say it's more likely a change in diet than anything else. Has he been eating more meat/dairy products lately? They can cause a nasty all-over odour.

Would just like to point out that Ketones are not necessarily an indication that the person is on a low carb diet- they can signify far more serious issues. A smell even akin to acetone can signify diabetic ketoacidosis.

If there is not an obvious answer to your query, get your b/f to ***GO TO A DOCTOR***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

If the oringal poster has not much knowledge of drugs and the various smells and doesnt smoke , he could be smoking hash and thats what she smells .

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭carbsy

Has he quit smoking recently? Thus making him constipated and we all know what that smells like! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ok, you said he showers.... This might sound crazy and I noticed myself doing it for a while, missing certain points around my body while showering, like the back of the neck, right down their and underneath, all crazy places, and they usually swet the most!!!

Also, do you smell onions off him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭keu

christmas is comming, but him lots of nice smelling toiletries. I like the lynx effect myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭unklefiction

Are his fingernails longer is he more sensetive to light if so its obvious that he has become a vampire one of the undead, don't tell me you have never seen the lost boys all based on reality you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

Maybe the romance is fading and you're just noticing it more because you not as bessotted as you were?
    Or maybe he reckons he's got his feet under the table and doesn't need to make the effort?
    I dunno I'm just throwing some mad ideas here!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

maybe he's got some sort of secret debt which he is paying off by powering his neighbourhood from a stationary bike and turbine

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Get him to post in this thread. That way 100 anonymous people can tell him he stinks and you don't have to hurt his feelings.