Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

De Match

• 01-09-1999 9:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭

Ok boyos post yer predictions here.
    Anyone else going up to it, heheh got stand tickets put me back £22 tho.
    I reckon Yugoslavia will have their work cut out for them, but we'll only win by a goal. Yugo played ****e against Croatia but have two key players back for this match in Stojkovic and Savicevic.
    "They're like an empty tin of pears, they give a very lack lustre performance" - Barry Murphy, World Cup 98. Yeah anyways I'l go for a 2-1 win to Ireland.
    Slan,
    jAH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Helv

We'll be lucky to get a draw I reckon. It will most likely be a dull nil all affair. Although with Keane and Quinn on form I have my doubts about the Yugoslav defence. So anyway, I'll go for 0-0.

Though, by my mathematics all Ireland should "hopefully" need is 2 draws and a win against Malta, and that might be good enough to see us through, to the play-offs probably. I really cant see us winning the group, although stranger things have happened. e.g Tony Cascarino being around for this long and still scoring goals for Nancy. He scored one at the weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

We could win by the odd goal, 1-0 hopefully. But why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why is McCarthy playing Staunton ???!?!!!!!??

Staunton hasnt played a game yet this season for Liverpool, and he's been appalling since he went back there from Villa last season. He's been complete muck evey time. And there's Steven Carr, great season last time out for Spurs, another very good start this season, and he doesnt get a game???!?!?

And Staunton was mostly responsible (along with that clod Gary Breen) for the goal we conceded in Belgrade, by standing and gawking at the ball while Mijatovic ran in to score. God forbid Staunton should tackle him or anything, still I suppose at his age his bones are probably a bit frail.

[This message has been edited by Castor Troy (edited 01-09-99).]

You are complaining about Gary Breen and I do agree that hes just a lanky bastid who can just get his boney leg in the way. But who else is there to play at centre-half? Well theres Phil Babb, no thanks and Paul Butler who looks promising enough, bu would you really want to put him in playing his first game for Ireland against players like Miatovic(dont know how to spell his name properly, the guy who plays with Real) et al. Not really. You need to throw him into a friendly or against Malta to see how he'd equip himself.
    I'm longing for the days when we had an impenitrable defence with Kevin Moran and Paul McGrath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Bloody Hell we won smile.gif

2 Nice goals, shame about the "soft" Yugoslav goal, Staunton played well up until that. Croatia here we come.

Gandalf.

Dont know how "soft" it was but it was a great finish and in the first half I had a feeling that Stankovic would score. He looked their most "useful" player through the game.But you have to admit, the Yugoslavs looked a bit unfit and lacked "match fitness" and they didnt seem like they were looking for the win.

Congrats to Robbie Keane and Mark Kennedy.

Good fu<king predction jArgHA btw. I wouldnt have thought it very likely but hey, it was a great win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

It was soft, Staunton did the exact same as he did in Belgrade: fu<k all.

But it was a great finish.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yeah good finish. Easy to blame Staunton. Ye've got to watch ye don't get caught up in the hype of criticising him. I wouldn't have played him but I understood Mick's reasons for playing him and don't see any need to jump on the "Staunton shouldn't have played" bandwagon. Besides we ****ing won!!! Staunton is crap but we ****ing Won!!! Woohoo!!!

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

It was a soft goal and it was a pity for Staunton because he played so well in the rest of the game. All Kennedy did that was right was the goal. The amount of crosses he fuked up was unbelieveable. If Irelands finishing was sharper we could have destroyed them smile.gif

Looks like Roy "Juventus" Keane is out for the Croatia game that could be critical.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

ear leave me cousin alone dayr Gandy. He's a left footyed player, and he is still workin on gettin his right foot in gear properly. He had a bad 20 min stretch in that game, but he has been playin mighty for city...scorin in all but one of their games. Give him a bit of time and he'll be grand. It's just with him not gettin his games with Liverpool that hje was playin crap for the last while...

www.csn.ul.ie/~osiris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

i see CT is a stauton fan.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Well, well ????
    I hear your applause. Fu<king hell what a game. I was there wuhoooo, one of the best damn performances I've seen Ireland give in the past few years, since Mick took over probably. Staunton had a decent game and it wasn't a soft goal I reckon, pure brilliance from the Yugoslavs with pinpoint crossing. Man that quietened the crowd for a while. I was thinking ar$e they're gonna get another now and we'll be out of contenetion for Euro 2000, but talk about a miracle. Keneddy's goal was something of pure beauty and the crowd's reaction ... everyone hugging eachother man I'm glad I was there.
    Seeing as my predictions are 100% so far I'll go for another one tomorrow. Bad feeling about this one, especially caus of our injured Man United players. I reckon Croatia will win by 2 goals to 1. Pessimisitic maybe ... u never know with the confidence Ireland have after last game we could surprise them though. Still, do not underestimate the importance of last Wednesday's game, it was a magnificent achievment and won't be repeated for quite some time...
    Slan,
    jArgHA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

your cousin osi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Well...me dads cousin....that makes him me second cousin

www.csn.ul.ie/~osiris