Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schooey news :\

• 23-08-1999 4:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭

They need him back. Dunno bout Salo, must be the most inconsistant driver I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

Michael Schumacher looks almost certain to return to Formula One racing in time for this weekend's Belgian Grand Prix.
    The German, who tested for Ferrari at Mugello last Friday, has hinted that if medical tests prove favourable, he will consider returning early.

'Over the next few days, I will see how I feel and after a further medical check, I will decide along with the team if I can make my comeback at Monza or earlier,' said Schumacher.

The double world champion appeared to be happy with his car during a day's testing at the Roman circuit last Friday.

'Almost straightaway I felt comfortable with the car, although it took me a short while to adapt to the change of balance of the car.

'I did around sixty laps without any problems. Over the bumps, my right leg hurt a bit, but it had no effect on my performance.'

Team boss Jean Todt confirmed Ferrari was considering putting Schumacher back in his car early.

'We will see how he [Schumacher] feels after this test and make a decision after a further medical examination.'

Ferrari has issued a statement claiming Schumacher's fastest lap was 1.28.379 - over two-tenths quicker than Irvine's best time.

If the German does make his comeback at Spa, it is almost certain to wreck Eddie Irvine's charge for the title.

Although Schumacher has remarked he will support Irvine, he is just 22 points behind Mika Hakkinen with five races to go.

As Ferrari's number one driver, he could still get the go-ahead from the Maranello-based team to pursue the championship himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

damn right.. Salo's inconsistent,
    that was his first time in a competitive car.
    he has always said hes quicker than hakkinen and schumacher.
    he failed to prove that, and he's probably not managed to get a drive for next year on his preformance so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

Looks like Schooey doesnt want to hurry in to support Eddie......

Mika Salo will drive for Ferrari in this weekend's Belgian Grand Prix, according to the Italian team.
    There was speculation the Finn, who finished second in the German GP, would vacate the seat to be replaced by Michael Schumacher.

Salo has been deputising for Schumacher following the German's crash in the British Grand Prix.

Schumacher is expected to return for the Italian race on September 12.

Spokesman for Ferrari, Claudio Berro, said, 'Eddie Irvine and Mika Salo will drive in the Belgian Grand Prix.

'Michael Schumacher will drive the following week at Monza during tests for the Italian GP.

'At the test he will carry out a race distance simulation as preparation for a possible participation in the Italian GP.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Eddie Rocket

Lads lets get real here, Irvine is SOOO outta his depth here, he cant hack the pressure as David Coltart showed us. Irvine cant win this, Mika ****ed all over him the last day. Schooey is the only hope of stopping the mercs winning.

As much as i wanna see an Irishman with, lets just take off the rose tented glasses for a sec, Eddie didnt win the last few races, Mika lost them.

Ed(die Ervine)

couldnt give a toss if irvine wins or not.
    I would just love ferrari to get the constructors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Oh look, surprise surprise...guess who won't be back for Monza smile.gifbiggrin.giftongue.gif
    Just goes to show...doctors really DO know more about injuries than drivers smile.gif
    I'd like to see Schuey do that test...jump off a 1 metre high wall and then hop on his broken leg....

www.csn.ul.ie/~osiris

and get out of the car in under 5 seconds.