Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intervarsity Calendar

• 29-11-2004 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭

OK, I think its about time we tryed to sort out IV dates for next year. Pat and the IAAA have requested that we submit our events to finalise a calendar and to avoid any IV/Hans Blix clashes in the future. So, can anybody answer these questions?

1> Are UCD hosting an IV on the 19th and 20th of February Aryzel or MicS?

2> Are GMIT hosting an IV on the same weekend as the nationals - 12th/13th March?

3> When if ever is the UL IV? I'm looking in your direction Renegade_Archer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

trig wrote:
    1> Are UCD hosting an IV on the 19th and 20th of February Aryzel or MicS?
    19th of February, Saturday as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Were thinking of holding one on the 19th of March. Not confirmed yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

So, the question is are GMIT having a shoot on the same weekend of the nationals. At least we won't have to worry bout double booking with Hans that weekend. We can always ask them at Maynooth.

If they are, and UL have theirs on the 19th, that means competitions on consecutive weekends. But with UCD on the 19th and assuming GMIT on the 12th, the only way to avoid IVs on consecutive weekends is to have ULs on the 2nd of April, the week after Easter. That'd be about the same date as last year.

Is that too late?
    Is it even possible for UL?

The reason why I push for those dates is a lot of the DIT team work weekends and I know from experience that its impossible to get two weekends off in a row. The same is probably true of a lot of the rest of your teams I'd imagine.
    Also, there's not a whole lot you can do with your form in a week, but two at least gives you a bit of room for improvement

Had a look at last time there was IVs on consecutive weekends (1st and 8th Dec 2001) and every team's score actually declined by 50 to 100 points. Can't be a good thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Also, keep in mind, British University Indoor Intervarsity is on 5th March, if they let us we might want to send a team to that.

And Carlow are on the 5th Feb.

Also remember i'll be calling team contacts on thursday and friday looking for the names and details of you team. Have them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

heh so is the GMIT date sorted then or what. I don't know about the rest of yis but i'm goin ta be in rome knockin back free drink in the embassy for that week. i loved the Galway weekend last year so i ma as well get disappointed now while i can still afford to drown me sorrows.

oh ye heh everybody muffins back on the aiwaves.

oh and mick (tall blondish odd kinda bloke for you that mightened know him) is the only other non engineer on our team so he won't be around either from the 11th to the 18th either. he'l be off chasing italien grounds keepers Knowin his taste in persons. so if anybody knows the dates could they pm me ot post if they get a chance.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 hotshot

Your calling me blond, yellow muffin!! It would be good if we could go galway, it is good craic. now that we have more this year, twould be a better weekend away. but we know your not going to revolve galway around 2 QS'S so, we just curios for final date when ye know yourselves. Thanks!

oh and sure while i got the nationals on me mind (jasus thats a weight) does any body have a date for the irish open in january....

i was thinkin of unleashing a team on the sunday event of the weekend.

You still spouting crap Blind man? At least your messages are legible these days. Welcome back. Noel was checkin with David O'Brian the other night and the sunday is all booked up. I think there's still space on saturday though. Its the 8th/9th of January
    You know its a team event rite? You need a team of three - how bout yourself mick or carl or quigo? Noel booked in myself and Keith so there'll at least 1 DIT team there.

Give Noel a shout and he'll book yous in.

For Irish Open, Sunday is team event with handicaps, and it's all booked up. But Saturday is individual, two rounds of 60 arrows with handicaps.

can someone book me in for the saturday then, or pm a contact number so i book myself in, thanks

Are UCD entering a team?
    Wouldn't mind a DIT vs UCD grudge match at the Irish open.

Btw, thanks to UCD for your offer re fridays, MicS. Won't be taking you up on it this week, but may do so at some stage. Dublin Archers is pretty handy for me. Plus you do train one of our new recruits!

Yes, UCD is entering a team event. At the moment, I have no idea who will be in a team, though.

i'd be free to shoot on the ucd team if ye want, i am a member after all. On a totally unrelated topic i shot 502 yesterday, even with a complete miss in the last round....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

well done aryzel. hopefully you'll get it on saturday too. I'll be lucky to get 500 again I'm not shooting great at the moment.

Seems like Maynooth are gonna be pretty competitive on saturday. Dermot's shootin well, Jerome's shooting well, you have that fella back from oz and Vicky's ready to break the 400. Not to mention the quality beginners coming through...
    Sounds like your plans to take over IV dominance are coming to fruition Aryzel.

I know what you mean span, I seem to be pickin up a strain injury in my neck from straining my head while drawing. I can shoot with it alright for a while but lasting 60 arrows is gonna be tough.

Who's goin to Dun Laoghaire on Sunday btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

me too

Well, at least theres a few of us going anyway. There's 3 of us from DIT heading too. Couldn't get madrab to go, he'll be too hung-over from saturday. What bout you Aryzel?

don't know, i think ucd people are staying in my place saturday night, also poker game will be going on, iso i'll probably be pretty hungover too. Also i think i'll need to get some work done on sunday. i'll decide sunday morning

I'll go as well