Garda corruption

• 03-12-2025 10:41PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/retired-superintendent-tells-trial-of-gardai-that-he-looked-after-hundreds-of-court-summonses-for-people-during-career/a160488397.html

Senior Gaurd confirms it is who you know not the crime you commit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭jsd1004

Im afraid our system is rotten from the top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭csirl

This is the tip of the iceberg. Happening everywhere. And its not just traffic offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I think we have known that for many years. If you read about the quashed points scandal, 1.5 million faked breath tests and framing Maurice McCabe, you will noticed that there were no real punishments given out. Zero accountability.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

No its all lies, sure there's safeguards to prevent corruption, there's the ombudsman, sure the guards are all afraid of the criminals. The guards are understaffed. There not all bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,747 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This is not a surprise but it's not limited to AGS either - the entire country operates on the principles of trying to "get away with" something and "ah shure it'll be grand!"

When you operate a society like that, it's no wonder that the politics, laws and enforcement of same has similarly lax attitiudes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭TerrieBootson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭csirl

To clarify, I meant that its not just traffic offenses where Gardai are doing favours for people - also occurs for more serious crimes.