Running on Roads in Phoenix Park

• 16-10-2025 08:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭

Hey,

Was running in the Phoenix Park today along Upper Glen Rd. in between two sets of removeable bollards which prevent traffic (other than I guess motorcycles, bicycles etc.) from entering. Here's the Google Maps link showing the stretch of road:

Now there is a footpath on the right as you move downhill; but I don't typically use it anymore because:

1. It's quite slanted in some areas which makes it difficult to run.
    2. Common to come across other runners, pedestrians and dog walkers using it which requires jumping down into the road anyway.
    3. Can be a bit of a drop to the right of the footpath if you did happen to stumble or take a spill.

Today I had someone on a bike shout at me to "get off the road" as I was running on the road. Now I don't recall my exact positioning; I was probably somewhere to the left of the centre line but I probably wasn't as far over to the left-hand side as possible. Certainly didn't feel like I would be impeding any cyclists in any case.

Now I understand that the rules of the road state that pedestrians should use a footpath when provided; but I also feel like this shouldn't apply to roads that are closed to vehicular through traffic? I do see there are park bye-laws about "being considerate to other users" so maybe there's an argument to be made for either side there too?

Just curious for anyone's thoughts as to what the laws or rules of the road might say; or in general what people would do in this kind of situation.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,449 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I'd be telling them to **** off tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I run that stretch a few times per week, sometimes on the footpath (which is fine imo and not especially slanty), and sometimes on the road. Usually I'll tuck in along one side or the other, would feel a bit strange to run down the middle of it. I've had cars and bikes come past me on it plenty of times so I pretty much treat it like any other road.

That being said, that cyclist sounds like a knob. It's not a bike lane, and unless you were unwittingly blocking some cycling race or swerved in front of him then it's hardly any of his business. (Assuming the cyclist was a guy here, because well…99% chance)

If I shout at anyone in those parts, it's the gormless idiots who stand <2m from the big herds of deer, even during rutting season, taking insta selfies and letting their little kids wander about. There's signs for a reason lads, you're too.fucken.close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Sandwell

Cyclist was being a gobshite. If you can't safely veer around an individual runner on that stretch of road you have no business riding a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

You're totally in the right here, don't doubt yourself, that cyclist was a pr1ck.

I run that road pretty much as you did very regularly. Our club has training sessions on that exact stretch regularly and we always run on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,744 ✭✭✭Trampas

I’m a helllo and good morning if I run by a pedestrian, runner or cyclist. Always amazes me the number of cyclists who blank you. Like they’re some sort of elitism of them because they’ve spent a small fortune on a bike and other fortune on gear while hopeless on a bike. And breathe.

I’d just tell where to go if someone said that to me