Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 01/08/25*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You support employers retaliating against their employees for speaking to the press?

I honestly think people aren’t being serious here.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

This misdirected anger at a school principal for having an opinion just goes to show the entrenched views held by some.

We now have posters support the removal of freedom of expression and cheerleading the idea that companies and government departments would retaliate against people whos views they disagree with and who dare speak publicly.

If there is any anger it should be at the Dept. of Justice and immigration bodies for the length of time it takes to process claims. But instead people are angry at a principal for expressing compassion for school children.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,096 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I could be wrong but I do not remember a principal or teacher coming out to speak on missing Kyran Durnin or when children of travellers are moved or not allowed attend or Mason Geraghty school stabbing etc.,

It is good to see Jim doing something

Minister for Justice Jim O’Callaghan told RTÉ’s News at One earlier this week that persons on the flight to Nigeria were served with a deportation order and did not comply with it so a “consequence” was needed.

“People need to know if they are served with a deportation order, it has meaning, and the meaning is that you are not entitled to stay in Ireland.

"If it is the case that you’re not permitted to stay — whether you have overstayed your work visa or haven’t been granted asylum — there must be a consequence.”

He added that Gardaí, Department of Justice staff and prison officers had carried out a “difficult and challenging job".

Principal says sudden deportation of two pupils felt like a death in Dublin school

The blame lies with the parents imho whom the principal does not come down on

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

Isn't this argument essentially a false equivalence fallacy?

The similarity being there are school children involved.

Other than what exactly do you mean by this post.

Are you arguing that because some incident that has now being escalated to a murder investigation, but was involving a school child. And in that case the principal of the school didn't speak about the event so this principal from a totally different school and totally different event cant speak publicly?

That seems an absurd suggestion to make.

I mean surely that is not what you arguing?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: This is getting ridiculous now, if you have serious concerns about the actions of the school principal I suggest you report these to The Teaching Council. This is completely derailing the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

In 2004, 80% of Irish people voted to close the anchor baby loophole. The subsequent drop in arrivals proved the obvious consequences of announcing to the world "you'll never be deported if you have a kid here" ( kind of like Roderic's multi-lingual "come get your gaff" tweets).

The Irish people do not want scammers to be allowed to remain just because they have children, nevertheless the State often grants "permission to remain" for this very reason.

Does that mean that in 1998 that 94% of Irish people voted to implement the anchor baby loophole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,412 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Again with the obvious. A loophole is an unintentional consequence or side-effect not originally planned for or expected.

Ergo, closing the loophole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

It means that the government couldn't give a shíte what the Irish people want.

I was using "anchor baby loophole" as a title for the change. Trying to use the common lingo of the thread.

This was the name made up for that referendum by the poster I replied too.

So I used the same terminology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,437 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Worth remembering that Labour said a few years ago that this referendum should be looked at again as they were not happy with it.

The left can't be trusted they need to be kept out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭aero2k

I agree, posters should back up their claims or withdraw them if they can't provide proof.

Worth remembering that all the current policies of immigration have been implemented under FF and FG governments.

That the last non FF FG minister for justice was Michael McDowell for the PDs. All the failures to sort the immigration system. That's all on them too.

Under their watchful eyes we have gone from being able to build 90k homes in 2006 to 30k built during a national housing shortage in 2025 if we are lucky.

But yeah the opposition parties on the left are the real problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭prunudo

Not doubting the numbers, but don't know how we managed to build 90k back then. There seems to be more sites being built today, certainly around this part of the country, yet we're barely a ⅓ of that figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,437 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Actually I remember when McDowell was Minister for Justice, he made no secret of the fact that most of the stories the AS were saying was BS but he was only one man in the government of the day and his hands were tied in what he could do.

I think you are under the mistaken impression that I'm a FFG supporter when the reality is I don't support any of them.

Martin is a woke leftist and much the same as McDowell was only one man in government 20 years ago I think O Callaghan would go a lot harder on immigration if he could.

We had Lab in government, we had the useless Greens in government, both from the left and they solved f all between them.

The SDs were offered a place in the new government after the 2020 election and refused.

I wish someone would tell that annoying little man Hearne that next time he is on the box.

So it's not as if the left were on the outside looking in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Read last night that there are more work permits issued per month than houses built. So the housing crisis is inevitably going to get worse. We really are a daft country.

https://x.com/danobrien20/status/1932076621063671831/photo/1

Michael "Martin is a woke leftist" 🤣

Is that the level of debate we are going for?

The last time labour was in government ended in February 2016 and even when they were in government FG held the justice portfolio. The green party never held the justice portfolio which is the relevant department for immigration matters.

If you want to talk about labours handling of other not relevant to this thread portfolios fine, but this isn't the right thread. Labour have not held the immigration portfolio (justice department) in Ireland since something like the 1950s.

You wont hear that on MSM though will you?

The SDs have never been part of government so trying to drag them into the blame for immigration policy decisions here is pure comical. Real look over there stuff.

Roderic O’Gorman was Minister for Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth so both himself and McEntee were over Immigration and imho both useless

Indeed. Integration comes after Immigration though and if the minister for justice has the wheels of the that process working well you are surely only integrating the succesful applicants.

And even if you don't accept the above the primary responsibility is the minster for justice. And the former minister for justice is still a member of cabinet while the former minister for children is not.

So again one is still more culpable than the other and always has been.

Or we could blame the SDs.

Yes I am surprised that Helen McEntee is the deputy Fine Gael leader and Minister for Education and Youth, she should imho hold no portfolio

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: One post and a reply deleted, there's a conspiracy theory forum if you wish to continue that discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭crusd

Comspiracy theories are for conspiracies not reaitity. Not permitted to talk about what is openly happening it appears for whatever reason

Mod - warned for breach of forum charter

RTE news : TD's property firm records €840k profit over two years

http://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0610/1517729-michael-healy-rae/

Healy Rae coining in the money, explains his stance on immigration over recent years. And while he wasn't in government, it does raise questions about conflict of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

IMG_7522.jpeg

More work permits granted every month than homes built. Actively feeding the demand that already outstrips supply.
    Not to mention most of these “homes” (to use the government’s careful sophistry) that are currently getting built are actually apartments with less capacity than houses

Unbelievably short sighted but unfortunately typical of this government’s modus operandi - they are utterly bereft of any foresight or long term thinking. Heads in the sand and fingers in their ears.

This is terrible as it seems like I am coming to the defence of TD and the minister for state of agriculture Michael Healy Rae.

Might need a shower after this post.

But what exactly is the conflict of interest that you see the junior minister for AG having here?

Our agriculture industry could not survive without workers from outside the EEA.

A major issue affecting the competitivity of Irish food producers is the recent increases in the minimum pay required under the GEP scheme.

With the minimum allowed pay under this scheme being 30k per year.

Any effort to remove this scheme and the workers would be met with huge uproar from Irish farming associations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Are these all agricultural workers?

Why do they have to be from outside the EEA?
    Have often heard of Bulgarians etc doing this kind of work - EU citizens.

So you can't see any possibly issue, having a politician who often votes with government policy, being inside the corridors of power, who could have knowledge on what is happening before normal members of the public, making almost €1m profit from a highly controversial policy.

Excellent question Stephen.

Why do they have to be from outside the EEA?

The answer is they don't have to be outside the EEA, but to due to issues accessing skilled workers that is where rural Ireland is turning to for agricultural workers.

In fact if they could find these workers from inside the EEA they could pay them the minimum wage instead of General Employment Permit(GEP) minimum of 30k (or 34k) per annum.

But Irish farming is heavily reliant on the GEP scheme. This is often one of the key reasons farming is struggling to remain profitable (Labor cost increases). A few years ago the GEP could be used with minimum wages applying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,435 ✭✭✭enricoh

I can't see the north being picked by too many Roma to set up shop in. Down here will be the only show in town for them.

Better get building paddy.