Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aquabox or similar

• 20-10-2024 8:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

lads
    currently doing a upstairs bathroom renovation and hot water cylinder is downstairs. Plumber reckons pressure not good enough for new rain shower. Anyone have any experience of Aquabox like systems. A lot of these pressure pumps seem to give trouble

Any other advice/suggestions appreciated

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

Aquabox might be overkill, you are getting into an unvented cylinder (or combi boiler) too.

What about a decent quality dual impeller shower pump located in your hot press? Any pump will have a lifespan but there really is no alternative.

A 3 bar Grundfos or Stuart Turner Monsoon should do the trick. You will then use a thermostatic bar mixer for the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Shaner82

yeah that was what we were going to do but hot press is in kitchen and lnot sure how loud they are. Also am probably going to change cylinder anyway as it is only 90 ish litre and non insulated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

Understand, there will be some noise from the pump.

Do you have a garage or outbuilding to put one of those power tanks in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭fael

I got one, the Aquabox 340L. Very happy with the install, plenty of pressure and flow in the house now.

When we bought our house we had good pressure from the mains. But they've been building lots of big estates here over the years without upgrading the water infrastructure so every year the mains pressure got worse until the showers basically stopped working.

I installed it myself, was easy enough because the mains was already rerouted into the garage to accommodate a softener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Shaner82

it’s very old town house on side o Main Street. Water comes in through wall of house. Not really practical to bring it outside the back with piping etc. if we go ahead it will be in attic. It’s not much more expensive than a good negative pressure pump for the unit itself and it negates any real changing of pipes so just wondering would ye recommend v just pump on its own