Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance issue

• 18-09-2024 3:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

A son of my Brother, my nephew was involved in the following incident in a hospital car park.

He is sure he is right and the other driver is liable but I don't know as I wasn't there so I'm writing this based on his side and have no reason to doubt it.

There was an accident with small damage done to both drivers sides to the cars. My nephew holds the other Man liable and the driver denies liability at the scene. They both exchange details and take photos. Security writes down details of the accident. The CCTV is questionable as others had cars damaged before in the car park and were told no CCTV available. When my nephew got out of his car, the other driver at first was very accommodating to let the matter go. It appeared to my nephew that the driver might not be insured. The Gardai were called but never came so both exchanged details and left.

This was nearly 3 months ago and my nephew only heard from his insurance company this week. He has heard nothing from the other Man's insurance company as of yet. My nephew reported the accident to his insurance straight away. He has a feeling this is going to be very hard to sort out so is thinking he's car is old enough with small damage. Is he entitled to deny liability with his own insurance company and do the repairs himself and Still reserve the option to pursue matters if the other party comes after him because he holds them liable?

With the guards not attending he thinks and I agree that it may not even be logged.

Any input appreciated greatly. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

What input are you looking for? You don't remotely say what happened. From either side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,989 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

OP wants to know if his nephew can handle the matter himself, making no claim on his insurance policy for the damage to his car and simply paying for repairs himself, unless and until the other driver makes a claim, at which point the nephew wants his insurer to take over defending the claim.

OP is not asking whether a claim against his nephew would succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

You don't have to claim for your own damage. You have complied with your policy conditions by notifying your insurer of the incident. As a result, your insurers will take control of any claim made against you, at whatever point that arises. If you have proceded with your own repairs, you cannot then claim for your own costs at that later