Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meal bin recommendations

• 26-07-2024 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭

Hi lads, seriously considering getting a meal bin, sick of bags and we put bulk into a dry house that used to be rat proof but not anymore.

Doing calf to beef so will have two types of ration or nut, so probably need a split bin, any recommendations, would roughly have 30-40 weanings and the same finishing. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Mcaree bins are a good bin I’ve one here I bought second hand about ten years ago and it was a fair age then. I’ll be replacing in the next year or two and will more than likely get another one. I was also impressed with Condon’s square type bin recently when I was in their yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I bought a tipsy bin this year and love it ! Smaller scale than many of you lads/ladies but it suits me , michael is a gentleman to deal with and as described is far easier to get last few scoops than equivalent Jfc product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭limo_100

How many kg's does the tipsy bin hold? jfc is 750 I don't find any issue getting the last meal out of it. just turn it on its side it all falls down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭893bet

yeah around 700-ration.

And no it’s not easier get the last bit out. Watch any of the promo videos and it’s all ready tilted wink wink. To get the meal on this position you would have to go to the back of the bin and pick the bin up and shake it to get all the meal into that position so the same as you have to do with the jvc.

But it’s a fine bin and recommend to support a local small business. But the “usp” is bullshit IMO.

The JFC bins now are nearly 400 euro - I bought them for 300 at the time. There just handy for tidy storage in fairness the the bottom comes up them very fast I find 😂 but they are very handy I find if feeding a batch of stores at grass just bring the bin up to the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am fairly sure there is a grant for them. I have a split bit and it quite high if anything goes wrong with the upper bin. I be inclined to buy two standard bins. Not sure if you can get the grant for two separate bins but if you can that is the way I would go.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

I have a few meal bins, one is a tipsy bin, to be honest dont really use the tipsy function at all. Having a bin that is not too high and has a good wide cover is a must. If the base of the bin is flat with no corragations is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

I have a jfc and works fine but I buy 70 bags delivered so have 40 bags left out as jfc takes 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Naillers

I checked with Dept to see if the mobile meal bins like the JFC meal bin are covered under TAMS 3.... The only meal bins grant-aided under TAMS3 are fixed meal bins so the mobile bins are not covered.

Tirlan are advertising them as Tams approved so I called them asking if they were sure they are covered ..they were not sure... Expect to see their website updated shortly....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I'm sick of drawing meal in a sack and car trailer. I fatten around 70 every year. I was going to get a grain trailer with cover but have now opted to go for a meal bin. What are my best options? I was thinking of a 10-12 ton meal bin with the enclosed bottom. Just going for the bigger one as only doing it once. I know of one lad who has an auger out of his feeding a hopper bin for ad-lib feeding. I also have a tight 15 foot gate at the entrance but a 28 foot bale trailer can get in.

How much will I have to spend and what is the best. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭older by the day

Well if you were fattening 70, and drawing meal with a sack and car trailer, it might be another type of help you need. Anything would be an upgrade.

Does a lorry come in to the yard to deliver fert, or take cattle to the factory. Or brought slats or concrete, if so a lorry with nuts will be able,

Ring the advisor about a tams grant as it might save some money. Its fine to buy second hand but shifting it and starting it might be a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I sold my mc aree 16ton meal bin for just over 1k. Was plenty of life left in it. About 15 years old galvanised

I buy my fertilizer spread so that comes in the Bredal. The cattle lorry is no problem. I want to know if the bin comes in the one piece on a 40 foot or in sections. An artic might find it very tight.

I do need my head examined. I used to get it tipped in the shed but every crow in the country invaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I have an 11-12 ton split bin. If I had .y way again would have two 6 ton single bins. Finishing 70 cattle you should have had a bin years ago even if mostly grass finishing. You need to be emptying a in every 4-6 weeks ideally if buying rations. As well every bin gets blocked now and again. I have to get a hoist to unblock mine as its 25' high and even with that it's a pig of a job to unblock.

Slava Ukrainii

Jesus that sounds like good value what did you replace it with? I may put a bin up myself down the line a good second hand one seems like value

I got a cooney one for new parlour. Mc aree one way better. 2 view holes in it. Only 1 in new one. New one not galvanised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Most miller's would have a rigid lorry so should be no problem once they can turn inside. Buy something you can empty from the bottom of the cone. With a shoot coming out that you can full a tipsy bin or bucket of tractor if your drawing meal in future.

TThe Lad came here last year with a jeep and a tipping flat trailer behind it. He just tipped up the trailer and bolted the bin down into the concrete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

bought a spirofeed back in 2010 i think, the rust is coming out on the lower part now in a good few spots but still holding grand, the cost to replace the bottom part now is the same as the total cost of the bin back then :(

I wonder could you use stokboard to replace as opposed to tin sheeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ironmike3

Two condon meal bins here 5.5 tonnes can be filled with loader or blown in,, empty into loader bucket or auger bucket very handie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I like those bins, have you got it long? Any problem with dampness

Are Condon ok with ration?

can you put ration into the high round bins or will it stick? Condon seem to be common

Ye no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

Any feedback on spirofeed? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have one near the sea here with 20 years and still same as new