Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go It Alone & Compliance

Options
  • 27-04-2024 8:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 1

Morning all, Newbie Here!

We secured PP for a a lot of work to our house. New roof, attic, rear extension etc.

Due to funds and family requirements, we had to and could only get on with half of the project. So we did the roof and attic. Part 1 if you want to call it that.

Our architect issued Commencement Notice and we paid the Development Contributions for the FULL project. DCC were not set up to split this on a domestic project. Anyway, it got built and our architect issued a Compliance for the works done. But noting that the works are 50% complete, so partial compliance.

Anyway, we want to get on with the remainder of the project. Part 2. He has now reissued his fee, which in effect is for the second half as if it was a standalone project again. So we are paying now twice. He's entitled to this. I fully agree. It was us that decided to press ahead with the first half, but the fees are a big number, in total and will amount to 17% of the total project cost. We need every euro to work for us.

I have a lot of connections and friends in the construction sector, who will help with doing some tender drawings, BOQ, structure design and oversight, detail design etc. And we feel we know enough and are clued in enough to deal with the builder directly.

However, what we can't do is tie off the Compliances at the end. I can photographically record the build before closing up and get certs and insurances from the builder and his subbies.