Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retirement - Things you should do even if you don’t feel like it

• 14-03-2024 1:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭

Would be grateful for other people’s views on this.

I retired about 2 years ago after working 40 years. I’m in my early 60s.

I understand the usual stuff about health and exercise and have made that a priority. I’m a bit fitter than I was on retirement.

However, I have an overall sense of weariness. I never really liked my job and was happy to leave. I’m dabbling in self employment and while I recognise the relevance of this to keeping the mind active, I’m finding it hard to stay motivated.

Given the choice, I’d watch Netflix all day but I know I’d just go to mush.

Would be grateful to hear from others who have felt similarly in terms of how they’ve overcome these feelings.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I can't speak on retirement as that is a way off but I did take time out of work a few times to see what it was like doing something other than my accidental profession. Motivation is always an issue when doing things on your own and it can make small issues be permanent issues you never resolve. Being part of a group is good for the mental health and drive. I did join the local men's shed which wasn't great for me because most were retired which might be a good fit for you.

Having a dog can be very good for forcing you to go out and interact with the world.

You have many years ahead of you and can learn a skill you always wanted or just do something for fun like drawing

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

"I've been in my body for so long child - it makes my shoulders sore" - Van Morrison

“Don't try to add more years to your life. Better add more life to your years.” — Blaise Pascal

I guess the obvious answer is to find out your "why" and what your motivation actually is. If you are dabbling in Self Employment just for the sake of it or just to keep you away from Netflix then your motivation could likely be low due to that. Does that employment actually give you a sense of meaning or purpose? If not why do it? What else might give you a sense of meaning or purpose?

What that is for you only you can discover. Maybe turning to mush in front of Netflix IS your best you. Sure why not? :)

For my father for example after retirement the best thing he did was acquire a vegetable patch in the allotments in St Annes and get himself a pair of dogs.

For a retiree in my Jujitsu school where I teach - he found purpose and meaning in taking up Jujitsu with the goal of competing. He was not even that concerned about winning or getting a podium place. He just wanted to get out there and compete and have his grand kids in the audience cheering him on.

Another retiree I know decided to go to Japan and teach English as a foreign language there.

And yet another I know went on those sites where people look for help and labour and DIY and stuff. I can find those sites for you if you do not know any. Theres three or four very popular ones. But basically he spent his twilight years going around first Ireland and then many parts of the world exchanging his skills and willingness to work for food and board. Spending a week here building a shed and a week there painting a house and a week somewhere else helping labour on a farm and much more.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,676 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Voluntary work for whatever organisation takes your fancy.

Maybe learn a language or a musical instrument.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,993 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know a few guys who took a work payoff recently and were a couple of years off retirement anyway.

Chatting to them since, I get the impression they now have too much time and not enough to do. They are bored.

I think we all say we can't wait until we retire. But I could see how it could be boring. Our work often defines us. It is often the place where we have our social life, where are friends are. To just walk away from that some Friday afternoon and do very little isn't all its cracked up to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,394 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There are very few excuses to be bored in retirement (If you are in good health).

-Plenty organisations out there looking for volunteers on the "front end" and in administration.

-Plenty free/low cost courses to do, I know a few who went back into full time education.

-Plenty activities to have a good at.

The amount of options obviously down to health and location.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,492 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

1. Take up golf - great craic and social too.
    2. Join a club - help your community - Lions Clubs seem to be doing great community work.
    3. Do a night course - languages, servicing your own car, computers etc.
    4. Volunteer in an animal sanctuary.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I, and a few friends, all took early retirement. None of us are bored. Far from it in fact. All say how we wondered how we found time to work. Work had been very important in our lives and was our main source of social interaction but in retirement there is the luxury of enjoying hobbies, having time to do any voluntary work you wish, exercise more and spend time with family.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,365 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Dont stay in bed past 9am execpt for the weekend, listen to the radio or music till 5pm then turn on the TV netflix, join a gym in a hotel one with a nice pool and sauna great deals for off peak use, go a few times a week, swim use the sauna, then have a coffee and read the paper, go to the credit union and similar in person don't do everything online.

Make the weekend different than during the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭Ted222

Many thanks for all the replies.

I guess it’s not a boredom/fill the day problem. It’s more a state of mind/lost my mojo issue.

My wife is still working (from home) so it might be a bit of guilt looking at her beavering away.

Financially, we’re pretty comfortable but we could always use a bit more so there might be a bit of guilt there too. But having worked for over 40 years since doing the leaving, I just feel “done” with having a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

I took a number of months out from work last year and found that I was never bored -other than when the weather was bad. I am lucky that I am really into golf and am a member of a local course.

My Dad advised me that it is very easy to simply not get things done - painting/gardening, etc. when you have all the time in the world to do it. I took this on board and always tried to "get up off my hole" and go do it.

I always got up early and tried to never turn the TV on until after dinner time

Post edited by BraveDonut on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,118 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I volunteered driving people for hospice/hospital appointments. Very rewarding. One day a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭mailforkev

You’re spot on with keeping active.

I look at my parents (10-15 years older than you, you’re still young!) and their peers versus some other family members of similar age, and the active ones might as well be 10 years younger. Be that walking, golf, volunteering, holidaying, etc.

Bit of light weight training keeps the bones and muscles in good nick too.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭esker72

Lots of things to be doing - some ideas that I have in mind for when I get there are

• Golf if still able for it - nice relaxed round followed by grub is practically the whole day
    • Swimming Pool/Gym - see lots of retired lads in my local pool and gym with various levels of activity but I mostly get the feeling that they are there for the social aspect of it. Even a walk on a treadmill followed by a jump in the pool then sauna/steam room and shower could occupy a good half day.
    • Volunteering - easy way to give back to community and keep a good social life
    • Free Travel - I was listening to a guy talking about how he takes advantage of free travel. He can get up in the morning and head off on the train to Belfast or Galway etc, potter around for a couple of hours, have a bit of lunch and head back. Sounded like a great idea and one that never occurred to me.
    • Lastly if I'm financially able I'd love to be in a position to head away once every four to six weeks and see somewhere new, especially over the winter months. There's lots of places you don't get to see in the nearly 50 years from school to retirement

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cbreeze

I retired a few years ago after working for 46 years. I enjoyed most of my jobs but I knew the end would come. I booked a holiday and put a gap between me and the world of work. I went for a walk around the local area and looked into a few coffee shops, packed with retirees. Free travel from sixty six gives me the right to roam around all of ireland with the DSP card and the Northern Ireland Senior Smart Pass. You can use both on local ferries and commercial buses with public service obligations can oblige, ie, Matthews, aercoach, wexford bus etc.

I haven't watched daytime television.

I feel sorry for those who are still forced to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Get a camper or caravan, head for the continent and don’t come back until Christmas.

My own folks retired about 15 years ago and just sat around the house all day. It was like they were afraid to be out during the day, like they be mitching or something! Just institutionalised from decades of work. Daylight is for work, evenings were their time.

Took the same holidays they took when working. They didn’t and aren’t enjoying their freedom.

Get out and enjoy your time!

Cui bono?

Thanks for all the replies.

I think I need to challenge myself with activities that would almost force me to interact with others. It’s not something I tend to initiate myself but I enjoy chatting with strangers when they talk first.

I like the idea of golf but would find joining a club a bit daunting on my own.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Joining a golf club should not be as daunting as you think. Most have online timesheets where you can just join in with others in the weekly competitions. Most are very welcoming of new players and all clubs have all levels of ability.

Get out to a driving range or get a couple of lessons to get you started - pick up a cheap set on adverts.ie . Its a great way of getting to know people in the community and making friends

• Registered Users Posts: 6,809 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Travel as much as you can. Keep a bag packed and be ready to go at short notice when cheap flights are available.

Open water swimming, this is now very popular and very sociable.

Volunteer one or two mornings a week.

Learn a language, take up cooking or baking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Just forcing yourself to get out and meet people is quite rewarding. Not quite the same, but when I was laid off from work in the recession I had two years without work. I got into homebrewing beer, and it was perfect for me. One reasons was because it filled a few days every month doing something that felt like an accomplishment. But also because as I was short of cash I got to invite friends around to mine to sample the beer and we ended up with some great and cheap nights. I ended up joining a brew club and made a load of new friends, got invited to tonnes of events and even travelled to other countries to go to brewing competitions.

I’m not saying that brewing is the answer for you, but find something that gives you a goal, keeps you occupied when you are by yourself but also opens up opportunities to socialise.

All great suggestions. Many thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭bullpost

That’s very illuminating. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Baba Yaga

your man in the video above hits it perfect...be in that boat in about 18months,cant wait!! photography has always been a hobby of mine,myself and herself have been in a walking group for a year or two already,shes a few years younger then me so have already planned when i stop working ill drive her into work,then with my newly aquirred free travel pass get a bus/train to somewhere,bit of exploring/wandering/lunching/pitcher taking and head back in time to bring her home from work,lots of places in Ireland to explore like that so should stay interesting! for sure i wont be watching alot of telly..

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?