Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentines, eh?

• 14-02-2024 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭506972617465

Valentines. Hearts everywhere, guys with flowers. Here I am, lonely, waiting for the divorce papers, having a sip of rum I brought with me from the Canaries last year. Posting on boards. Couldn't get more pathetic. And in fairness? Screw it all. There's a whole world out there. Screwed by phones and social media, let's be honest, but it is there. I will return from the depths. One day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I like your positivity. Truly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Mmmmmmm, rum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Chin up OP. Life can only get better. I'm divorced myself. I do like the irony of using social media to say social media screwed the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I think its very sad that people describe themselves as pathetic just because they are single. The very solid fact that many,many couples are extremely unhappy and in the depths of despair is lost on most people..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I thought the pathetic comment was meant for the boards posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Ah, Valensh*tes day. I was in Tesco last night and there were a number of saps in there buying roses, no doubt some last minute effort to avoid being "put in the doghouse" by their "better half".

Valentines is the ultimate Hallmark Holiday with tens if not hundreds of millions handed over to businesses and corporations with men paying the bulk of it.

And today, there will certainly have been some simps getting down on one knee in crowded overpriced restaurants and producing a ring that cost them x percentage of their salary as deemed appropriate by the human herd. If these men do get married, they have started the process from a position of subservience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

But it is good to see their money being circulated in the local economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Is it a decent rum? Or some of the local Arehucas? Not to denigrate Arehucas, their Oro is quite a nice tipple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I love how varied people’s opinions of Valentine’s Day are. It’s such a divisive event in the calendar. Most of the others are let come and go. Easter is a nice one. Nobody minds Easter. Even Christmas gets away with it every year.

I think it if it came with a bank holiday people would get on board. Would definitely be a step forward in our plan to have so many bank holidays we’re all effectively on a four day week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Its all being circulated up to some head honcho in a suit looking out over some big city from a sky scraper and next year the entire business will be run entirely by robots and AI and yerman will be sunning himself on the beach for the rest of his days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Christmas doesnt get away with it

The songs are on too soon

The sales are on too soon

Its all gone commercial

Christmas offends other religions

Too expensive

Bad for the environment

Christmas jumpers are awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

It gets given out about. But not many actively practice non-participation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Eldudeson

Tell us more about this rum!

Was it a local brand or something picked up in the duty free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I got this valentines message yesterday (2 days late) from my Samsung washing machine. I had to decline, because I'm already married, but it's good to know I have options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭506972617465

Haha! The AI is already taking over.

I got so much bad news that I didn't know what to do with all of them. Fecking February. I always hated that month, now even more than ever. It seems so simple, like all I'd need is a soul to listen and to give me a hug and there's no chance of that.

Anyway, I'm gonna quit whining. Thanks guys, especially you, who tried to cheer me up. Thanks! I'll drink one for you!

I got it in a local shop in Corralejo. Sadly, the bottle has already landed in the bank. It was a honey rum, the kind they usually pour after a dinner. Nothing too special, but not a total crap either.

I know that honey rum Ron y Miel. You will have to plan another Canary island trip… how about the much lesser known El Hierro, a lot of walking to be done, and the local wine is nice!

Ah here Paulie, I don't think boards are a typical "social media" thing. Let's look at some facts (as in: "my uneducated opinion"). "Social media" in my understanding is an online community where creativity is brought down to the absolute minimum and also filled with ads to the point where it's hard to distinguish what is what. 90% of real posts is just "sharing" dumb stuff closely followed by pictograms that are supposedly "expressions of emotions". Here, as you can see, a person has to actually articulate a few sentences and create a train of thought or at least describe what they believe, feel or think. Your typical social media is mostly "tits & arse" on a young girl and a lot of emoticons. Check levels of whoring on Instagram, TikTok... I actually believe it can't get any sadder/dumber, but given humanity's track record on disappointing me and breaking even more levels of stupidity it may still surprise me.

So no, I don't believe calling boards "social media" is fair, not at all. You are welcome to disagre with me.

I've never been there. Did a lot of walking in Java, climbed Ijen, Merapi. Yeah, I like it. Might try El Hierro, too.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

No I agree with you my SM comment probably came across as a bit flipppant. To be serious OP this thread really belongs in the personal issues forum the replies will be a lot more understanding there. I wasn't being flippant about being divorced it's different for everyone and I can only speak for myself but I'm in a good place now 7 years later.

Nah, don't worry about it. You're not being/come across as flippant. I just used this opportunity to rant a bit about "social" media.

7 years is a long time. I hope you turned your life around to be what you want it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Alexus25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Tork

Broadly Christmas and Easter are all-inclusive affairs. They can be celebrated and enjoyed by people of all ages and all sorts of circumstances. Valentine's Day, on the other hand, is for a particular cohort of people—those who are in relationships. Single people need not apply. It's grand if you're single and happy with that. But what if you're feeling a bit lonely or you've been widowed or you're still hurting from a break-up. The flowers and the chocolates and all the coupley stuff are not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You sound quite a bit bitter.

Chin up, maybe next year you'll get a card.