Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time cabinet build

Options
  • 23-01-2024 6:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi,

I'm looking to build my first arcade cabinet and I'm looking for some start off dos and don'ts. I've no experience in this so I'm looking for the right (best?) approach re the emulator, screen, wiring side of it. Not overly fussed on the actual cabinet as I'll make something work there. It's more the tech side of it (what boards, emulators, screen etc. etc.) For what it's worth, the game I'm aiming for is Wonder Boy (in case that makes a difference).

Any advice on where to start would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

Best Answers

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Inviere

This is going to be obviously full of personal choice, but given this is a bit of an enthusiasts forum, there's a few things many of us would agree on im sure.

There's tons and tons of examples of badly put together cabinets, all with common mistakes.

1) If you have to use a modern 16:9 display instead of a 4:3 CRT display, don't set it to stretch the display out fully. Set it for 4:3 mode, at least the game running won't be stretched then.

2) Don't go with the usual obnoxious aircraft carrier style control panel filled with sticks, buttons, rollers, pinball flippers, you name it. Realistically, you only need two joysticks, 6 buttons each, a start button and a coin button each too. Less is definitely more here.