Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24 v stats

Options
  • 09-01-2024 9:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

Hi all , First post here I’m an electrical apprentice , I’m wondering how do 24 volt stats work in a house that’s 230volt . Is it dry contacts in the stat that allows it to get 24v from a 230v supply I’m a bit confused about it . Thanks

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,546 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Yes, assuming it is a simple mechanical type of stat with dry contacts. Think of a stat as a switch.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭10-10-20

There's going to be a power supply there too to supply the coils. Presume it comes off the boiler in that regards?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 lucas finn

Thanks I’m afraid to say I’m a 4th year but still have a lot to learn it’s hard to get explanations on site as everything is just get it done attitude with not much information given, I did hear before someone saying think of everything as a switch , I’ve wired a lot of boilers Gas/combi type and had got my head around them , it’s just with the heat pumps and underfloor heating I get a bit lost .

Thanks for your reply , when you say a supply there a switch live from boiler or a permanent feed do you mean ? Does the stat call for heat and switch the boiler or heat pump etc.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,546 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011