Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fool Me Once [Netflix]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Watched it all with girlfriend

Atrocious acting across the board

Bad, bad show and worrying how well it’s doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭Deeec

I watched it aswell and agree acting was poor. The ending was ridiculous - it made the whole thing pointless.

The best thing about it was looking at their nice big houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Photobox

Very convoluted and ham acting across the board, Sami was the only character worth watching but the rest! wouldn't recommend, pretty awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Watched Harlan Cobens Shelter and swore to never again watch one of his adaptations.

It was brutal. Sounds like that is a good call if this is shite too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,296 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It seems to have been made in the UK for a US audience.

No one in the UK has that kind of gun store in their basement. No one in the UK talks about 'DUI' when they mean drunk driving. No one in the UK police force talks about their boss as 'Captain'.

Michelle Keegan looked well as always, but the story line was so convoluted, it just didn't add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭CuriosityKilledtheCat

Enjoyed a lot of Harlan Coben books but I have to say the TV adaptions do not float my boat. I didn't even get to the end of episode one of this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It's a hit in viewing figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭adelcrowsmel

Really disappointed with this, was expecting more and the ending really didn't work at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭SimpleDimple

Total scutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

Had heard people say it was good, watched until halfway through episode 3 and just didn’t care about any of them, couldn’t focus on it, it was so utterly ridiculous and yet also boring. Googled the ending and glad I didn’t bother sticking with it 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭This is it

Just finished the first episode. I'll watch the rest, the other half wants to, but it is awful. The acting is terrible, the dialogue is worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭paulbok

The non-stop dramatic soundtrack got annoying really fast as well.

On top of the poor acting, convoluted story and daft ending.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

terrible terrible waste of time.

what starts of as slightly intriguing completely falls apart in the final episode

and the acting is beyond wooden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Up to ep 6. Really struggling. It’s to show to rest get going and when it does it’s just not that interesting. I really don’t care about any of them. The plot is scuffed and not focused enough. It’s quite ridiculous actually. Usually I like these Corben shows but this is just bad. I’ll stick with it till the end but just to see if there’s any payoff. I’m not hopeful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

I don't think this was as bad as most on here are saying, but it wasn't exactly fantastic either. Overall I'd say it was fine. Perfect to watch in the first couple of weeks in the New Year if there isn't much else on, but not something I'd ever consider re-watching. 6/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,028 ✭✭✭✭klose

Was hooked for the 1st 5 episodes, last 3 felt a bit of a slog and it got annoying if anything. Those same couple of PTSD war flashbacks were used way too much, the step brother storyline, what was that about? The twists and guessing kept me interested by and large. Decent watch, I’ve seen worse. The police officer Sami was definitely the highlight, his partner he gets strapped with a few episodes in, an annoying lowlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

It was absolutely dreadful, gave up after the 2nd episode thankfully. Netflix own content is so poor apart from its documentaries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Just watched the first episode. Absolutely dire acting. My 4 year old niece could act better than any of them. Will stick with. It's better than that other rubbish show I started called "Echo" what a dissapointment that show is.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

That was terrible but grand "in the background" fare.

Good god! That ending was just forking stupid! What an utter kick in the nads for anyone sticking with this from the start. Honesty just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse it did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Norrie Rugger Head

The entire thing was fecking terrible. Other half wanted to finish it.

Thank fork it was a short series (felt so so long though)

They're eating the DOGS!!!

Donald Trump 2024

Yeah I’m actually very surprised they got 8 episodes out of that. It’s probably telling that Ep 8 was only 33 minutes. They could have wrapped this all up in 4-5 episodes and had a much stronger series because things wouldn’t have gotten stretched out to stupid lengths. Mind you I say much stronger but that it would still have been crap, just less of a time waster.

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,421 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Absolute crap.

So much pointless filler, the half brother storyline what was the point of that?

A double murder and the cops were beyond useless.

Would of been stronger with 6 episodes, Sami was pretty good actor, the rest? Makes Reacher look good.

I should of known when I saw Emmet Scanlan appear to turn it off, he is the worst actor out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,021 ✭✭✭archfi

Really crap stuff on Netflix the past few years and a lot of them seem to have either Harlan Coben's name or Ryan Murphy's on them.

Some money being pissed away.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,421 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Bar the true crime and docs, they are producing absolute pony. I'm struggling to think of a good movie they made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Harlen is making a goddam fortune over the last few years with deals signed with Sky, Netflix and Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

Just finished this and it was pretty poor. Overly convoluted and unsatisfactory endings to most of the side plots.

What was the deal with Shane - he broke into her house more than once and put a tracker on her car but to what end? I thought it was gonna come out that he was on the Burketts payroll but it went nowhere

The bit at the end where it went 18 years into the future was another pure and utter waste of time and added nothing to the story

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Just finished it. So terrible. It made no sense. At least 2 side plots not resolved. Fool me once, Harlan Corben, never again.

Genealogy Forum Mod