Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would Doireann, Lottie, Donnacha et al Have To Get Real Jobs If 2FM Was Axed

• 15-11-2023 3:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭

With talk of RTE shelving many of the digital services relatively soon it occurred to me that 2FM seems to have a lot of overhead in terms of seemingly being there solely to provide jobs for some who would be better off being escorted off the premises and forced to make a living in the real world. Some of them seem to also think it’s not only there to give them a job but to also be their personal tool to promote their own personal PR businesses. I’m looking at you Lottie and Doireann in particular.

Id imagine if KB had made the bold decision to axe 2FM it would be squeaky bum time for a lot of the on air roster as off the top of my bread I don’t see very many other stations backing their schedules around so many social media people as 2FM seem to. I know Moncrief started out as a comedian but he had decent chops as a presenter and didn’t ever seem to need a babysitter to help him along in the early days.

Perhaps I’m wrong and I’m not listening to the bigger Dublin stations these days but 2FM seems unique in having so many hangers on in its schedule.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I could see Doireann getting more work in tv and focusing on her podcast. Donnacha could go back to commentating on sports and maybe move to OTB.

I think Carl Mullan may have experience in producing or production work so he would find somewhere to take him in some capacity.

Tracey Clifford may be able to pick up work at Today FM but for the rest on weekdays and weekends I can’t think of a place where they could pick up on-air work

• Registered Users Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Clifford is fine and would pick up work elsewhere, her show is fine - music mainly which is fine.

every show for Doireann has been dropped or shipped out to RTE player, e.g. Podge and Rodge, Doireean Project, Republic of Telly, i think the chances fot rte making her relevant (like Amy Huberman has been thankfully calmed down from being forced on the Irish Public) is closing unless RTE wants to do a Irish Kardashian knock off with her equally talentless sisters (sorry if i give RTE an idea)

Agreed on Donnacha, maybe a rugby pundit and Carl back to youtube with his lame impressions. i cant see anyone picking up him, Loddy Ryan either or Jen Zamperelli (unless plans for a middle age mother talking about sex show is what RTE are looking for) and the women on the weekend Roz. Emma and Laura Fox are interchangable d4 type obsessed with tik tok/celeb nonsense gorls - would there be much demand for all of them

• Registered Users Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Don't you know that Lottie Ryan's dad died and therefore RTE owe her a career for life?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,942 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Donnacha had 20 years playing top level professional rugby.  Accomplished multiples of the people wondering if he would have to 'get a real job now'

FFS

Get the vibe her gravy train is coming to an end After the dramatics of the summer

Think Laura Fox is going to be safe for a while as she's going to get the ramming down our throat by RTE by putting her on Dancing with the "Stars". She's going to get the win like the camp lad on the breakfast and Loddy Ryan did and Doireaann and Zampers hositing it ....isnt it a conflict of interest like they rammed voting for Loddie and Mullan down our throats on the show and after all the shinanagans with Doireann etc, they'd look elsewhere

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭bureau2009

I don't believe 2fm will be axed - but it should be.

It's the best resourced music station in the country with the longest history - but you'd never think so to listen to it.

There are people - senior management, producers and presenters- in cosy, lucrative jobs there and to whom the JLNRs mean absolutely nothing. There is a dysfunctional culture in RTE and I don't see that changing anytime soon, despite all that we've heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

That Doireann Garrihy etc programme on 2FM is woeful ... the most stupid thing I ever heard ... if I was managing RTE I'd be getting rid of all that drivel ... these people clearly would not be able to do anything else it seems ... if they could they'd do it .... this Doireann is only famous because her sister was famous any ways ....

That Dancing With The Stars yoke needs to be axed too .... I thought the one from the start of the Covid was meant to have been the last .... that is what they were saying in the lead up to it IIRC .... why then is this dead horse still being flogged ?? .. it is easy to see where RTE are wasting all the money with these vacuous drivel programmes .... plus that thing goes on and on and one for 3 full months for 2 hours each Sunday ... ridiculous ...

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I thought there was talk of Dancing With The Stars being done with too so I don’t understand what that was about. It’s not got a patch on Strictly and it’s never been one of those shows where someone in the office says “did you see that last night?” I would wonder how many people actually bother watching.

It’s got to cost massive money with the hosts, the pro dancers, the contestants, the judges, the flashy outfits, the rights to the format, the dancers rehearsal space, the sound stage.

Those are so many extras needed that I’m sure cost a fortune on top of the standard costs for a tv show like a crew. I know hosts are a standard cost but given they’ve two people who in RTE are probably considered ‘names,’ I would assume they don’t come cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭squonk

It’s nothing but a pure vanity project the RTE and a good way to give their ‘stars’ some profile - in their opinion. I don’t Fahy get it. The BBC invented this and do it so well and the badges on that side are an actually people you’d recognise. Now I don’t watch either show but I listen to BBC R2 who cross promote it so you pick up bits. It’s really just RTE going “we can do it too” but it’s a bunch of z-listers, a novelty radio/tv personality who hasn’t a hope and a few sports people and, Ireland being Ireland, the sports person could shíte live on stage, smear the set with excrement, fall around drunk for 7 weeks and still be in the final show because there are gombeens who will just vote for them because “they have a big commitment to the game”. Damn right it should be scrapped. KB could make serious savings I’d say straight off my killing this.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Tell me @squonk what line of work are you in? Do you enjoy it? And what would you do if it closed tomorrow?

Well @flazio i work 40 hours a week devoting those 40 hours entirely to my employer. I got my current job based on my ability and not because of who I know or how many insta followers I have or where my parents or family worked. I’ve been laid off in the past and started job hunting using my skills and experience to land something new, the same as most of us would do really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭seanin4711

its pure tat tbh 2fm,thank god for streaming music!and dont get me started on Lottie Ryan ,jesus wept

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Might be against the spirit of the thread to point out facts but DOC does do rugby punditry and is in fact doing it right this minute on TNT Sports 2 for Connacht v Bordeaux.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭flazio

The fact that you didn't say you like the job you dedicate 40 hours a week to suggests that you don't like it. You put up, collect the payslip, head down, stay down. Waste of 40 hours. Not everyone is doomed to that existence.

Doireann Garrihy for what's it's worth did her time on AA Roadwatch, Dublin regionals and Today FM sub work before landing the breakfast gig which Lottie Ryan, Keith Walsh and Bernard Ó Shea got sacked from.

The shilling of the cash machine on the Bauer stations lasts a lot longer than the entertainment updates on 2fm. I would say stop trying to micro manage where that 2cent a year you give 2fm in the license fee goes but in all likelihood your one of the many who went all snooty after Tubs gate and are refusing to pay anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Hed should stick to the rugby because hes shite on 2fm.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Played professionally so would have been well rewarded for that. A more appropriate career change could be doing strip-o-gram for hen parties etc.....

Or maybe being a full-time mad basturd?

Dancing With The Stars is the poor man's Strictly ... with the current flavours of the month Irish so-called 'celebs' being more important than the dancing ... it should have ended in 2020 as was planned ... before ever there was such a thing as Covid 19 ... when Covid hit it was ended quicker than planned in 2020 and was cancelled in 2021 ... which was the plan pre Covid anyway ... but came back in 2022 ... and it now looks like it is here to stay ... makes me mad that we get this drivel all the time and good series like Love/Hate and Kin do not stay on for long ... they bloody better get that series 3 and 4 of Kin made soon ...

100% .... it is vanity defined ... Stars?? ... z listers pretending to be 'stars' more like it ... it does need to be scrapped and the original plan to end it in 2020 should have followed through and Covid should have been the final nail in its coffin ... instead Dee Forbes and Noel Kelly had found a neat way to keep their pals/clients in the spotlight ... KB should get rid of it once he has the chance ... I hope he does ... I also am aware contracts were signed lasting a few years with the presenters of this drivel and prob some of the contestants too ... Doireann Garrihy is a horrible presenter that is for sure ...

2FM is woeful ... modern pop and modern pop country music are woeful ... and this awful music is being kept alive by the likes of 2FM and the royalties that get divided from avertising to the presenters, the station and the makes of this 'music' ... it is all artificial and stations like 2FM do not care about anyone who likes or knows about music ... one thing though worse than the awful pop and pop country music are the presenters ... a really horrible set of people who know very little but act the eejit non stop for huge sums of money ...

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭tikka16751

Can lottie just write a blog about the Kardashian’s and file it under irrelevant

• Registered Users Posts: 81,181 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

She may regret moving to being a contractor rather than an employee. I guess RTÉ will welcome her back as an employee asap.

@flazio you make a lot of assumptions. Of course I like my job and chosen career otherwise I wouldn’t be doing it. I have been doing it a long time and am not in the business of wasting 40 hours a week just for a payslip but if you want to talk about wasting payslips, maybe have another look at Doireann.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭seanin4711

turn it on and its the same playlist from 5 years ago,terrible stuff spend more time talking absolute tat than playing any sort of "eyerush" music - pure cost saving measures.shocking!

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭tikka16751

Tracy Clifford is the next Avicii.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 matrix mick

In what way?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Threads like this are weird. Petty, speculative, insular, paranoid, and with some comments - disturbing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,396 ✭✭✭Trampas

Caught the fabulous entertainment news done by ms Ryan and saying a story that was on rte news yesterday afternoon. How much are we paying her to read yesterday news and make it sound like it’s just breaking.

poster child why 2fm is irrelevant and should be shut down