Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public access to courts

• 15-10-2023 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Aren't courts public? At a recent first court appeance of someone charged with murder the Garda had access to the street to the courthouse blocked. Only media allowed beyond the cordon. Are the public not allowed into such a hearing?

I remember years ago being at a first hearing of someone on a murder charge.

Edit typo

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was it closed for public order and/or safety reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Henry James

I don't know there were a few onlookers but no aggression or trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Allinall

If the public area in a court is full, then they have to restrict access or there would be chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I'm guessing this was Cashel District Court the other day? I would think it's pretty clear why members of the public weren't admitted in those particular circumstances.

What circumstances.? Are people stopped in all first appearance by a murder accused? I was in a court years ago when a murder accused first appeared. In the 90s.

Won't the public be allowed at the trial?

Will the public conduct themselves in a respectful manner in court?

Ah would you cop on. There is a duty to protect the court from disruption which is a real risk given the emotivness of this particular case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭BagofWeed

It was a special sitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,989 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

It's not uncommon for access to court proceedings to be restricted in cases that have attracted much public attention and strong public feelings. There's a practical consideration to start with — District Court buildings are small, and the priority in ensuring that justice is done "in public" is to ensure that court reporters and the media can attend. And, as others have said, if feelings are strong enough there's a risk of disorder and the disruption of the workings of justice.

Ultimately the judge presiding at the sitting decides what arrangements for public access are appropriate. He'll be advised by the guards as to what's feasible or unfeasible.

The fact that there are restrictions on public access to the committal does not mean there will be similar restrictions at the trial — different court, different courtroom, different judge, different circumstances. It's highly likely that ordinary members of the public will be admitted to the trial, but there will be limited space in the public gallery and admittance will usually be on a first-come basis, so if you want to attend the trial be prepared to join a queue well before kickoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

If someone is charged with murder, they cannot get bail in the District Court so all the judge can do is remand the accused in custody to the prescribed prison and set a date and location for his next appearance in court. Kicking up a fuss over access to the public is simply whinging because you couldn't get to gawk at the guy during his 3 minutes in the dock.