Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pretending to ring guards , would it be illegal

• 01-10-2023 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

i dont mean when you should like at a car crash or reporting a crime

lets say someone is annnoying you in a public place . your doing nothing wrong and they are telling you to leave or stop what your doing etc. could you pretent to ring the guards and report the person for harrasment etc.

tslking to a friend about this and she thinks it would be illegal and you could get in trouble. i dont see how. your not actually doing it just letting the person think you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Pretending to make a phone call?

How could that be illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It's not illegal but messing with the wrong person could result in your friends murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i dont think it would be illegal . she does. she thinks it would be making false claims , harrasment, and maybe public order by making the person alarmed or distressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I can't see it being illegal. Presumably the objective of calling the Garda would be to prevent crime and/or de-escalating the situation, whereas the person being annoying is escalating the situation.

In a situation where someone says "My friend has been shot, can you call the Garda." and you say you are, but don't, then there just might be an offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It doesn't seem to be clear whether you mean pretending to dial a number then talking into the 'dead' phone as though you are talking to the Gardai, or actually phoning a Garda station or 999 and reporting something that you don't really want to have followed up. I thought you meant the former, but your friend and Victor seem to think the latter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

“ Ring ring! Ring ring! Ring ring!”

Phone answers : “hello! Thurles Garda Station!”

Pen turners enemy: ”hello Garda! I want to report a crime please!”

Garda: “ go ahead caller”

pen turners enemy: “well earlier on I was in the park and pen turner walked past and I told him he was a fat arse. He was annoyed. He gave me the impression he was ringing ye to complain that I called him a fat arse and that I would be arrested for calling him a fat arse”

Garda: “…and?”

pen turners enemy: “when I thought he was ringing ye to have me arrested for calling him a fat arse, I got upset and worried. Now I’ve found out he was only PRETENDING to ring ye, so I want him arrested for making me upset”

Garda:” fair enough. We’ll arrest you for calling pen turner a fat arse and we’ll arrest pen turner for pretending to ring us. Are there any other people there in the park whose feelings have been a little bit hurt today? Can you ask them to all be ready with their stories so we can arrest everyone and save having to go back”.

pen turners enemy :” yes my other friend said thank you to the deli assistant in Elys Centra and she didn’t say you’re welcome and she was hurt”

Garda: “ that’s a prison sentence”.

i mean talking into a dead phone as if you rang the guards. obviously you are not reporting it because there is noone on the other end. but the people around you think you are talking to someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Of course it's not illegal OP

i didnt think it was but its not the first time i would be wrong.

my friend was adiment that it could be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Your friend thinks that pretending to talk to somebody on a mobile phone, when in fact no call has been made, is illegal?

Bonkers.

sadly yes

she was /is claiming that it could be causeing harrasment alarm and distress.

i can see alarm and distress to point maybe but not harrasment unless you were the agresser and aproaching some random person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,818 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I've never heard such nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

Visit “legal discussion” more regularly for more fascinating nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭BagofWeed

They're afraid of their own shadows here, it's actually a very unhealthy habit to have. And collectively one that is disastrous for the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

absolute wind-up

...think I'll phone the guards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Make sure you do call though, not just pretending to call …..