Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Career change into teaching at 28

Options
  • 31-08-2023 3:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi all,

I am currently 28 and for as long as I can remember, I've wanted to be a school teacher. I did an undergrad degree in English and Politics but between this and that, I could never really afford to go back to student teaching. I'm just looking for a bit of advice, right now the only subjects I would be able to teach are English and Politics at Second Level, or I could repeat my Irish and attempt Primary.

I just wanted to know if there is anyone else in my position who could advise me on what path they took in order to try and fund themselves through the course? I've heard mixed things about getting jobs following qualification - so that leaves me very nervous in terms of trying to apply for a mortgage in the future, ect.

Appreciate any feedback on this - currently a bit heartbroken that I may not be able to achieve this goal.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭iniscealtra

It is now a two years masters with fees. However subbing can be available in schools during that time and you are free to work at weekends, summer and holidays. Many students do just this.

Where do you live and how flexible are you about location? There is a lot of work available in the Dublin area and in the East. Less so in more rural areas as with most jobs. Bigger urban schools will offer politics as a subject and smaller schools will not.