Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sega Master System II - Upgrading & De-Segafication

Options
  • 20-03-2023 7:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭

I know the original Sega Master System is really the one to go for when you need that 8bit Sega fix, but I have to admit, I have a soft spot for the Master System II. Its the version I've the strongest nostalgic connection to, and is a nice little compact machine too. Unfortunately, Sega went a bit cost-cutting crazy on it, and removed some of the features the original model had. Notably, the RGB output is now gone, replaced with that staple of connectors, the RF output.

RGB Amp (Active/Bypass) Kit - https://www.consolesunleashed.com/product/sega-master-system-model-2-rgb-video-bypass-amp-mod-kit/

Switchless Region Kit - https://www.consolesunleashed.com/product/sega-master-system-model-2-switchless-region-mod-kit/

I noticed that Consoles Unleashed ^^ offer a *superb* little mod kit that proclaims to restore RGB functionality which seems to be incredibly straight forward to fit, is non destructive, and importantly, is reversible should for any bizarre reason occur that RF functionality need to be restored. I also went for the switchless 50/60Hz kit too, because it'll be nice to be able to switch between regions without having to modify the case for a toggle switch. So lets crack on & see if it these kits deliver on their claims!

^^ I bought this Master System II a while back. The seller suggested it had issues reading carts, and condition wise it looked a small bit under the weather. So it seemed a perfect candidate for modding.