Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Forward Together Programme"

Options
  • 16-03-2023 8:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 785 ✭✭✭

Hi all, have a child in senior infants who has been recommended for the Forward Together Programme as they are having difficulty with literacy. Has anyone had any experience of the programme?

Comments

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Hi, I'm a learning support teacher so can hopefully enlighten you a bit.

Forward Together is a programme that can come into play after the MIST- Middle Infant Screening Test. The test is carried out in the 5th term of a child starting school.If a child scores below certain cut offs, say letter sounds/listening/ sentence dictation/letter reversals etc. they will be flagged for this. Think of it like a fire prevention system- the child gets help before a "fire" ( significant literacy issues) break out.

It was originally designed for parents to do at home, but these days is usually done at school. It involves 12 weeks of help with a learning support teacher . The child is then tested again to see how they are doing. It's an early intervention- trying to stave off problems down the line. If your child is offered it, I'd grab it with two hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 785 ✭✭✭spuddy