Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question from an "occasional" cyclist

• 06-01-2023 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭

I am committed to a big cycle trip tomorrow with some friends.

160km round trip along a route which involves mostly (tarmac / compacted gravel) canal and some road surface.

My dilemma is I have a choice of using a road bike or a mountain bike. Road bike obviously lighter and mountain bike obviously more comfortable.

Any advice or helpful comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭cletus

What's everyone else using, and what's the planned pace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is a thread about cycling the Grand Canal in this forum it might give you some help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Gorteen

The pace will be slow, stops along the way. Unlikely to be much above 15km/hr.

Are you sure about that?

At that pace with stops you will run out of daylight.

OK best of luck.

Take a look at that thread anyway.

Won't really make any difference, then, other than the extra effort of pedalling the mountain bike for that distance.

What size tyres on the road bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭sham58107

When you say "occasional " have you done that distance before ? that is more than a 12 hour days with short stops, long time in saddle, have you all the right gear ? as already mentioned I would go with what others are using , road bike quicker but not comfortable for 12 hours, mountain bike slower but more comfort, although 15kph for that distance is going to hurt.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

If they're on road bikes or hybrids you'll be feeling the pace on the mtb.

Sounds like the spin fill be flat so it'll be a constant pedal especially on knobby tyres as you wont get any benefit of even slightly free wheeling. 160km on a mtb sounds horrendous but perhaps you have hybrid type tyres.

Not hybrid tyres. Good knobbly tyres. Biggest distance before was a little over 90km on a horrible 5 speed hybrid along Grand Canal / roads.

So, it's going to hurt no matter what I do. I might prefer to hurt on a lighter, faster bike.

23mm night be a little narrow for the canal paths.

To be honest, it sounds like it's going to be a miserable experience for you regardless.

160km at 15kph is 10 hours 40 minutes. That not including breaks for food, punctures, mechanicals etc.

Is it some sort of charity thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

160km is ambitious. I would go on road bike and tbh at the end of the day you will want to put your head down and just grind out the final stretch, you will be glad of the extra pace and efficiency of a road bike then. 23mm will slip a bit on canal paths but I have done it on 23mm and was fine. 25/28 would probably be better. You expect the canal route to be flat, and on average it is, but unfortunately you are constantly climbing up to road level at each bridge and then down to canal again. short little rises but they are steep and they add up.

There is a big difference between 90 km and 130km. I imagine an even bigger difference between 130 and 160, imagining because I have never gone beyond 130. Make sure you have food/drink and I presume you have decent clothing fit for purpose. Use chamois cream and bear in mind you will get colder as the day progresses, bring arm and leg warmers.

Have your friends done this kind of distance before? If not you may find it gets cut short.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy it and have a tailwind on the way home.

I'll let you know how we get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

Go n-eirí an bóthar libh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,484 ✭✭✭Gerry

That is a serious slog. I would go mountain bike for comfort and less mental effort. with enough fuelling you should be fine. good luck and tell us how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

bring arm and leg warmers.

Now I think anyone starting a ride at 6am in January is hardly going to be in shorts and short sleeves!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

What footwear will you have? Will you have shoe covers?

You will probably be grateful for thermal socks and maybe have a spare pair in case your feet get wet.

Have you decent gloves?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,868 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

he'll be out on the road at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

Even at my fittest and regularly doing 200km plus spins I think I'd have struggled with 160km on a mountain bike. Just purely on comfort and not having the different hand positions drops give and your weight is more evenly spread. A MTB might feel more comfortable for an hour or two but for all day riding comfort a properly set up road bike is much better. Bar ends would help a though.

23mm tyres is risky though don't fancy changing multiple punctures on a day like today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭saccades

Seen this way too late.

Was it a hard tail or full suss?

Mtb with bar ends and semi slick on the rear. That's a comfortable pace with no climbs to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭2011abc

This is mad , surely close to impossible as described let’s hope he survived !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,872 ✭✭✭✭dahat

I cannot wait for the update on how this trip went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭EAD

Are you home yet?

What if we never hear from the OP again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭rolling boh

The fact that he is with others will make the op stick it out but we may have to wait for an update .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Probably having his back passage operated on as we speak

I'm betting they're 6 pints deep in Nanny Quinns. Will get the rest done another day 😂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

With the current HSE crisis it maybe several days before we hear any news.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I did near 80km today on a road bike and after an hour my feet were wet and cold (despite shoe covers). I wouldn't have fancied doing twice that on a road bike (never mind the extra time required if on a MTB)

Report on our trip!!!

Started at 6am, made good progress along RC until just past Leixlip. Had to detour and ended up taking road route around the Clonsilla and Blanchardstown area, before rejoining the RC at 12th Lock (Castleknock). Got caught in a horrible wintery shower too! Eventually got to our destination at almost exactly midday! 6 hours including stopping for grub (sandwiches, chocolate bars, fluids, etc), waiting to regroup because we tend to get spread out along the route. Spent an hour or so in city, Kebab, chips, coke and then got stuck into the return journey and left city about 1.30pm. Took on the Deep Sinking and that was very tough. Slippy surface, exposed roots, piles of wet leaves, muck and exposed stones/rocks.

Managed to "navigate" around the restricted area while sticking religiously to the RC. Don't judge us, you weren't there :)

We all got very tired at different stages. I personally found Maynooth to Enfield tough going, even though surface is good. Just the physical act of sitting in the saddle was difficult. We had to content with more cold rain showers and a bastard of a head wind! Everyone dug deep and those who were slower asked that we not wait for each other from Enfield onward (barring emergencies). All remained in phone contact

I got a second wind from Enfield, helped by the fact that either through a cessation of wind or shelter, I was absolutely flying. There's also the possibility that I was hallucinating or deluded! I stopped at one stage to answer the phone and took a fall. Put my foot down to find there was no surface underfoot (a hole or depression in the ground) Damaged my left brake lever housing but brakes still worked ok, so no real harm. I was first "home" at 8.10pm, last guy home at about 9.20pm. I estimated our total distance was 176km, but this was later confirmed as 171km (one lad had GPS gizmo).

We are all very proud even though we set no speed records. But slow and steady got us there and back. Thanks to everyone who tipped in with advice and comments.

I took a hybrid/touring bike in the end. Decided the whole speed versus comfort was a pointless choice. The bike I took offered wider tyres (44mm) and could probably move a bit quicker than an MTA. We all had weather protection gear from previous greenway / overnight cycle camping trips, so no real weather challenge other than wind. Light batteries were challenged, because we had to use lights at the beginning and end. Some lights failed (to be fair) cheap Chinese shite! Drank lots of water but even with three bottles, I ran out in the last 40km. Too tired or stubborn to look for refill opportunities, just wanted to finish. There was a risk that if I stopped I might not restart!

Had a shower and fell into bed! Arse very tender. Dollops of Suodcrem and sarcastic sympathy from the missus!

Woke this morning, sore muscles all over, but very proud that we finished.

Post edited by Gorteen on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Happy days, I am positively surprised. You should do it again in June on a sunny day. Congratulations

Well done that is mighty effort especially at this time of the year .

Well done, Same time next Sat? 🤣

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Savage stuff, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭devonp

Well done great stuff, think i met ye at Louisa bridge Leixlip (green Surly's ??) on your way back west when i was walking the wuff

Fair play to all of ye. All messing and slagging aside, that's a big spin in good conditions, never mind a windy and rainy day in January

Where exactly did you start from ? Can I ask

Friends house who live between Killucan & Mullingar

Warrior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,872 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Top stuff , well done to all. Long days in saddle can be as tough a mental challenge as physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭wijam

fantastic stuff, as some of the folks said, especially at this time of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

If you are going to do something long and hard on a bike, making the decision yourself that you are is the most important thing.

Everything else is mostly noise and excuses not to do it

you might find something of interest OP

Careful he will put us all to shame come summer at the rate he is going .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭2011abc

Epic stuff! Your legs will be in bits for rest of week Prob getting worse till Thursday !