Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Overturning cars

• 12-11-2022 10:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭

Lately there seems to be a crazy amount of cars overturning. Is this due to hitting footpaths or objects at speed or are there other reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,018 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Probably down to phone use while driving, if I had to guess.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Where are all these overturned cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭walterking

Bad drivers. It's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

maybe they were all watching Le Mans '66 [shown recently on Film4] and were trying to replicate some of the fancy manoeuvres they saw 😆

marital arts expert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There was one on my road... narrow suburban Dublin street coming off a 50 kmh road during the day. Not a joy ride. Seemed unusual to me it would flip over.

I am guessing it is due to lighter cars / higher centre of gravity. But really dunno.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Stupid lifted crossovers with wobbly suspension.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Are there any statistics to show that more cars are overturning now than before or are we just going on a hunch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Its AH. Your stat-tis-tics have no place here.

Hunch away.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Its aliens. They had a go at messing with humans a few decades ago with crop circles now they're getting a bit more brazen and turning their cars upside down.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Boggers.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Obvious its climate change…cars and roads are getting warmer causing more bounce,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Came across overturned cars twice at the same bend in a road

They must be going way too fast approaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,356 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I was once behind a car driven by a young woman that leaned down to her handbag on the floor of the passenger side as she drove along at about 80 km/h, lost control of the car, clipped the verge, overcorrected and flipped it over.

It was the height of summer and her driver's window was fully open. Her long hair flopped out of it as the car rolled over, got caught under the roof at it scraped along the road and ripped about half of her scalp clean off her skull.

It happened on an R road in east Cork and with the luck of God, a fire engine was passing the other way after attending a minor incident and they managed to stabilise her wound and extract her until further units arrived.

I gave a witness statement to the Guards and learned she was unlikely to have any lasting damage, except some scarring under her hair.

This was back in about 1996, before mobile phones were popular, but ever since that I have never had so much as a loose tape cassette near me when I'm driving.

No phone, no phone holder, no sat nav unit, no bag, no pen and pad, no coat on the front seat, no drinks bottles or food, nothing. Ever.

These are the reasons people turn cars over and why its getting more prevalent. Distractions everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Turner's Cross, unusually, and Derrinturn (its hard enough to keep them upright, hoor of a road,always has been)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The vast majority of people on the road shouldn't be on the road. They treat driving the same as walking, something they just do and not with the attention it requires. Too many people think they're great drivers when they don't even know the laws they're consistently breaking, are oblivious to them, or know and don't care. Too many people buying stupid lifted saloon "crossovers" so they can see better, with their 400k dipped headlights pointed towards the sky so they can see better again, and they wouldn't be able to manage a 70s Mini, let alone something 4 times the size of it.

The heightening of the "cars" is definitely attributing to it, but it's still down to driver incompetence. There's very rarely a traffic accident, but there's thousands of collisions.