Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apply for logbook, not registered owner

• 05-10-2022 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

I've just purchased a tractor second hand, it's a 1981 and it did not come with a logbook, the person who I purchased it from did not get a logbook from the previous seller, as he didn't have it when he bought it. The seller is known to me locally and is genuine, but it seems the logbook has been long since separated from the tractor.

I have the registration number, it was previously imported from the North in 1988 and the last noted change of ownership on the Irish logbook is Jan 2006 as per a history check. What form do I need to fill out? I can't post links but I've found a form called "Declaration by Person Acquiring Motor Vehicle", it needs to be filled in by a peace commissioner or solicitor, and a garage. It notes "This form should be completed where the documentation necessary (e.g. VRC) to notify the change of ownership cannot be produced" and says to be sent to Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭User1998

The form you speak of is for cars, and it works. I assume it would work for a tractor also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

The form is for 'Motor Vehicles' and it asks the type of motor vehicle which would indicate that it is for all motor vehicles, not just cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 DJ5831

Do I need to send any payment with it? I read on another forum that 12e is needed, do I get a postal order addressed to the Dept of Transport?

Also, do I need to include proof of purchase etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Last time I had to do this I contacted them and they were very helpful and posted me out all the required items and instructions.

No, you shouldn't need proof of purchase as that's covered by your witnessed statutory declaration in front of the peace commissioner/solicitor. There is a fee of €12, expect to also pay for the garage stamp and the solicitor. Peace commissioners should be free and your local Gardai can tell you who they are.

Give Shannon a call and they should be able to advise you more (Their number is ordinary landline rate):

Driver and Vehicle Computer Services

Address:

Department of Transport, Shannon Town Centre, Shannon, Co. Clare

Email:

motortax@transport.gov.ie

Phone number:

0818 411 412

Opening hours:

Monday:10am - 1pm

Tuesday:10am - 1pm

Wednesday:10am - 1pm

Thursday:10am - 1pm

Friday:10am - 1pm

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

I've got the form signed by the peace commissioner, and a John Deere main dealer, and I've filled out the tractor details/my personal details. How do I attach the fee? Postal order?

How long does it take to get a logbook after this? Do they not need to contact the current registered owner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Is there no card payment section on the form to fill in?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Sounds like you've all the work done fair play. Ye, I ended up dropping it into my local motor tax office in person as it was convenient and had a cheque made out to them, but could have paid card or cash I guess. If posting, a cheque/postal order/bank draft should be fine.

It will take at least a month before you get it back as they do attempt to contact the registered owner and they have to give them reasonable time to respond.

Hope you get sorted and on the road OK. 👍️

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Thanks everybody for the help, just received a new VRC in my name.

They did send back the 12 euro cheque with a note saying there is no fee for it. Not sure if they contacted the registered owner, however, I'm only the 2nd registered owner in Ireland (previously a UK tractor) and it was registered to the previous registered owner in 1997 and it's changed hands many times since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

Is that you Vinnie m