Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renault Scenic - Airflow Meter Banjaxed

• 20-07-2022 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭

Hi all. I have been having a lot of trouble with my poor old 2011 Renault Scenic. It is showing a warning light and the mechanic I brought it to tells me it relates to the Air Flow Meter. He's giving me a price of 400 euro to fit. Thats fine, a bit of a hit but whatever. The problem is, he reckons I should bring it to the main dealer in case there is a loose connection rather than a part at fault. He cannot investigate himself but reckons Renault themselves might have more experience and be able to rule that out (or find the loose connection and fix).

My question is...is this better than just putting a new part in? The risk is that I put in the new part and I keep getting the error message. I'm not sure what to do...if I should just ask him to go ahead and change it or take it to Renault and see what they say.

If anyone has any thoughts or experience of the matter then I'd love to hear them. I'm very tempted to just get the work done. Its a trek to get to Tallaght for the main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭GavPJ

It's a diesel Scenic is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Shutuplaura

Yes, a diesel. I just told the mechanic to go ahead and change it. I'll kick myself if it doesn't fix the issue, but I couldn't face the trek to the main dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

Those meters are approx 60 quid new....

The price he gave me was 190 quid. Feckity feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

From experience here, I'd at least get a second indy opinion before doing anything else with it. The software used to read the codes on these needs to be right or the mechanic needs to be good. I ended up replacing one of these for roughly the same price, maybe a bit less, after mechanic confirmed it was the sensor. Didn't fix the issue, warning came back in in a day or two. Was being told it may be a dodgy replacement sensor......

Anyway, got mechanic to do a check of all the relevant pipework (assumed had already done this). Low and behold he finds a split in a hose......

I was none too happy tbh but it's the second time a mechanic told me the issue was with a sensor and I suspect it is because whatever generic software they were using just gave back a fault with a sensor as it couldn't translate what the sensor was saying to them.

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch but the two episodes above made me question strongly the skillset of the mechanic. I would have expected the basics to be checked first before being advised to splash out 400 bucks on a sensor.

So my advise to you is get a second opinion, that may be from a main dealer or a competent indy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

It depends on what brand is used, they can cost over €200 depending on the brand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭GavPJ

Spot on. You would do well to do get a good quality one for €60.

Well he called me today and said he did it, it was working and the warning light was gone. He cleaned the thing first because he noticed it was dirty and that did the trick. Anyway, he charged me for three hours labour, but the who thing is just less than half what he quoted me for. he was recommended so I am going to assume this is a fair price. Since it has cost me a lot less I'm happy enough.

Thanks all for the input and advice.