Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free E+B licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yea I also have a C and it would work in my favour.

But for most it's a step back, one more step to being a helpless/clueless user of driverless mobility services that they're planning to foist upon us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

It's getting more difficult to get a driver's licence, and maybe that's a good thing.

But in the past, I became aware of the EUs 3rd directive on driving licences, and got my bike. Truck and bus. Licence, without having to do the mandatory 12 lessons, or having to go thru the extra rig-ma-roll of a1, a2 motorbike licences, or doing a CPC exam.

'Grandfather rights' rules can work in your favour, especially if you know new regs are on the way, and you get in ahead.

It'll probably be a few years before this comes into effect.

I presume everyone with a full W, will get a full T & T1, as has happened in the past when new catagories were introduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

They are grandfathering the feck out of everything these days and giving the young crowd starting off an impossible (and extremely expensive) mountain to climb. I hate it.

My jaw dropped when I saw someone got a free A1 license with their car one and I missed out on getting a free M license by a couple of years

I no a heap of people who have a full motorcycle license without ever even sitting the test or having drove a bike in there life

What's the craic there?

At the moment if you do a CE test, and you hold a category D , you'll automatically get DE and BE

Once upon a time. You could drive a trike with a car licence, then they changed it to needing a bike licence.... What happened, anyone that had a car licence, could claim that they had been using a trike, and they were given a bike licence, it was for a short window of time.

Anyway, if you play your cards right, you can get EB for free (whenever they introduce T)

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058025145/exchanged-uk-driving-licence-now-i-can-drive-motorbikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,794 ✭✭✭jmreire

Once upon a time, you didn't need a license to drive, here in Ireland (and drive anything at that as far as I know).....then they introduced a charge of 1 pound ( no Euros back then) and that was for all categories,,,,Bikes and all the way up to bus and artic. An elderly Lady neighbor of ours died a few years back, and she was fond of showing off her full Irish Driving Licence. Despite never in her life having driven anything bigger than a push bike,,,,,she bought it at the time as she said herself, " You never know when you ight need it...😎. And the same was true for another friend of mine, whose father had bought his licence back in the day, but he actually used it professionally. So his son, who had the same name, got a duplicate of his fathers one, and drove away, for many years , even after his father passed had away, and it worked fine for many years until some one in the department noticed that according to the date of birth on the licence, the holder was pushing the 100 mark.

I somehow lost my W & M when I renewed my license last time. Anyway of getting them back?

How many years ago did you lose them?

If more than 10 yrs, they're gone for good. (edit.. I'm actually not sure)

If less than 10yrs, get onto RSA, get confirmation from them that you should be entitled to have them restored, bring that to NDLS, and apply for those catalogue to be added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Why would anyone bother with T1 when T is also 16 and you can get an BE licence. So a 17.5 year old could technically be given a BE licence when they get the B having never drawn a trailer behind a car.

You'll only get a B+E for free, if you also have a full C .

If you only have a B , you'll get a T1 and the AM, I think you still get the am when you pass the b test anyway.

It seems that they are doing away with the W.

So the 16yr old, driving a tractor on a learner's permit , will still be able to drive any size tractor, unless there are other regs proposed that I haven't been able to find.

So, my reading is that a 16yr old can get a T (permit) bit won't be entitled to a BE until 17

The thing is.. you can only get a BE if you're 17+

And if you are 17+ with a T , you'll only be able to use a BE while accompanied, when on a learner's permit.

So, when the 17yr old passes the B test, they'll get B & AM & T1.

No T , no BE.... Not until they do a C, or they do a Full T test

I don't think anyone had done a full Wx test. . can't see anyone doing a TV test either.

Confused.. you should be.

Post edited by mikeecho on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

So I want to get a BE licence, I will have to sit a BE driving test, but under the 2yr transition period, I can apply for a T licence through proven experience and get the BE licence without having to sit a test? (I do currently need/use the W category licence)

You'll need to have a full C, in order to qualify for a free BE.

The B, will give you a free T1 and AM

But if you have a C, you'll get a free T and BE (and the T1 & AM)

If you just did the T test and only hold nothing higher than a B, then you won't get BE.

Hope that makes sense.

Where are you seeing this? I can see that a C licence will automatically give you T, and having T will give you a BE. But nowhere does it say that you need to have C to get BE.

From the link in the OP

The proposed T licence would in fact qualify you to have a BE licence to tow a car/jeep trailer.

It is permitted to get a T licence, not a T1, through proven experience once driver has an EU licence for a car, so once I get the T, I'll get a BE? From the farmers journal link above.

Having a car licence will give you a T1.

Having a T on its own, won't give you BE.. you'll only get a BE. If you have a T & C

So essential everyone regardless if they have a current W licence, will have to sit a T driving test if they want to drive a 50km tractor? I can't see that happening tbh. I think they will give T licences to people with proven experience, you're basically asking people to sit a driving test for a vehicle they were already licenced to drive.

I can just sit a T driving test instead of a BE for to get the BE licence.

T licence won't cover a 50km/h tractor so you'll need a CE licence for fast tractors, as most are used for towing. Looks like the end of tractors doing road hauling, silage and other agricultural road work is going to get a lot more expensive if farmers can't use their tractors due to needing a CE licence.

The Gardaí cracking down on farmers hauling without BE licences is going to be nothing compared to this.