Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Converting an en-suite into a walk-in wardrobe (but still reserving the ability to convert back!)

• 22-06-2022 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭

My partner and I are moving into an apartment soon (hopefully, the conveyancing has been torturous). It's a decent sized apartment but storage space is a premium. It's only the two of us and we were thinking of converting the en-suite into a walk-in wardrobe to give us more storage space because that's more valuable than a second bathroom.

However, a few people pointed out that we might be destroying the value by doing this. I'm not fussed on this but I was wondering if it would be normal to remove the toilet, sink and shower and somehow seal the pipes up in a way that would still allow us to easily convert it back if we wanted to or prior to sale? If it is possible, how big of a job is something like this?

The en-suite is roughly 2m X 1.5m.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

We removed the shower from the en suite recently (upgraded the shower in the main bathroom). Converted the shower space into more storage, could be worth doing as a halfway measure. I'm sure the next owner can undo it if required, just need to tell them where it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Was there a toilet and a sink in there as well?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

Yup, we kept them, as traipsing across the landing in the middle of the night is no craic. Storage is knocked in from the back bedroom and there's a partition wall where the shower door was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Ah, yeah I see what you mean.

We could probably do that as well, the shower is on the right side for that. The door isn't though now that I think about it....

Did you turn the extra space into an integrated wardrobe or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Destroy away mad. Dirty auld things those en suites, you are basically sh1tting in the bedroom and it's another thing to keep clean. Our forefathers were onto the right idea by having the jacks in a separate outbuilding

It's basically like a hot press without the hot water tank. You make the door from whatever side you like.