Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Refereeing Standards

• 28-05-2022 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭

just wondering if there is any referee development officers in the GAA ? and if so do they actually take an active roll, the standards i have whitnessed over the last few years in not really adaquite, i understand that it is difficult to get referees to join the assosiation but shurly there has to be some standards for underage games, some go out to keep fit some do it for the love of the game but they are getting paid to do it, its not alot i believe but if they are getting paid then they must be compadent to do the job, its hard to watch a ref be so 1 sided in a game while others dont move off the half way line, this then leads to agrivation on the sideline which then turns into refs being abused (i dont condone) when a team is beaten by a better team that can be swollowed but if the refereeing standards are below par its a hard pill to take, or is it a case of fair play you passed the test buy yourself a whistle and away you go ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

If you think a ref is making money from games you're barking up the wrong tree. There's plenty of work put in on rules and tests etc. A bigger problem is people rocking up to games with not a breeze about rules or basics and letting on they do.There's always to option to sign up and do a bit yourself if you feel the standard needs improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jordo76

i have had a go at the gaa rules and can safely say i have a good understanding of them, my daughter is a little whistler at the min and my son helps out with the kidergarden with our local club, as i said ref are getting paid but not alot and it should be alot more "they are getting paid tho" i have reffereed and coached in the past in a dffierent sport and have taken the oppertunity to take up referreing in soccor again so i like to think i paid my dues in the past, if there is tests that have to be done that fine and im sure all referees pass them but my point is that there are refs out there that are well below standard for example a referee only last week booked a player showed the yellow card and within 60 secs book him again and let him stay on the field then another trying to flex his musscles by telling a manage to step off the field off play and the second he stood off the field call him back on to recieve a yellow card, i cant understand how there is no monotoring of refs after they get there badges, in saying that there are some excelent refs out there, im not having a go at refs in general its the development of them, if the standards where kepth to a high we would have better players comming through and more people might sign up but to see what refs do wrong the antics it causes on the sideline and the abuse they take for it why would they, the problem isnt alway parents rocking up on a saturday afternoon with no knowlage of the game and shouting at refs (yes i know that dose happen) but the refs not being up to standard as i said more a development issue than a personal one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Dead right about people at games not knowing the rules. Was at an U15 hurling match the week before last, and my club was two points down in the closing stages. One of our lads was tackled late around midfield as he played the ball in, he stayed down, and the referee rightly blew up to halt the play to make sure he was okay, and awarded an indirect free to re-start the game.

From the free, the ball dropped all the way to the net without anybody touching it. Mammies, Daddies, grannies, etc., all celebrated. Referee rightly ruled out the goal.

Cue absolute panedominium. Even when the rule was explained to some of these people, they complained "that's crazy, that's a stupid rule, what's the point of a free if you can't score from it?", and continued to abuse the ref as he left the field. Have to say I was ashamed of them.

Don't know about anywhere else, but a referee here in Wexford gets €40 for that sort of underage game. If you consider it's two or closer to three hours gone out of your evening between travelling to the match, referreeing the match, and going home again, it's hardly worth it when you consider the abuse you can get even when you're 100% right.

Anyway, the easiest way to get rid of "bad" referees would be to get loads of people who would make good referees to volunteer to do the job. Would love to hear OP's suggestions on how to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Refs at Intercounty Level are getting 30 cent to the KM so it’s not the worst gig in the world if you can block out the abuse

would like to see a referee standards officer for each county where they would travel to games asses the refferes on a regular basis and give feedback to relevent refs on there proformance if below standards offer advice on what when wrong and how they might fix the issue just a surgetion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Refs bring alot of abuse on themselves even intercounty ones. Just blow the frees no matter which team fouls and be consistent. You can't give a free to the man in possession when 2 lads rightly stand him up and then 2 minutes later give the same team a free for over carrying when they do the very same standing up. Saw a ref yesterday blow for a throw ball in an UP match the same young lad done well to rise the ball let alone catch it and attempt a hand pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Today’s refereeing inconsistency…

no excuse or explanation for these…

Orders a retake of a penalty because the goalkeeper comes off his line before the ball is kicked.

goalkeeper does the same again to save but this time the retake isn’t ordered. WHY not ?

9 steps allowed by the referee without solo or hop and a point is scored and awarded…5 steps and 125% more steps then allowed by the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Not with the price of diesel and petrol at the moment :D Intercounty refs need to be on site I think at least an hour before the game, and generally transport the umpires too. If you've five adults in a car that 30 cent a km will be well burned up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

If 1% of the lads who give out about referees would themselves give up their own time to become referees....it would probably triple the amount of referees in the country.

Of course though much easier to stand on the sidelines complaining.

Referees are the unsung heroes of the GAA, none of the glory, loads of abuse but without them the whole thing breaks down immediately.

And I know OP you are saying you've reffed before = the issue though is put yourself in the average refs shoes (not the best ref, but the average ref). Whats in it for them to go out and get training. They give up enough of their own time already for the 40 euros you get for the 90 odd minutes, not including the time to get there and back. So give up more time? Why.

For me, to be honest I just think people need to get real and (i) accept that refs are going to make mistakes and (ii) stop treating these games as if its life or death, its just sports matches.

Post edited by Tombo2001 on

i think we got off the point here i was just wanting to know if there was any development after you get your badges bad refs dont have to be thrown out they just need to be worked with, if a independent assesser was to bring to there attention any faults they might have they can try and fix them but leaving them to there own devices dose no work, im sure most refs are big enough to take constructive criticism and saying that im sure they would also like to hear that there doing a great job keep up the good work, it works both ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

I know that sort of thing takes place at inter-county level all the time. Referees will still make mistakes in big matches, but as been pointed out, everybody - players, managers, referees, etc. - all make mistakes in matches anyway.

At club level, can only speak for ourselves in Wexford, but I know there are three or four gatherings a year for all referees, including a big one at the start of the season where they discuss any rule changes or directions to enforce anything in particular.

In addition, new referees are assessed twice during their first few matches, and there are random assessments of longer-serving referees too.

Again, it won't stop all referees from ever making a mistake again, but at least it does any your question if anything happens after you qualify as a ref, or if you're just left to your own devices to get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭nklc

Not that long ago , referees used to err on the side of caution when’s it came to red cards , now they dish them out happily becoming the center of attention and in many cases this year for all the wrong reasons. Two sendings off in the last round of Munster championship, one more bizarre than the other. I’d rather a ref was accused of not blowing up instead of overdoing the whistling. The nonsense of giving out two yellows for an off the ball incident when one of The players is 100% guilty, but because they have no idea what actually happened ( through no fault of their own ) out comes the cards , instead of admitting it wasn’t seen and just warning the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,859 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Theres a severe shortage of refs. For all sports.

Thats why we are 'stuck' with who we have got.

How can an assessor demote/downgrade a ref for a bad performance if theres no other refs there to step up and cover that game?

No one wants to do it. Its that simple.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

I notice this time and time again.

Dont know if its a social media thing. Or an Irish thing.

But - how do people expect that constantly whingeing, moaning, vilifying a category of individual - will result in that individual being more keen to do a good job.

Thats not how it works. What happens instead is the individual says, I am sick of the abuse, and walks away.

Happens so regularly in Irish life.

Any of you - if your career, your studies, your sporting endeavours were put up for public scrutiny - would be called bang average, disappointing, clueless, etc etc etc.

Its a bloodsport.

You get the referees you deserve.

Thats a bit childish. 😣

What has someones spelling ability got to do with any question?

Surely a Mod should be above degrading a person over spellings ?!? 🙄

Still a mod, and if a 'normal' user of the cycling forum decided to insult/belittle another posters spelling/grammar, id expect you to have a word to them about it!

I dont see how you can say 'requires more sensitivity' and use that to demonstrate 'standards' ??

Theres standards of decency also, and i think you crossed the line, and thats my point ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,039 ✭✭✭Gusser09

What's different about Rugby? Players and coaches at all levels seem to have total respect for the ref regardless of wrong calls being made. Why are we so different in the GAA?

The issue in GAA is going to get worse too. Anyone doing it a local level for the few pound will be looking a the cost of diesel going up and might not be motivated to do it anymore. I know of certain counties where matches are being postponed because of the dire shortage of people willing to take the sh*te that some feel is obligatory to give them when they step out.

In the GAA a lot of supporters / players and managers already have their mind made up a ref before a ball is even thrown in.

It's ok to make sh*te of a ref for making a bad decision but don't dare question a manager or player.

In hurling we have a ball that travel 100 meters in 3 seconds. Wrong decisions will happen. Get over it.

Nonsense.

sticks and stones springs to mind here, as a mod of any other group, section or tread you should take a good look at that post and think carefully about it, your comment is a prime example of the attitude of people in this country, find the persons weakest point and go for it, try to make them feel small and they might piss off and leave the tread alone, bully boy tactics if you ask me typical of a cyclists who want all the rules of the road to meet there needs and then bend the rest to suit themselves, and please dont forget the original question that was asked was about refereeing standard and not if i could spell or not, ps there are plenty of reading and writing disability's that a poster could suffer from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

A lot less lads play rugby also rarely a ref from the net parish. Saying that there are a couple of shite refs at rugby too.

I read a funny one about comparing soccer and rugby players and how they respond the referees. The suggestion was that for some reason soccer players all seem to think life is meant to be fair. Could apply to GAA as well.

Here we go - lets have a pop at cyclists.....lets put the boot in to cyclists, just because we like to.

and yet calling out hypocrisy and looking for standards of decency.

was just making a point that people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones, you kick someone in the nuts and expect them to lie down and take it, we can all sling mud at each other but where dose that get us, your now on the defensive and going to be a smart arse then ill throw something back pointless exercise, so back to the original topic please

So its ok for you to throw stones in the glasshouse, and its ok for you to do the tit-for-tat bit.....but can everyone else not do that please and get back on topic

You made a point about cyclists, and not a nice one, that was specifically about cyclists and not about people in glasshouses.

Thanks but no thanks.

flip sake - this place is gone to the dogs ....................... 😣

thats what happens....thanks for helping it along.

my point was made i give up the ball is burst time to go home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

Really tough sports to referee. Some vague or half enforced rules in key areas like tackling, hand-passing and over-carrying do not make it a simple process.

Big area to cover too for sports that can be fast paced with some off the ball play to monitor too. Lots of local games I’ve been at or played in over the years where it’s basically only the ref with some stooges in the form of coaches/selectors/subs doing linesmen (and maybe umpires).

Thrown in the human element then. You could have a massive game refereeing and still gets dog abuse over some 50/50s because it didn’t suit their team. At multiple points in the game too. Nobody’s going to be talking about the great game the ref had even if things go very smooth.

There’s just a culture of moaning about the ref too and a sense of entitlement to the best reffing throughout different standards and ages. Not realistic for something that doesn’t attract the numbers because it’s quite thankless and not well paid.

I have no intention of ever giving it a go but I do think if some of the above was looked at, it could help improve refereeing standards.