Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So "X" - nothing to see here. Elon's in control - Part XXX

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Sheridan_Le_Fanu

Musk is a dead-eyed creep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Thats the case with almost every platform imaginable - not even social medias but any shop or website with billing attached will also have some form of address. Personal information getting leaked in hacks is hardly new, a very weak argument against twitter holding on to verification. Also who says they'll store it? They might take it review it then delete it. You are grasping at straws here to be honest.

The barrier to entry of the blue tick club is painfully low. You could be a Z-list internet celebrity or even in the top 0.05% of followed accounts based in connemara, the barrier is very low and it will only get lower. Universal even.

-Just saw your edit, we are in agreement.

Anonymity is not the problem, and handing over ID to an impetuous fool like Musk is not the solution.

Anonymity is good, although its ever shrinking online with govts trying to destroy it. Off-topic for this thread though. Giving your ID to any social media is not a good idea, however it is an opportunity for them to monetise more. DO you really think the average twitter user cares what happens with their personal data?

Place is a cesspool full of narcissists, they'll do anything for clout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,585 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Im only going by what you wrote. I said "taking the extreme out of it can only be good"

You replied with: "No, I firmly disagree with the argument it can "only" be good."

What else was I meant to take from that exchange that you believe extreme posting should be allowed on twitter, or is it more like the extreme posting you agree with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,026 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

And if Every Ben Stiller has a blue check, and not just the most famous, hollywood actor/director/producer Ben Stiller, makes the checkmark kinda meaningless.

The length some 'whales' etc. may go is not in dispute, but that the entire userbase of Twitter would have to reveal Personal Identifying Information to the platform. So what Twitter would be left with are the leftover folks willing to submit that information, and these people you mention who were already gladly spending money to be influencers or whatever. I still contend a huge majority of users would not do so, just as I would never give that information to Facebook.

But trying to use a tweet about how tunnels are protected from surface weather as proof that his purchase of twitter is a guaranteed train wreck or something... lol. Its barely relevant to the discussion and seems more like bitterness than something relevant at all to the fact that twitter may be going private in the coming days/weeks.

I'm not even the user who brought up the tweet, it has been as relevant to the discussion as you all keep wanting to breathe oxygen into it. I said my piece and folks have wanted to have a stir about that piece, so be it. It doesn't 'guarantee' Musks ventures will be trainwrecks, but it seems like bad faith to dismiss the reality Musk has a string of successes, and failures, in his wake (SpaceX is kinda both) - the most successful product the Boring Company ever made was a flamethrower. And with regards to "rights," Musk has a spotty track record (collective bargaining, right to repair, etc). He has a history of over-hyping and under-delivering, and right now is clearly the "Hype" stage, where everyone is psyching themselves up to pre-order Twitter+ and hailing the bid as the fight for America's free speech and all this other bullshit. I have no idea if it will simply be underwhelming, or a complete trainwreck, and I ascribe to neither theory, even with far more than one tweet or data point at my disposal - I only ascribe to the theory reality will not match or exceed Hype and I will be around when the commiserating happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I think ordinary joe soap, myself included, will happily disengage with Twitter entirely if some extra commitment at all is asked of us. I mean currently I like most users, just read it occasionally for some car crash moment that a friend has linked. I would describe myself as a read only user. Part of that is my reluctance to have any opinion publicly accessible that is attributable to me and will be searchable for the rest of my life. If we have to verify ID, Christ, people will run for the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I need to update my references, but that’s basically what twitter with free speech will become. It’ll attract the weirdos, Alex Jones, Joe Rogan, ex-Reddit, conspiracy theorist types, a rather large army of incredibly damaged and antisocial misanthropes, same as Facebook is doing with their Meta VR -

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2022/apr/25/a-barrage-of-assault-racism-and-jokes-my-nightmare-trip-into-the-metaverse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

First thing he plans to do is ban anyone with pronouns in their profile. Second is ban anyone who has ever used #bekind on the platform.

Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are many practically and legal reasons why the ID thing can't happen in general.

On the topic of Musk attempting to become a media magnate though, it's a possibility and it's a very real risk to free speech.

For example, imagine Twitter decides that anyone with over 10k followers needs to register ID with Twitter before they're allowed to tweet. Under the guise of "protecting our users from scammers and disinformation". Of course.

@BigJoeCrunch who has 100k followers and posts mainly comedy with some political satire, makes an unfriendly joke about Musk, who characteristically takes it badly and gets into a war of words and loses badly.

Enraged, Musk demands to know this accounts real ID and tells his underlings to go get it. Who do, because TOCs and privacy laws don't matter when you're an American CEO.

A couple of hours later the guy is "anonymously" DOXXed and you have psychos at his door making death threats.

Then once the anonymous dissenters are hounded off Twitter, it's onto the journalists. A reporter sticks up exclusive photos of Musk and Epstein partying and suddenly finds their account suspended for spurious reasons. Twitter blames a technical error, but the reporter notices that the algorithm is curiously hiding their tweets and deprioritising them.

It becomes known that if you want to keep your channel on Twitter, you don't talk about Musk.

And that is very **** dangerous from a free speech perspective.

He'd be more likely to use it to crack down on collective bargaining.

eg. if I'm a Starbucks employee in my state, I can probably find an effort to unionize for that right now on Twitter:

In a version of Twitter where Musk can sell or slip your information to CEO Kevin Johnson to reveal whether or not @chsdsa or @SBWorkersUnited is operated by a Starbucks employee off the clock, and who exactly they are, what their DL# is etc,, this type of political action would never get off the ground on the platform.

Collective Bargaining is something that hits Musk right in the cajones, at his investments in places like Tesla and SpaceX. He would know who everyone on Twitter was, and if they were a Tesla employee running an account like this, he'd find simple ways to fire them for poor performance.

Hard to make of that bloke,seems a modern era donald trump,running from business to business,without ever actually achieving particular excellence in anything

Would be known as a cowboy in ireland,but seemingly yanks lap that sh1t up,so guess he knows his audience

Though from limited reading,he intends to essentially do away with moderation on twitter,which will cause endless flamewars,and kill a site,that never really took off as much as its hype suggests it did

Would be known as a cowboy in ireland,but seemingly yanks lap that sh1t up,so guess he knows his audience

Irish over here pretending like they don't lap up cowboys!

There's a young man somewhere in Clare disappointed he can't park a Ford F-150 around the back of the apartment. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,417 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Zing. You really showed us.

Ultimately people's noses are out of joint because Twitter isn't a safe space for one type of intolerance anymore.

I'm sick to death of people with extreme left and right political agendas, I don't use Twitter so I really don't care about this situation, but christ there's some amount of childish responses to this take over.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

It's not even childish, it just has the appearance of being so. At the end of the day all these reactions are calculated. They don't even fear Elon coming along and banning them, or censoring them, as the previous rulers have done to their rivals, they simply fear genuine freedom and fair treatment. The other side getting similar treatment to them is very hard to accept when they've become so used to having things their own way for so long. They are essentially just a bunch of spoiled brats.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

What conspiratorial nonsense is this? Who is calculating anything, and how does one calculate anything when no one even seems quite able to predict what Elon will do from one day to the next.

Zing. You really showed us.

Ultimately people's noses are out of joint because Twitter isn't a safe space for one type of intolerance anymore.

The Irish haven't lost their sense of tolerance for humor, thank God. What type of intolerance is Twitter a safe space for? Intolerance of Nazis and child porn?

What deos it matter what he deos?

Its only a website,wont be 1st nor last to go by wayside if it deos,

iirc bebo was once bought for 800 million,and sold back years later for 1 dollar

I don't get the commentary that Twitter is some kind of failure either. To me it's one of the greatest business successes of all time. A handful of people(4?) created an app that simply distributes short messages. Somehow that is worth billions, which is still mind-blowing to me. It's amazing the way people talk about it like it's some technological marvel and a step in human innovation. But like maybe I'm weird, I didn't get apple either and look at it now, they just rebranded existing tech and then made an exclusive ecosystem and marketed the **** out of it. The c programming language is innovation to me, these things are just shiney marketing.

What deos it matter what he deos?

I can't understand why you'd ask that, if you clicked on a thread titled 'So Elon Musk wants to buy Twitter. I hope he does not succeed but its likely he will.' How does the same, dismissive, rhetorical remark not apply to you, me, and every other person or web crawler that clicked on this page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,131 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Hard to see how he doesn't utterly tank Twitter if he gets it.

This isnt an answer?,an idle observation perhaps,but an answer it simply isnt

Yous are bemaoning being unable to predict what he will do from day-to-day ......i would put it,it will likely lead to demise of the site,but fundamentally it isnt important in great scheme of things

Do you think anything online actually matters like,its just sh1te talk endulged by a tiny tiny minority

Nothing online matters tbh,lads placing value and "freedom of speech" concerns at feet of a social media site,have lost touch with reality

If you ever canvass/do leaflet drops,

many of the issues yous wanting raised and highlighted are virtually unknown and will never gain traction with public unless engaged with face-to-face.....

Its a very narrow,self-selecting cohort who takepart online discussions,even fewer still take it remotely serious....its literally just sh1te talk,that is all

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭ATR72

Title of this thread really sums up how bad this website is now. The meltdown today over this has been fun to watch. Will only be topped when Trump makes his return.

A few posts ago you were talking about him ‘us[ing] it to crack down on collective bargaining’.

Yet here you are calling out ‘conspiratorial nonsense’ from other posters?

Nothing online matters tbh,lads placing value and "freedom of speech" concerns at feet of a social media site,have lost touch with reality

Funny you should say that

(All over Twitter, on Twitter, or about Twitter)

Conspiratorial nothing, if the same individual has control of your ID and control of your posts where you were a union organizer, is the same person employing you over at Tesla etc. then Elon wouldn't have to conspire with a soul, he could get rid of you his damn self.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,158 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i've seen no more than maybe half a dozen tweets about it. maybe i follow the wrong people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭nullObjects

It might have changed since but a couple of years ago it was the case that Twitter had only ever made a profit for a single quarter of a year. Think that's the criteria they are being judged on, they haven't really implemented a business model to the same extent Facebook or Google have

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

CNBC also went with Jim Cramer during the housing crash, and it cost them huge rep. Are they confirming it, or are they manipulating stock? edit: looks legit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭Nermal

'Please worry about my half-baked theories on what Elon-Twitter might censor, instead of what woke-Twitter censors right now'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

It's a done deal. Multiple media outlets are saying so.

Well we can only kick back now and see how this all plays out. I'm getting coffee.

I asked a separate user similarly, 'what does woke-Twitter censor now' etc. and I never got a response back. Contrary to the insinuation that claim is being deflected from, nobody is exactly presenting it. I'll ask again what is the current censorship, as I assume for the most part it's insurrectionists, nazis, and child pornographers, what are you saying it is?

NYT and FX announce this at pretty much the same timestamp that everyone learns he and Twitter have eloped. But, it won't air until 5/20. Pfft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭francois

If he turns it into an unmoderated free for all, it will lose shed loads of users. Who wants to see rampant misogyny, racism etc creeping into the most mundane of discourse?

Honestly think he'll use it to avoid bad laundry on both him and Tesla. Tesla were doing frequent DMCA takedowns of Tesla videos where they misbehave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,407 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Never thought this would actually go through, thought it was simply pump and dump tactics to make a few billion here and there.

They suspended an account for reposting content from Tik Tok because it was making them look bad.

No, it won't. This is the meltdown I'm talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Is that not all there at the moment?

Twitter is a cesspit

Yeah theres plenty of unmoderated dumps around so Musk turning twitter into one doesn't scream good basic business.

Its civil compared to unmoderated havens like bitchute,4chan,liveleak et al.

What advantage is there to him destroying Twitter, likely will see little change.

@ATR72 if it wont loose users then why have other "unmoderated" sites had such pitiful userbases?

Probably the most likely tbh as any changes will tank the site. Just seems like a really weird purchase given how theres so little wiggle room aside from adding more characters/edit posts its pretty limited.

It does indeed seem a bizzare purchase. Have never got how it would make profit