Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You believe what they're saying about this Kinahan "dude"?

• 12-04-2022 11:37pm

Or rather what he's saying about himself....

I understand a lot of people glamorize criminality and in some cases, even put criminals on a pedestal but having read Helen Mac's social media claim that Irish law enforcement recently cracked down on their felonious activities, I had to consult my dude Google on the matter:

Boxing this, boxing that.

The criminal element always has to associate themselves with combat sports, either to enhance their image or present as being intimidating but the myths and macho BS when it comes to legitimate (or what should be) sporting disciplines:

"Boxing is a working class sport for which I've had a lifelong love and passion."

A working class sport.

It's this very mentality that holds back the sport of boxing.

In college I saw varsity level athletes hand the "bad boys" their asses in the boxing ring, and they were just doing it to keep in shape (the varsity athletes).

All's required is energy, health, enthusiasm and an interest.

It's probably the worst thing about combat sports, it's association with that "bad boy" criminal element...... most of whom probably haven't ever so much as laced up a glove, never mind tasted leather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Who is Helen Mac? You mean McEntee? No a.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I knew who the OP was by the thread title, I didn't need to open it.

Nothing to do with the nonsense posted but I thought I'd share that.

Lawd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Op you're a muppet who's about as funny as cancer.

WTF is Varsity level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,419 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Varsity? Feck off back to america OP

Really? The entire topic of this thread and that's the part you take issue with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

shinnerbots putin bots and now kinahan bots ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Varsity Arsetry

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,058 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

You've never ever ever ever ever ever been in a boxing ring if you think "All's required is energy, health, enthusiasm and an interest" to compete at any level. Even sparring takes a level of skill, training, experience and commitment.

They're products of the former.

The "bad boy" shower like to pretend you have to have grown up on the "mean streets" or have some innate "toughness" to be an effective boxer.

Which is a total fantasy.

And the worst part of it or any other combat sports.

Ireland could have such a wonderful network of boxing for health and fitness promotion as well as competition if those stigma's could be exposed for the fallacy they are. It's amateur boxing scene is okay but it could be so much better, and should be..... if it weren't for absolute fakers like "teh Kinahans bruh!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,058 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Boxers are usually from working class areas.

Boxing clubs are usually in working class disadvantaged areas throughout the globe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Whatdoesitmatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I wish it was a more global and less knack sport but let's be honest It never will be.

PS thanks for the troll feed, I was bloody starving.

And for my repliers, thanks in advance for the dessert

Burp

There it is.

Same mythology.

Combat sports, a man stripping off to his shorts and beating on another man, the entire purpose is to exhibit sexuality and impress chicks.

Fighting is ultimately an exhibition of sexuality. The best promotors and promotions know this.

The best fighters and boxers have always conformed to and presented with this approach.

A "knack sport", only when it's allowed to deteriorate as such when it's over run by teh "bad boy" mob, fueled by the likes of this Kinahan "dude" and his ilk's inadequacy and overcompensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Arguably one of the most ill informed original posts I've ever read. The facts are that yes boxing is predominantly a working class sport and to say that most of the criminal element have never laced up a glove is again ill informed nonsense.

It's just an untruth.

Sure many of "teh bad boy" mob will probably try their hand at boxing at some stage or other, but those whom I've seen make genuine progress in the area eventually come to understand they need to abandon their "tough guy" alter ego in favor of a more refined technical outlook, to make genuine progress.

What this "Kinahan dude bruh", what his ludicrous crap is contending, is to basically glamorize this kind of backwards trash culture.

"It's a working class sport!!", I've never heard such crap in all my life.

Now is it true that, mentality wise, it can provide opportunity to an extremely select few to graduate beyond a degenerative outlook to progress into something more civilized?

I believe that is true yes.

So which is it? "Never laced up a glove" or "Will probably try their hand". A masterclass in flip flopping. Another absolutely clueless post. There is a well documented correlation between social class and the type of sports that are played. It's a fact that boxing is predominately a working class sport, not open to debate. Taking Dublin as an example, a large number of talented amateur boxers went on to become well know criminals, the sport of boxing has always had a close association with criminality. Stop spouting nonsense.

Ah lads... Leave him at it.

I see the class exhibited at the upper echelons of both refined amateur and pro boxing, and can IN NO WAY correlate it with the degeneracy that goes with that trash/scum/criminal culture.

Example: sure I know some "tough guys" locally that box, and they've had a few contests and some of them can brawl a little, but what little they have at their disposal - it's laughable to think they'd ever amount to anything one could characterize as "successful".

Football is defined by top league pro-players, not the "lads" kicking about on a Saturday afternoon on the astro-turf.

Boxing is a sport for highly dedicated, highly motivated athletes, and true success (in terms of stylistic development) takes an almost unorthodox form of IQ.......

Nothing about that conflates with "working class" for me; the fact some successful boxers emerged from welfare classes is nothing more than coincidence, perhaps a function of their backgrounds allowing that "unorthodox" style of IQ to flourish? (purely a guess).

Alls I know is I've seen that "working class" association over the course of a lifetime and say with no ambiguity that it, in reality, is NOTHING more than an impediment to the sport; ugly baggage, if you will.

Frankly I hate it, probably the most detestable part of the sport.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I have to add one really emphasizing point onto this discussion.

I myself, am a refined gentleman.

But when it comes to the pugilistic arts, I have those mad skills yo'.

There's this girl joined my gym a few months back, real north-side Dublin type, thick aggressive accent and attitude, cropped in bleach blonde hair and really gets her jollies hanging out the "teh bad boys" and "giving it large" (even though she's horrible looking) and generally being trashy.

So when she sees me, you know her type, of course she's thinking "this dude, nancy boy. Easy target".

Then I start stuntin' on fools by doing handstand press ups and insane muscle ups and human flags and all sorts of impressiveness.

I can basically see her mind go into melt down mode like, "wait..... wat? How can this be? I thought only teh-bad-boys had that kind of physical power, but this sweet-dude makes them look like wimps". It's like she's having an identity-crises.

But then I lace up a pair of gloves and start throwing some bombs on the heavy bag.

Now when I throw bombs, that sound of leather-on-leather, basically like claps of thunder, I make the air vibrate.

Bang bang bang.

She actually ran out of the gym one day, it was making her second guess her entire "bad ass" clown identity so devastatingly.

Again, cause why?

Cause the historical idea of nice guys finishing last is simply urban legend (total drivel), and when I hear this "Kinahan dude bruh" putting this idea of being working-class and bad-ass on a pedestal and promoting that entire scum/trash ideology, it makes my skin crawl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Dude, where’s my car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If your performances made her run out of the gym on only one occasion, you need to up your game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Close this thread please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭eggy81

You’re high as **** right now, aren’t you. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

You never played sport at third level in Ireland then?