Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monday 14th March 2022

• 12-03-2022 9:58pm

had a quick look at a few o the 'Monday Meets' , and t'get things going, I landed on one at Taunton,,,

as we all know, Cheltenham starts on Tuesday, so, for those of us what like to (mainly) back in lowish grade handicaps on flat/jumps etc, this will be the last day before a major, and welcome, influx on to t'forum,,, don't know how that'll work out for our regular thread/s what are of the 'try find summit viable to back in ye egge and spoone races'

P'r'aps one thread for the 4 days what isn't solely consistent of C'ham fancies, for those of us still here.. anyroad, that's summit for future consideration..

onto the pick:

2.00 Taunton KARAKORAM - ?price - 10s on probable sp,,

bit of a standing dish over the 2m 3f hurdles' trip here,, Grace Harris' 7yr old won over C & D last December,,, that were in a Class 4 race on gd to sft - sft in plcs ground,, has ran well since then over C & D, without winning, but those were on slightly better ground, and all three of those races were in Class 5s,,, is back down to that 83 rating that saw him prevail on new year's eve eve 😃 , and if the rain comes it'll help,,, will have less weight to carry than his last 3 C & D attempts tho, owing to stepping back up a grade..

is the only one i looked at in that race thus far, which is no harm, as is an e/w pick at a likely good price, plus it's 'early doors' an all.. lots o time to peruse that one in greater depth..

time tae empty out washing machine, and then to tonight's main event: a combination of watching TV, eating a mixture of healthy and unhealthy food, and having some tea/coffee nd harry rags, and, if I may be blunt, praps a few token tokes too 😂

g'night all punting boardsies :)

Still concentrating on that race above, the 2.00 Taunton. Ground now appears to be soft, and I have 3 good picks in this - I hope,,

KARAKORAM 15/2 PP/Boyles/Lads e/w mentioned this one in OP.

HIGHSTAKESPLAYER 2/1 PP/Boyles win .. Has topweight to lump, but the jockey takes 10lbs off to ease that particular burden,, a replication of his lto winning run could see him on top here, or at least go very close,,, anyroad, if he don't win, one of t'other two will !! 😁

CHECKITSME 15/2 PP/Boyles/Lads e/w This one could get us t'tricast ere 😋 am not seeing anything else in race what could foil me plans,, Ladykiller, Start Point and Drash On Ruby are towards top of betting, and for reasons various those three are likely expected to go well, and they may; as a combination of only a few runs, equipment being brought out, first time in a handicap and t'likes could give em a shout, but, on form alone, this poster aint seeing it,,

Checkitsme went well on his 2nd and 3rd last outings,, those were over ~ 2 1/2m and on soft/softish going,, he won the earlier of those two runs, which were at Leicester,,, am ignoring his last run, as was over a shorter trip of 2m,, jockey takes off 10lbs,,

Cry Wolf, at 11yrs old is not completely w/o a chance on old form, but am happy enough with the three picks here,, and I daresay, notwithstanding my propensity for staying in bed half t'day; if up before 1.30, and prices are similar, I shall do t'three above and a combi tricast with said three gg's 🤩

Stay thee chooned, for I have a 'tentative strong fancy in DP ! 🤗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

And if you have a spare minute, please find a good one in 7:30 Wolves tomorrow ;)

She knew!! how? t'very race so twas,, am sure there's logical reason how ya deduced where me pick were coming from j@u , a reason which i aint got time/inclination to ponder on atm 😆

........ ink coming v shortly missus,, 🤣 this one'll get me back up rankings for sho ;)

Stay thee chooned, for I have a 'tentative strong fancy in DP ! 🤗

Here she be,,, hee hee hee,, horse aint a 'she' , but my 'TSF' is thusly referenced, for reasons unknown to even meself,,, why are things like cars nd tips/fancies nd likes referenced as female? ,,, i dinna i reckons, so will ponder on that no further fo' t'nonce 🙂

7.30 Wolverhampton the 'Dunstall Park' venue - clevrer punters wudda got t'DP meaning,,, i think one did, props to no 2 poster 😂

VOCATUS nb 15/2 PP/Laddies/Boyles e/w

A lorra these like to lead, and some are out wide,,, t'pick can go well 'eld up, and coming out box 11 may see t'sniper do just that,, he done just that 2 runs back over C & D with same pilot on top, so maybe Lucas will consider this percentage call, as he no doubt will when he studies raceform on t'drive up 😊

,, that said, it were a 6 runner race Class6 'Classified Stakes' race where he finished 2nd, and he does normally like to race prominent in his races,, he may well flop not run as well as i hope, but i aint seeing any standout claimants here, and he's a good price,,

he does come with a 'health warning' tho, and much as i wanna wacks confident bout his chances, it is incumbent upon me to ensure bullishness be tempered,, - it's reason why he aint getting t'NAP vote - has some 'tendencies' that one would rather he didn't, eg slowly away, races keen, etc,,, definitely a 'hopeful' pick on his overall form, but he does appear to have chances in this particular event (harder to rule him out than vice versa, #all things considered : #out of the few things I have considered 😋) , and looks a smidge o'erpriced,,,

Like Taunton race, I will be hoping 4 plcs are available with either Paddy or John,, b & m punters like me will have to wait til tomorrow to know for sure,,

all t'best folks :)

2.10 Plumpton BLAME THE GAME 8/1 PP/Lads/Boyles e/w

A competitively priced one in an open looking five runner Class 3 hurdles' affair,,,, taking a break from chasing, where he aint shown much, and back over the shorter obstacles for the first time since going off favourite for this race last year,, only came 5th, but wasn't beaten too far, and it was on better ground also,, declared going is gd to soft - sft in plcs on t'hurdles' track, and he showed a liking for this surface when readily winning a Class 4 on his second to last hurdles' run, back in February of last year at Fontwell...

Not so sure how the race will pan out, or if Blame The Game will be as sharp over the sticks after his stint chasing, but he's dropping down weights, is a working man's price, and two out of his four opponents are 13yrs old, including the possible fav Kansas City Chief... worth a small e/w at 8s or bigger imo, and win only at less than 8/1,,,

another good and value pick from moi, plus Monday has (not true at time of writing, but at time of posters' reading it @ ~ 2.14am or after, it will have) leaped over Tuesday in forum thread order 😆

Thanks for your deep insights, leff! Yep, paddy is paying 4 places in this mess, so we're more than keen to play their game. What's worrying me about Vocatus form is that his two latest 2nds came in small Claimer and Seller races, last time he found himself in a good prominent position from the handy draw and kept on well from there which might not be the case today from draw 11, he's on the drift at the moment, so majority punters are thinking along these lines too.

Current fav Dundory 10/3 chased the other fancied here It's a Love Thing 5/1 on the penultimate start, that effort was well noticed by handicapper, esp the Love Thing's, who might not be able to repeat that winning run today from a wide draw and 6lb up, Dundory is slightly better off in weights today is therefore is more fancied. This is class 6 race is for rated 0-65, so it's marginally stronger than 0-60 they met in.

Ok, it's too much of blahblah about the ones I expect to fail tonight because I'm on Forge Valley Lad 5/1 who seems to be firing all guns at the moment, with the condition that he's gonna handle tapeta surface as well as the polytrack, and he'll find enough for speed 1/2f shorter distance today. The other one I like is Invincible Soldier 13/2 with good surface, track and class record but he's coming back after 4 months absense, so might need this run.

My notebook is telling me to back Light Lilly 17/2 in 5:00 Wolves tonight, now I'm gonna get on and she's gonna totally flop 😅 I have no time to look at others, GL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

Mylastoscar to place for small pot*8 taunton and also have a small e/w on mylastoscar

Ya, the 7.30 is indeed very difficult to solve/get a handle on,,,, even for me, it's a 'one pick race' 🙂 happy enough with selection as he can be given a squeak - if held up! can't make anything sound re winning/come placed claims for any o the rest,,

gluck folks with upcoming notebook jobs - one ere now at Wolves :)

7/1 this am and drifted to 12/1 SP, Mylastoscar puts some money into cheltenham pot😁

medium dividend*8 I'm delighted with result as it gives me more cash to drink or gamble over the 4day festival...

I'm on Forge Valley Lad 5/1

WD !

no joy with my Vocatus pick there,, might improve for a step down in trip, and/or the application of money 🤗

Exactly what I said - she only managed 6th today.

Delighted with the Forge Valley Lad taking the prize, I literally spent like an hour looking at that race 🤣🤣 Invincible Soldier 3rd.

An hour well spent then j@u 😊

a bad day overall for ole leff,, traipsing round town looking for prices, and ended up backing allsorts 😓

It's da diss sipp linn what's 'ardest part of this game,, studying prob 2nd hardest,, writing out bets and traipsing 3rd hardest,, 'not backing one' prolly 4th hardest, unless ya backs plenty, like me 😁

favourable mention to what cud be 5th hardest : not backing one, and not cos one is on t'fence, but cos one is borassic 😃