Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring men

• 14-02-2022 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭

Does ring men who are very fond of using the stick annoy the fcuk out of u as much as me cause it sickens my sh1t.....some never use them and as far as I'm concerned it's a sign of a bad stock man who needs a stick that much......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Ye, hate seeing anyone to fond of using the stick on cattle. There was a drover worked in the mart here, you would see him walking behind an animal with his stick resting on the animals back, but I never once seen him use it. He could handle the maddest of stock withoutt a bit of fuss or getting them excited.

Post edited by Anto_Meath on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 matt.v

Yeah drives me mad, flaking the **** out of animals for no reason and then its no wonder they become afraid and hard to manage.

One good thing about covid is since it all went online, they've had to be more conscious of optics. Using plastic paddles instead of sticks on calves is a welcome change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭leoch

A certain mart on Monday nights in North West and the ring man is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Since Jan 2019 there has been a ban in marts using sticks on calves under 42 days old as well the sale of calves under 10 days old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

The camera has become the cows friend. Drovers are now aware of them being recorded no around the ring. If you want to observe them beating the sh1t out of animals then it still happens at the loading and unloading areas. If anything it has gotten worse there as drovers use it as a safe place to take out their aggression on the animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

This should not be acceptable, yard and mart managers should be responsible. It takes 18 months of farm management to get a weanling to sale, it only takes a few hours in a mart to undo the good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭Who2

Is this not just another one of those click bait all things are wrong type threads. I call into a couple of marts every so often and it’s nearly three years now since I seen any sort of abuse towards an animal and he was just an old school ignorant type. Most places I go run a good honest setup with very little abuse. People don’t tolerate it nowadays and have no issue highlighting it. It has very little to do with cameras but of course they do help a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I saw a young guy in Ennis mart not that long ago, beat the bejaysus out of a bullock that would not go up the chute. He beat him so hard that yer man had to throw his arms over the gate to catch his breath afterwards. There was a small crowd there watching him do it.

Never saw him in ennis after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

I agree it has improved an awful lot but I reckon it's the fear of social media and the iphones which has finally made the Marts tidy up their act. But as I said you can still go to the loading areas and watch some of them putting cattle onto the trucks, you'll see drovers who have no business next to near any animal. Pure brutes some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭leoch

I see Ennis I think it is have no-one in the ring irs a great setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Think you’d want your head looked about working in a lot of the marts. The way cattle are separated to go into the ring is crazy in most of the marts I attend. Lads jumping into the middle of 6 or more cattle to try and separate one to get him on the scales.

It would be very simple to have a race/crush with several gates before the scales that would hold a pen of cattle. Then open the gates to let out the right animal.

It would save half the nonsense that goes on in marts.

I’ve a better set up at home than a lot of them and I can still see where I can improve things.

Carnaross Mart have such a drafting system and I can't understand why other marts don't have similar considering the cost of insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

I can only speak for the bullock/bull ring but carnaross has not a great way of sorting them. Always one or two lads in the pen before the scales with a pen of cattle trying to pick them out. They have two chutes but the gates on the sides of the chutes do not open out, they can only get out the front of the chute into the scales.

In this day there is no need for anyone to be in a pen with strange cattle. How more of them are not hurt is a miracle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 scuggels

There was a man in a mart in the west who would drive cattle against people back in the day. Also swing gates open and open them into your back to move. A thick man.

Carnaross bullock ring isn't great but it's a lot better than it used to be the two chutes are a good idea, there is a gate on the side of 1 of them but not on the one near the wall. The heifer ring is a better set up & the rostrum is beside the weights box so it doesn't frighten the cattle as much like the bullock ring does. Ballyjamesduff is well set up as well.

But with any mart if cattle are penned right at take in then it takes a lot of the work out of it for the lads up near the ring.

The worse lads I see around the marts now with sticks are the dealers bringing out the cattle they didn't sell. Some can be right bad, seen 1 lad called to order recently by a drover in the loading bay. Drover was telling me after that between the on line and cattle been a good trade in all marts dealers are getting it very hard to turn cattle, the don't know who is bidding & everyone seems to know the vale of cattle to the cent per kg... Looking at LSL any cattle for the "on line auction" are nearly all dealers cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

What's the "on line auction" and how is it different from the regular auction?

I was wonder that myself. I just look at the number of days in herd and that tells me all I need to know.

Any unsold cattle are available to buy "on line" after the sale, theory is someone might offer more for them, but I have never heard of it happening.. if you look at catalogue after the sale you will see lots are either "Sold" or "Online Auction". From what I see most of the unsold cattle lately are dealers cattle...like Base said they are usually only a few days in the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Tullamore has such a set up, seems very safe, let the right lot number out the side of the race, no need to be in with the cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭kerryjack

It's like I say every mammy and daddy should referee an under age 6 ,8 10 match at some stage it's lovely sitting on the sideline and every one visiting a mart should work in a mart for a few days and try and keep a sale ring moving and try talking them in to the ring and see how you get on.