Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Instagram is just for girls

• 05-01-2022 11:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭

Do you agree? Lets face it; if you see a man on there he probably made his account so he could cosy up to some women on there. It is full of women showing off their feckin handbags. Or else what a smashin' time they're having in some silly West Cork glamping resort where they drop a few hundred squidderoonies a night to sleep in a feckin bell tent and eat a glorified bowl of gruel for breakfast. Personally I have found no utility in this site/app whatsoever. If someone sends me an Instagram link I dread opening the damned thing

Instagram is just for girls 98 votes

Yes
    46%
    [Deleted User]runawaybishopbassykravmagarorymagoryfamagustadeceitzac8Crazyivan 1979MockbaboduninajockdePeatrickcommentAdhamhGarzoricorichboSunny Dispositionshmeeeblue note 46 votes
    No
    53%
    Kintarō HattoriGregor Samsa~Rebel~Riesen_MealArcheronStrummsPrincess Consuela BananahammockmiameeHoagy[Deleted User][Deleted User]PosyTabnabspassinginterestpappyodanielcallaway92WoollyRedHatrob316redarmyThe J Stands for Jay 52 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Deregos.

No

I hear Wayne Rooney has just started his own rival platform . . . Instagran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

No

I usually send memes or funny reels to friends. It's a handy way to see what friends are upto since Facebook is used by people over 35 now, mainly through stories. If you don't want to waste hours on it, set a limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yes

I don't want to waste microseconds on it 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No

I know a lot of artists and photogrpahers use it to. The more visual element of it is very useful, far mroe so than facebook.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

If you want to check out what people are doing or where they are going in a city you are in but unfamilar with then its a handy tool. Just do a location search of The city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Yes

As far as I can tell from my blank Instagram account (created to view food businesses, containing no personal information and having all tailored ads turned off) Instagram is really for a certain type of materialistic, image obsessed female and groupies/wannabes. But this is based on the assumption that the default photos and videos are shown on my Instagram feed since I don't follow anyone.

I feel sorry for people on it. I want to give them a hug.

They post up photos for people to like to make themselves feel better.

I can't wait till all social media is banned. Back to the Nokia 3210 days I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I never want to have a daughter. Chances are she'd end up on instagram wearing next to nothing.

Browsing insta is like walking the red light district.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,589 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

No

It’s as good or bad as who you choose to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yes

I think the way it goes these days is

Girl posts her "insta" name on Tinder profile, so lads can see it without matching

Insta account is designed to gently coax desperate lads towards OnlyFans account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Anyone know how to get better suggestions of what to follow on instagram? Less ass models and more interesting travel, art, cooking, interior decor, interesting visuals suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Just spend a bit on your explore page every day liking the content you want to see. Algorithm will soon learn what type of content to show you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

No

Remember Tamagotchi's? You had to keep them alive by feeding them constant attention. We still have them, they're called Instagram models. 😁

Jokes aside though, I find it good for photography. It doesn't have the same drama and unsolicited critique you see on the Facebook groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭_gir

No

Spoken like someone who doesn’t use it, if you want to use Instagram to see bikini wearing girls then yes there will be those photos. Or you can use it to see memes and/or all the hilarious home videos that would have gone to compilation tv shows back in ye olden days. Harry hill is outta job cos of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No

No. Vacuous people can be male or female.

Have no interest in following any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

No

Course there are going to be loads of different types of people on it - given it's a global platform, you're going to get all sorts. I only follow a select number of accounts of people I actually know, those related to my hobbies and a couple of bloggers who've I've followed for long before they had an instagram. I'd say a good 30% of those I follow are male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Shilock

No

I just follow the fishing, bushcraft and foraging etc it's way better than Facebook because it's more subtle and not saturated with as much rubbish as Facebook.... deleted Facebook around 7 year's ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

No

I know an artist who uses it very effectively for promoting their art and discovering other like-minded artists. They've become part of a community on it and made some real-life friends there. They have nothing to do with and don't ever come across the "lifestyle" side of things. They don't use any other social media at all. There seems to be a lot of flourishing communities on it that just do their own thing.

I used to use Instagram (passively) at the beginning when it was a photography tool and the only photos you could post were ones taken with the app. I kind of liked the idea of that, and at the time it was mainly photographers taking photos of things and scenes, rather than selfies. Like Flickr, but everyone basically using the same camera. But then it changed its focus completely. Used it for a while to follow some bands and custom guitar builders (they seem to be more active there than on FB), but the interface just pisses me off, so I hardly ever look at it.

I guess it's like Facebook - I'm friends with my real friends, some work (and ex work) colleagues and some family. I'm in a couple of groups related to hobbies and interests, and I follow a few musicians. I don't ever see any fake news, stupid memes, political posts or anything like that. I open up FB today and I see

• A question about changing car headlight bulbs
    • a music video post from a friend
    • a friend in Australia's tomato harvest
    • a lovely aluminium guitar
    • another question about a car headlight bulb

There's a couple of relatives who posts a lot of inane rubbish, reposts of any old crap they come across - usually "inspirational" quotes and rubbish jokes, so I have them muted. But other than that, I don't ever come across anything toxic or objectionable. I only post a few times a year myself.

Years ago, I though twitter would be good for breaking news and following politicians. but quickly learned that things move too fast on it; you'd have to be on it all the time to catch everything coming in. And the comments and debate on it are just depressing. So I quickly deleted it. I'm sure there's a way to use it for relative good like the Insta and FB examples above, but I'm not willing to put the effort into finding it.

Yes

I got the impression that most memes these days originate on TikTok and find their way to other platforms later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭_gir

No

Only video ones, images generally start on Twitter. But insta creators just steal from both and make it easier for lazy me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

No

Just follow the content you want to see, it's not that complicated.

OP definitely a closet glamper

Yes

No I only do wild camping have been at it for years then all of a sudden I see people coming down from de big schmoke paying 100s a night for the privilege to sleep in tent and I don't really get the appeal. Though I reckon when the chape and easy holidays to Spain are back up and running there will be a decline in the glamping scene

No

I have an interest in animal welfare and lots of animal rescues use Instagram . I've no interest in handbags.

Its like anything else, use it for what you want, and ignore the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭notAMember

Does "for girls" mean "is crap" to you? Hope not, because that would be a misogynistic attitude.

It is both for girls, and for boys and everything in between.

Curate your own content by following your interests. Mostly I see lightening storms, landscape designer accounts and horticulture. Some sports content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Insta is like a soft porn site these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭MTU

Define girls now op is it the new type girl that can enter the rose of Tralee?

Yes

What features does it have, which you use, that facebook does not?

Why have the under 35s switched from primarily using Facebook to Instagram if you had to sum it up for me? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No

It's got a huge amount of very well put together young ladies wearing very little posting pictures of themselves.

If that makes it just for girls, well, strap me to a tree and call me Brenda.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

No

They haven't switched, users have just gotten older and younger users are using Instagram or TikTok now instead of Facebook.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

No

When I started to use Instagram I only used it to follow travel accounts and accounts that promoted other countries. I still follow all of those and have added some local businesses, a few people I know who will post interesting things and a small number of lifestyle accounts. I find lifestyle/fashion accounts can be repetitive and often unfollow them after a short while. As with Twitter, you can curate your own feed by following the types of content you want to see. I don't know why that would be exclusively for women.

No

Hey guys, just got some new shoes. Check them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Yes

The only social media you need is Boards.ie

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

No

They don't exclude males from the platform, so it's not just for girls.