Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Agri loans....Best rates

• 04-01-2022 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭

I was just looking at some material about average Credit union agri loan rates. And found it interesting that agri loans rates were (according to this particular literature) quite higher than car or even holiday loans. 12% as opposed to 8.5 and 10 respectively.

And it got me thinking, what kind of rates and from what institutions are ye all getting?

And are there different rates for say machinery over stock etc. How much are business loan rates versus agri loans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

Will follow this thread with interest. Interesting to see what institutions are charging when they are offering next to nothing. 12% rate is scandalous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Thought the Credit Unions have an Agri Product at 6%...advertising that around Cork..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Haven't looked at anything new but 3.5 to 6.5 roughly. 12% is ridiculous. Never went to a credit union for money but at those rates do many?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

Those rates seem extortionate considering how cheap money is for the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I can never figure out how credit unions operate. Who is borrowing from them. The rates are nuts and when you consider that they want to also sit on 25 percent of the loan amount in savings, the rate looks even worse. They are basically forcing people to borrow more than they need and charging the extortionate rates on the entire borrowing while giving nothing on the savings.

My few quid in credit union goes down by a few euro every year for some reason.

The Cultivate loans at 6.5% may not be bad value in some instances. They are particularly beneficial where security is an issue, and also dont acrue the security costs that the bank loans will...this could be worth a couple of grand, and on a short term low value loan...thats very worthwhile.

There loans would be a nice little runner for a calf shed, slurry storage, needed in a hurry...The 3% extra charged on a 50k loan is small when simplicity is taken into account..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

SBCI loan 2.5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Good man gg I didn’t want to post as lads would have said I’m full of crap- scandalous if your paying over 3.5%

it pays to shop around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Credit union loan vs a scbi loan

Done alot of our major farm development from SBCI that you’d usually end up giving security for

we have a land loan too at similar rate, only thing costing us more is a some machinery bought 2nd hand

2 newer purchases at 0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Had you any issues getting the SCBI loan, we were approved but when we then approached the banks all their allocation was gone but could off a loan @ 4%

No none really tbh, just the usual hoops to jump through and be confident in what you were using it for was going to pay and your figures are accurate and real

we were in early both times it was available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

You’re lucky, we were too early and then too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

Yeah the 12% I saw must be wrong. So between 2.5 to 6.5 % rate. 2.5% is alright to be honest but of course there are land assets to back that up in case of non payment.

Yeah the credit union loan rates are a bit high across the board...but I suppose they will give you a loan when all others have turned you down (not necessarily talking about agri loans).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

When did you get the land loan? I enquired about a possible loan a year or so ago and if my memory serves me correctly, I was quoted 5.5% anywhere I asked.

(That would only have been for about 75% of the value)