Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

How long ( how many lessons) should it take a complete novice to get ready for the test

Options
  • 05-12-2021 11:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭

Assuming one lesson a week and one hour accompanied driving with a sponsor, how long would it take a complete novice to be ready to sit the test?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭[Steve]

There’s no one answer to this question unfortunately. A lot of factors determine how many lessons and hours of practice are required, no two drivers learn the same way or at the same pace.

Your driving instructor would be best able to gauge how many lessons and how much practice you'll need once you've gone out with them a few times. A lot of it comes down to confidence behind the wheel, observation skills, and listening to what the instructor is saying. Plus spending time applying what you've learnt in lessons by heading out with your sponsor.

Just find a good instructor and an experienced full licensed driver as a sponsor and you shouldn't have any problems, ideally stick with the same sponsor too because they'll adapt to your driving style. Also don't be afraid to drop an instructor and try a different one if you find that they're not listening to your feedback during a lesson, same goes for the sponsor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

I have seen the suggestion of 40 hours on a UK website.