Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former Council Worker Jailed for releasing Rats in Workplace

• 21-10-2021 7:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭

Seems very harsh. No previous convictions. Admitted guilt. Brought compensation to court but gets jailed. All the while countless Scumbags with 100s of previous convictions walk freely from court every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Rustyman101

Exactly nasty thing to do without a doubt, but go down the courts, its a complete joke, suspended sentences for all manner of assault and thefts.

Anyone good at googling want to find some assaults and multiple driving offences this same judge has let people walk free for?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Now the rats escapade is out of order, but he fessed up on the spot, which the Guards noted if he hadn't chances are high he would have gotten away with it, he was very contrite about the whole thing and off his own bat he brought the money that had been required to clean up the damage(and over the maximum fine). And still he gets six months in gaol? It certainly seems to be the case that in the Irish "justice" system it is far more advantageous to be a reoffending total scumbag who is a lifetime drain on society rather than an otherwise blemish free working all your life normal citizen who had a one off lapse. Maybe he should have told the court he was a heroin addict who was out robbing houses on the regular and his da had slapped him around when he was ten so they could "take that into account".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Reading between the lines the Guard seemed to be on the guy's side to at least some degree and the man was actually hospitalised for stress, which is apparently not a mitigating factor, unless you're a junkie with dozens of previous convictions of course. Though I suspect it was because he did it in a council office and local councils and councillors can be powerful enough forces in Ireland, particularly rural Ireland and it's an arm of government. I further suspect and strongly that if he did the same to a private sector office he wouldn't have been sent down. It might even have been seen as a civil matter.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,816 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Only in Ireland can you bring a bribe to court with you, wtf.

'' yep I admit guilt, no previous, and I have me bribe with me judge''

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭detones

Its funny the judge said he felt he had to give a custodial sentence to set an example and deter others doing something similar. The only thing I can see it deterring is people cooperating with the Gaurds as his honesty in this case appears to have led to his downfall.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭BrianD3

It would be interesting to hear more about the alleged grievance. Rat Man was a roads supervisor and it seems the grievance he had was with a senior manager.The judge might empathise with the manager as a fellow authority/professional figure which could influence the sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Maybe you could make an argument for a month in prison and the judge would still be sending a message but 6 months is too much. Ultimately if a guy is releasing rats into his workplace the prison of his own mind is probably worst than any actual prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,486 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He outlined to Judge James McNulty that the estimated cost of cleaning the offices was €3000. This involved deep cleaning, keyboards had to be disposed of and damage was caused to cables and lights.

Mr O’Neill’s solicitor Diarmuid O’Shea said that his client had brought €3,000 in court in compensation for his actions. The maximum sentence in the case was €,2500 or 12 months in prison.

A classic example of where he would've been better off sucker-punching the guy he was arguing with.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Eire392

An appeal has been lodged and realistically he won't spend a day in prison, he will get no worse than a suspended sentence on appeal. I can see how it seems harsh but alright but he took the risk when he did it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

• Registered Users Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭enricoh

Here's a fella that told the cops he knew their addresses, would burn them out and kill them.

His gaff was raided 3 times in the course of a year and he got caught each time dealing cocaine and weed.

He got 10 months today! God love him he'll probably do 4 months n miss the turkey at crimbo!

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/drug-dealer-made-a-threat-to-burn-gardai-out-and-kill-them-40970058.html

Quick look on the Irish Times for the same judge. Well, had to use other sites because the paper of record is behind a paywall.

Guy who wrote 26 letters and sent crap to the victim, Tusla, the Gardai, post office and numerous local businesses falsely accusing him of diddling his kids, suspended sentence. https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/man-admits-sending-dozens-of-letters-falsely-accusing-relative-of-child-abuse-1.4361894

Suspended sentence for stealing €200k https://www.southernstar.ie/news/suspended-sentence-for-macroom-woman-who-stole-over-e200k-from-her-employer-4155929

12 weeks (later reduced to 8) for breaking someone's jaw on a GAA pitch https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/gaelic-footballer-jailed-for-assault-on-opponent-1.1656676

Former heavyweight boxer gets 5 months for assault. Previous convictions for assault, harassment and possession of ammunition in the UK https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/ex-boxer-sentenced-for-assault-on-waitress-in-cork-restaurant-1.1525413

• Registered Users Posts: 24,925 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The judge should have dealt with that case, that defendant on its merits alone... a court and a judge should not worry about setting examples especially when the judge and the profession as a whole is incapable of doing his/their job, what sort of example is that ?

if it was a junkie doing it in a pub he’d have walked and probably got his medical card polished on the way out the door... but as it was a crime against a business the establishment have to act..l right.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭standardg60

When compared with the lad who got a suspended sentence for raping his eight year old niece, it is a joke