Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving school

Options
  • 12-10-2021 3:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭

Hi there,

Looking for some advice, or even insights from anyone who went through something similar.

My OH and I, and our young family, are seriously considering moving down to Munster, where my wife is from, and away from the hustle and bustle (and expense) of living in the greater Dublin area.

I am a teacher, my wife is not. She will be able to continue her job if/when we move.

I am ETB sector, Post Primary. I have an AP1 post which I will obviously lose should I make the move. Onto that as well is the loss of permanency, and with that security. I am just wondering if anyone has gone through something similar - am I mad to lose the benefits that I outlined above - and whether someone had some bits of advice/reassurance.

I like my school presently, and am very comfortable and enjoy reasonable respect having been here for the guts of ten years. The commute is an issue, almost an hour each way, and with small children (the youngest starting school in September), we felt now would be a prudent time to make the move.

All advice/input welcome.

Thanks folks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

What are your subjects? No you are not mad to consider it considering the expense of living up here.

If your subject is in demand it should not be so difficult.

Can you first take a career break and then see what job situation is?

The rules on career breaks change all the time so i don't know.

As to the A post - you'd save that by moving.