Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family car for 10k...

• 18-08-2021 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭

So the time has come to grab a more adult motor.

Now some of the regulars know I have quite a penchant for bangers, especially those of a Nagoyan variety, but I'm still keeping the Carina II and the K12 Micra (Cockroach), but need something bigger as the main car...

I want an estate, and she's vetoing that on the basis of size, so it's looking like Qashqai/3008 town. Which seeing she still hasn't worked out the width of the Micra at this point, means very little, ie. everything is HUGE to her. :O For example, she's okay with a Golf but thinks the Jetta is too big... 🤷‍♂️

As it's an area of the used market I NEVER venture towards I'm genuinely all at sea with the choices out there.

So any help in refining it would be wonderful.

Only criteria thus far is 10k budget and no diesel.

HALP!

Post edited by biko on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

So after a load of toing and froing, she's won out. She really felt uncomfortable in an Octavia estate but loved a 161 CMax we drove.

I had a look over it and seems like a great yoke. Only thing is, despite my initial insistence, this is a diesel and it's way above my pay grade as to what to be looking out for with them.

It's a 161 with the 1.5TDci with 120,000km on it. Is there anything in particular to be wary about with that 1.5 motor?

It's a grand motor, bit boring but you could definitely get worse. Same engine as the focus you just need to find out is it the 85/90/110 bhp? All of them are decent engines but you want the slightly more power they are all relatively competitive in terms of fuel efficiency.

I've recently had a mk3 facelift Focus (2015-2018) and they are quite solid cars and share a lot of parts with the C-Max. It's annoying things like a tire pressure sensor light that won't go off that will be €150 to replace the sensor with labor at a main dealer that will catch you out. Servicing and parts are quite cheap, but only go with it if you plan on driving it into the floor, because the C-Max will not hold value, at all.

Do you have a link to the ad?

EDIT: After a second thought, I'd go all in for a 2015/2016 focus at that money even a 2014 good spec focus like this: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-s-model/28444733

They come in Saloon shape as well, 10k would get you a solid ford focus and it's the exact same car as the C-Max just a slightly lower seating position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Nah, there's no concern about resale. Should have this for about 5/6 years at the very least barring any major problems. I'll be getting the fun motor next year. This is gonna be the work horse.

Focii and their ilk won't cut it size wise unfortunately. And it's all about herself being comfortable driving it. So this is a win and trust me, after having the row over saloons v hatches again I don't want to reopen that wound.

Engine wise it's the 1.5 tdci 120ps that's in it.