Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who uses 144p or 240p on You-Tube? Not me I can tell you.

• 02-08-2021 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Nothing is visible at 144p so what's the point of it if it's all just a blur?

I never go lower than 360p.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I think that RTE player use 144p youtube at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Maybe people on a slow mobile connection in rural area, s, where at least they can watch a video versus wait 10 minutes for a 1080 p hd video to load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm in a rural area and I still watch youtube on a black and white cathode ray tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭jrmb

I actually used it recently when I was stuck with only a weak mobile signal. It wasn't comfortable but did the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Was often glad of 144 when on the phone and network very slow.

For years here, the general test of your BB was if it would run off a 240p video immediately and not be stopping.

Saying that current speed here is 5 mb download so still in the stone age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Some videos can look like they were recorded on the back of a spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

240p is plenty for most things. This obsession with slow-loading high-definition videos is a pain. I switched to 1080p for a video today, for the first time, I think, to copy down some coding in a tiny font.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

My mobile Internet is not ymthe Greatest but there is no way I could watch something in 144p and believe me it has tried sometimes automatically switching to that but since the last You-Tube update its less although I still prefer You-Tube before that update.

Unless it is a video I want to watch like an old Top Gear video from the 90s or something which is not availible in anything better than 240p then I will make do otherwise I will not watch in anything less than 360p if I can.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,063 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

You are very lucky!

You can actually get RTE player to work

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,189 ✭✭✭✭L1011

People using featurephones with Youtube apps rather than full smartphones, they're dying off but still exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The youtube encoding does most of the damage, a low res image isn't too bad. The blocky pixellated mess that youtube generates at anything lower than 1080p is horrible to watch. Audio streams are shite quality to for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I've become a quality whore. I turn off most things under 1080p now. I have 150Mb of a 1Gb FTTH and the 4G cell mast in the field across from me gives similar speeds on the mobile. I just can't, especially when I know there's a better version of it. As mentioned above, even at 1080p some YouTube videos are still iffy. I will only stream in min 1080p on streaming sites, if it doesn't work I move on. It's starting to creep into my gaming too. I've been a console gamer for most my life, but now that the PS5 is capable of 60fps, I'm starting to fall into that category of people who can't play games under 60fps now... the difference really is striking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

Theres a little thing that puts it up to max res and kills ads during your session, Its a CNL, ALT DELETE kind of thing but if I share it some Mod, with his head up his arse would probably ban me, You know the suss because it also gives you utube premium for the duration of your visit but I got banned years ago for sharing such freebies.........

I put podcasts on YouTube and listen to the audio so I don't care about us it 720 p 1080 etc , in the 90s most broadcast tv bbc rte utv was in non HD 720p, no one complained about it YouTube is used by billions of people on phones, not everyone has a 5o Meg 4g connection

It annoys me when I hear people complain if a game is not in 4k hdr 60 frames per second

I think most people over 40 could not tell the difference if they were watching a film in 4k versus HD 1080p resolution music cds were very popular even though the audio is not the highest quality or sample rate if you are watching a reality TV show on YouTube or a comedy talk show does it really matter if its 720p or 1080p?

I think most videos in YouTube are 1080p are there people making basic DIY videos or talkshow podcasts in 4k? I presume twitch is mostly in 1080p but I don't have a 4k monitor anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

144p should probably be retired at this stage alright. YouTube compression is awful at the best of times. Anything under 4k now looks like garbage on a TV, which is a pain because 4k streaming from YouTube servers is iffy at the best of times.

I don't get how Netflix can stream in 4k all day everyday while YouTube struggles to maintain a consistent stream even with plenty of bandwidth overhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The obsession with resolution and fps is moving into nerd territory as for most people there really isn't a discernable difference above a certain resolution.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

You said it yourself. Most people. But there are us out there who can tell the difference, who can hear the difference, because we're interested in it, we've invested in tech and want the best we can afford. I'm not saying everything should be 4K, but 1080p will be the base minimum shortly imo. Watching a modern game of hurling in 1080p or higher compared to watching one back in the day is chalk and cheese. Yes, my 70+ year old parents don't usually notice the difference, until I change the game from coming through standard Sky vs Saorview.

Plus, you also said if you are watching a reality show or other stuff. Yeah, I don't watch that. I do knowingly pick videos I'm interested in that are modern and of a high quality. Some amazing space videos in 4K out there. That's what I like, that's when it matters. But I get this luxury because of the advantage of somehow having amazing wired and wireless coverage in the middle of the country. Granted, we had barely 3G and max 128k dialup up until the last couple of years when we got the 4G mast and a jump from 128k to 1Gb. But because of that, my minimum level of quality has gone up. I understand not everyone can get that, but I was just giving my opinion.

Re: the games, up until recently I thought the same for the 30/60fps thing. But the PS5 has more or less changed my mind. It's a very noticeable difference if you play a game in 60 and then play it in 30. But again, that's what I look out for, because I've an interest in gaming. Those who don't probably won't care to tell the difference. And that's grand too. But there is a difference. No one complained in the day because that was what was available at the time, we couldn't compare it. Now we have up to 16K tv's, so having 1080p (and/or 60fps) as a minimum is not an unrealistic expectation. Having 2K is not that unrealistic either imo.