Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

scrotes taking over Dublin City

• 21-06-2021 10:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

On various websites all I am seeing is scrotes / scumbags / little sh1t's taking over the city fighting and causing trouble.

Is it really as bad as the various videos portray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

On various websites all I am seeing is scrotes / scumbags / little sh1t's taking over the city fighting and causing trouble.

Is it really as bad as the various videos portray?
    ??? As a Dubliner I can say ...erm NO???

And also what are you talking about? lol

Its just covid idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Pretty bad alright.

But I wouldnt say 'taking over'. As you can see with all the previous threads on them taking over, they seem to have tukkin over quite a while ago.

On a serious note - there is definitely a bit of a 'donut' effect in Dublin now.

Drumcondra, Clontarf, Glasnevin, Stoneybatter, Sandymount, Ballsbridge, Ranelagh, Rathgar. All of these places - at the moment - are far more pleasant than the city centre.

There are a lot of people who want to believe Dublin is a tough and dangerous town. Its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

Most of these lads would get blown over by a stiff breeze.

Dublin isn't dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

There are a lot of people who want to believe Dublin is a tough and dangerous town. Its not.

I agree - I lived there for about 15 years gone now 4-5 but the videos doing the rounds that past couple of months show a different city than I remember.

Granted when I was there the hassle existed but generally north of the river now it seems to have filtered to all parts of the city.

Just an observation not a criticism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I dont think thats what is being said here.

Whats being said is that the city centre is full of scrotes acting the maggot. Groups of older teens wandering about, not doing anything major wrong, but just minor antisocial stuff, drinking, leaving rubbish as they go, being generally loud. Making their stupid tiktok videos.

Its not criminal. But I dont want to sit beside them in a park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Dublin has always been a ****hole. The native true blue dubs are scrotes who give birth to more scrotes. Dubliners have more in common with the UK than the rest of Ireland.

Take a little time away from AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This stuff always happened to some extent.

I spent 4 years travelling to college in the North inner City from the southside in the mid 90s, mostly on foot, and this kind of low level petty scrotery was a near daily occurance. Fights, muggings, mass shop lifting raids. The difference was nobody had a high definition video recorder in their back pocket.

However, even if we agree its no worse than it was then, that fact is in itself a damning indictment of years of failed social and policing policy by all the authorities concerned.

I agree - I lived there for about 15 years gone now 4-5 but the videos doing the rounds that past couple of months show a different city than I remember.

Granted when I was there the hassle existed but generally north of the river now it seems to have filtered to all parts of the city.

Just an observation not a criticism
    Umkay well i live here now....ye be grand like! Its fine. And the northside was never THAT bad.

I have family who still live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/investigations-launched-into-three-separate-stabbings-in-dublin-1.4598536

Dublin in my experience is at night, dangerous or has the potential to be...of course you have only to get unlucky but this newly found fetish of kids running around with knives and not a second thought about using them....it’s grim...

As of about four years ago I’d never go to the city just to socialize, only in to see a band we’d like and back out to the local...

Been assaulted once and with somebody that was...,both 100% unprovoked by deranged fûckwits..

Dublin has always been a ****hole. The native true blue dubs are scrotes who give birth to more scrotes. Dubliners have more in common with the UK than the rest of Ireland.
    Dublin always baffles outsiders from Rural Ireland ..

JOKE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It doesn't much matter if it's true or not.
    The perception is there, just like it was for "Stab City".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Sounds like pub talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It's just that more things are being recorded now. There were always fights at the weekends on the streets, I would imagine it's the same all over Ireland on a lesser scale.
    I swear it used to be way worse and dodgier when I first started going out in the late 90s, but maybe that's just because I was younger and more on edge about these things.

[HTML][/HTML]
    Strumms wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/investigations-launched-into-three-separate-stabbings-in-dublin-1.4598536

Dublin in my experience is at night, dangerous or has the potential to be...of course you have only to get unlucky but this newly found fetish of kids running around with knives and not a second thought about using them....it’s grim...

As of about four years ago I’d never go to the city just to socialize, only in to see a band we’d like and back out to the local...

Been assaulted once and with somebody that was...,both 100% unprovoked by deranged fûckwits..

You aren't a Dubliner then.
    That is like me saying I go to galway once a month i know it like the back of my hand.

I am a dubliner ...I still live here and i know it a lot better than you.

OBVIOUSLY its going to have higher crime rates than dundalk etc or leitrim ...because it has the biggest population.

But in terms of a capital city. Its in NO way dangerous.

Obviously ..i mean if you walk in clueless etc and have no idea of what the vibe is and HOW to behave keep your wits about you be SMART etc.

But saying it should be like rural Ireland is silly.

Compared to other EU capitals ..its fine believe me.

What part of the UK have we more in common with? It's a big place with lots of different kinds of people!

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Pretty bad alright.

But I wouldnt say 'taking over'. As you can see with all the previous threads on them taking over, they seem to have tukkin over quite a while ago.

On a serious note - there is definitely a bit of a 'donut' effect in Dublin now.

Drumcondra, Clontarf, Glasnevin, Stoneybatter, Sandymount, Ballsbridge, Ranelagh, Rathgar. All of these places - at the moment - are far more pleasant than the city centre.
    Drumcondra???:D

Not sure you know dublin ...no offense drumcondra I ACTUALLY LOVE YOU

The condra ROCKS!

What part of the UK have we more in common with? It's a big place with lots of different kinds of people!
    I LOVE THE UK ...we are like London ! A metropolis full of sophistication so we are!

I don't think so, I lived there it's like this massive world mega city, Dublin is a village comparatively. We're probably more like Glasgow.

I LOVE GLASGOW! YAY!:pac:

:D.

I get what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Im a city centre Dub , but im alright with your inferiority complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

[HTML][/HTML]

That is like me saying I go to galway once a month i know it like the back of my hand.

OBVIOUSLY its going to have higher crime rates than dundalk etc or leitrim ...because it has the biggest population.

Obviously ..i mean if you walk in clueless etc and have no idea of what the vibe is and HOW to behave keep your wits about you be SMART etc.

I’m a dubliner, born here, I’ve lived here the vast majority of my life...

You know it a lot better then me ? Bit of a stretch to say that considering you do not actually know me.

Walking in smart won’t stop you being smashed over the back of the head with a bottle in an unprovoked attack..as I endured...or being surrounded by a gang who assaulted my friend...

Compared to most European capitals I’ve been too its not fine... I’ve traversed through Paris, having lived there, Nice, Madrid, Copenhagen, and more besides without a hint of danger... various hours of the day and night...

Walking in clueless? Great so everybody who has been the victim of assaults has ‘walked in clueless’ ?

Weird logic sorry.... Dublin is dangerous...the crime stats prove it is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

IMO you're more likely to get "started" on a night out in a small town than any city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭wonga77

[HTML][/HTML]

Sounds totally normal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Im a city centre Dub , but im alright with your inferiority complex.

Pintman is also from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The sad thing is, it only takes a handful of videos of city centre fighting to spread on the internet, and before you know it 1000 people who might have travelled to visit Dublin won't bother.

I know a few incidents like this are incredibly rare, but that is the way a lot of folk think these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Must be struggling this morning with his identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Allegedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Teen arrest with knuckle duster.....doesn't everyone have one in their pocket?? lol

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/newsireland/knuckle-duster-found-on-teen-arrested-in-temple-bar/ar-AALgvFQ?li=BBr5KbJ

Sligo Metalhead

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

There are similar threads to this one running in CA at the moment, I don't this we need another one in AH

Closed

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058183552

Three men arrested after shocking incident involving bar staff on South William Street
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058194494